We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing tempeh curry!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melting Wok Warung

Melting Wok Warung
13 Jl. Gootama, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
+62 821-5366-6087
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 440 Restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: New restaurant on busy road, just out of Ubud Centre. Small menu with excellent Indonesian food, cooked with a slight European twist.
Cambridge, MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing tempeh curry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Dropped in by myself (single female traveler) at around 5PM, had no problems getting seated and had amazing service.

Ordered the tempeh curry and the coconut milk flan - it was the best curry I had in 2 months in SE Asia, with extremely complex flavors that did not overwhelm with heat! Coconut milk flan was incredibly rich, I couldn't finish it but it was amazing - would definitely recommend if you are more than one person! Wish I could've gone again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,252
    298
    71
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“VERY LIMITED NENU but what they do they do very well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Be sure to boom!!!! They do have BYO which is great. Helpful staff and wonderful deserts. Glad we preserved as the first night we fronted we couldn't get a table - there are only 7 in total.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“warm white”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Food was ko, service pretty quick and friendly. Choice is a bid limited and you almost have to book. There are many places wich are as good and cheap without having to book.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Quit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

After reading the reviews we were really looking forward to have dinner at this place. However, it was a very disappointing experience. The only thing on the menu is curry. You dan choose rice, noodles, fish or meat and that is it. The curry was so so it was alright but certainly not excellent. The price was low so that was allright and the staff very friendly. We had a nice dinner but not what we expected after reading the reviews.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Thanks to all the other TA reviewers for suggesting a reservations here! A friend and I had a great dinner - warm and friendly service, phenomenal food (menu is short but sweet), and prices were completely reasonable for the quality. The restaurant is simple but elegant, and has a great vibe - classy but relaxed. Highly recommend, definitely worth a visit (or two!).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melting Wok Warung also viewed

 

Been to Melting Wok Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melting Wok Warung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.