We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Place in a Marvelous Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Rasa Sayang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Komaneka at Rasa Sayang to your Saves list
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A Perfect Place in a Marvelous Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We planned to know the "rural" side of Bali before going to the beaches.
The Komaneka at Rasa Sayang was selected in the Tripadvisor based on some very positive comments of another couple that had been there. We were not disapointed, and even so the hotel exceeded our expectations.
Surprisingly most of the employees speak good English and communication was never a problem there. Reading the hotel panflet you understand why: the teach English to all employees.
The room we selected was excellent: large, clear, the bathroom is wonderful and the privatre garden is a piece of heaven.
Having 3 breakfasts in the room was an experience to never forget.
The restaurant is good also.
Thje services in all aspects is flawless. For example we had arranged for a car pick up at the Denpasar airport and it worked perfectly at a cost of US$ 55 only. The driver, Kantu, spoke good English and started telling us about Bali since the start.
I had given them a wrong time for the flight arrival with a correct flight number. They noticed my mistake and sent me an e-mail with the correct time for confirmation. This is really a good service
It is a hotel that we will return if possible.

Room Tip: Select the Roof-Top Garden Villa that is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    72
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
121
320
37
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have just returned from Bali and wanted to share our experience at the Komaneka Rasa Sayang. It was a really lovely hotel. Lovely rooms, magnificent rose petals in the shape of a heart on our bed, etc. But - more important - I need to tell you about the wonderful staff at the hotel. They were all outstanding and super-friendly. They could not do enough for us - we were dropped off (free of charge) wherever we needed to go which was so lovely. When we left the hotel for Seminyak, my daughter left her wallet, ipod and glasses in the room. We called the hotel and they said they would send their driver (Ubud is almost one hour away from Seminyak) to our new hotel to drop off our goods. This was all done FREE OF CHARGE. Thank you - I doubt there are many other hotels that would be kind enough to do this for their guests! It was so appreciated. So - we one hundred percent recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

OK, it's part of a (small) chain but if the other hotels are as good as Rasa Sayang then the owners have got a seriously good business model going.
It's a difficult site - long & thin, so a bit of schlepping to get to your room at the pool end of the hotel. But they've made the most of it & truly it is a lovely ambience.
Yes, the lighting in the room could be better (esp re reading in bed & getting ready to go out mirror/lights in bathroom)..but it's no worse than most hotels, high & low, in France, in this regard.
And all of the above small flaws are as nothing cf the sheer pleasure & fun it is to stay at Rasa.
The staff make it, as everyone says..they are excellent! My special thanks to Agung who is so helpful & amusing & Parmini, who provides charming, intelligent & exceptional service.
Hope to return one day..sooner the better!
Ps Trip Advisor - I know nothing about kids activities at Rasa & not sure they have a gym, pressed wrong button & you don't seem to allow deletion of ratings so have given 5* for these two categories rather than mark Rasa down!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just spent 4 nights with my daughter and couldn't have asked for a friendlier staff. Always greeted you by name and asking how your day went. The room and bathroom are large, including a nice sitting area on the balcony. The hair dryer in the room was rather weak, so I asked if they had anything more powerful and just like that, they brought me a powerful one from the spa. The first hotel I've stayed in that provided nightgowns, and a nice touch to put all the remotes on the bed during turndown at night. The only minor complaints I had would be: the tv is a little far from the bed, lighting could be a little stronger, and it's SO quiet, you could hear the wooden door slam in the room next door waking me up every morning. But I have to admit all the positives outweighed these few issues. The location is great within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The persistent peddling of taxis' and massage offers get a little annoying but just a simple smile and no thank you is all that's needed. As was mentioned before, they have a hotel shuttle which will take you anywhere within Ubud complimentary. I think the sidewalks could be a problem for someone with a stroller or disabilities as they are narrow and you have to constantly step up and down. I would highly recommend it though if you want to be in walking distance to shops, restaurants, Monkey Forest, and museums.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at Komaneka at Rasa Sayang from the 6th-9th of July. Upon arrival at 2pm we were greeted warmly by staff and provided with a cool towel and a welcome drink. Our room was not quite ready, and we were told to give them half an hour which was fine because we went and explored Jl. Monkey Forest. The room was spacious with a huge bathroom, and upon arrival our bed was covered in flowers in the shape of a love heart. The hotel provided lots of in room freebies - cookies, ice, movies on the apple TV, slippers, bath robes and night gowns.

Breakfast was a la carte with many menu selections, staff were very accommodating and allowed guests to take breakfast out of the restaurant, or have it delivered to rooms free of charge. The hotel provided a complimentary afternoon tea, with choices of coffee, tea, fruit juices, Indonesian cakes as well as one or two 'western' options. Breakfast and afternoon tea were near the hotel pool which was very peaceful and overlooking a river with great forest views.

The hotel provided a complimentary transport service to anywhere in Ubud, as well as transport back to the hotel if you could contact them.

The hotel is within short walking distance of great restaurants, bars, shopping and the Monkey Forest.

Staff were among the friendliest hotel staff we've come across, always welcoming us back after going out and happy to help with anything. The staff made us feel very comfortable and we felt at home in this lovely boutique hotel. We would love to return in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Rasa Sayang is our second Komaneka stay after our wonderful Bisma experience. Our high expectations were exceeded. The attentive service is impeccable and we felt treated like part of their family. To be greeted with sincere smiles daily and a 'welcome home' each time we walk into the lobby was a spiritually rejuvenating experience. The managers are very intuitive in their service - when we mentioned our interest in visiting Komaneka Tanggayuda, the lovely manager Desak organised our visit including an escorted tour by her peer, Utami; another manager Budiarto surprised us with a complimentary Balinese massage for myself and my wife, as well as a manicure for our daughter as an acknowledgment of our extended stay with them. Our beds are turned down perfectly and sleeping garments, slippers and a Bali story booklet provided each evening. Transportation including trips to the Yoga at both Bisma and Tanggayuda was readily available. There are so much more to rave about that you MUST discover yourselves. We also had the privelege of dining with the delightful owners who joined the guests for a special dinner and Balinese show which was organised by the staff. I was very impressed with Koman and Mansri's Dream for Komaneka and how it is creatively shared by all their Komaneka 'family'. Friendly smiles, exquisite service, delicious food, beautiful environment and access to Monkey Forest road - Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peka Peka, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were a couple of friends returning to Ubud after many years for a restful holiday. On arrival we were offered tea and coffee. I chose a herbal tea. WOW I was completely blown away when it arrived. It was a work of art slices of ginger, star anise with sticks of lemon grass and cinnamon together with runny honey and limes!. This set the bar very high and during our stay the bar just kept getting higher! I really can not fault this hotel.

Thinking we had booked a twin room we were overwhelmed when taken to the roof top garden apartment. Absolutely stunning both inside and out with outstanding views over Ubud.

What a fabulous outside area, so quiet so private and so beautiful. You had a choice of loungers shaded by a large umbrella or sit at the outside table.

Inside a spacious lounge complete with fruit bowl, yummy biscuits and tea/coffee facilities. A desk to sit up to with your laptop, bedroom with 2 single beds complete with mozzy nets and flat screen TV with a good selection of movies. The bathroom ...... what a decision to shower in, or to shower out or alternatively to take a dip in the large spa bath. I chose the outside shower each day just loved it amongst the garden.

The staff could not do enough for us. They had a car take us to the Bali Animal Welfare Assoc
- we had brought drugs into Bali for the street dogs. They arranged and took us to Mas, a village which makes wooden furniture and other wooden products. They chased up a shop in Sanur which we had ordered prescription sunglasses which were to be delivered to the hotel. They just went above and beyond what was expected.

We also loved the location so close to everthing including a 5 min walk down to the monkey forest

We loved the breakfasts, the complimentry afternoon teas, the pool and most of all the staff!!!!!
Thank you all once again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Komaneka at Rasa Sayang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Rasa Sayang

Address: Jl Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#6 Family Hotel in Ubud
#7 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Rasa Sayang 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang Another oasis in the heart of Ubud, located in major city, a simply chic resort offers the most contemporary stylish accommodation to help you enjoy your destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Despegar.com so you can book your Komaneka at Rasa Sayang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Rasa Sayang Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komaneka at Rasa Sayang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.