We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds expectations - would recommend to all!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Rasa Sayang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Komaneka at Rasa Sayang to your Saves list
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exceeds expectations - would recommend to all!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

When I picked the Komaneka Rasa Sayang from the many choices I found on the internet, I thought I was simply selecting a nice looking highly rated hotel at a reasonable price. But I was in for a pleasant surprise. Komaneka has a special culture that is rare to find anywhere in the world and makes your stay truly memorable.

We read about the hotel’s philosophy of developing people by allowing them to take on multiple roles and saw this in action – Agung, the front office manager, carved a tortoise for our daughter and drove us around while taking care of his other responsibilities; Indrayan attended to a small problem with our TV and we learned that he did the layout for a fantastic booklet that recounted the first decade of the hotel. And Budi the resort manager was friendly, approachable, and helpful. The leadership of the hotel has managed to unlock the hidden potential in people by recruiting local Balinese people and helping them grow in ways that is uncommon in most organizations – big or small. The result seems to be fulfilled and happy staff, a high performing hotel, and delighted guests.

We stayed in the roof-top garden villa and for once the facilities were far superior to the photographs! Every day we enjoyed the beautiful setting of our room, the choice of the tub, indoor shower, and outdoor piped overhead water for bathing; the selection of movies on Apple TV, the evening tea with Balinese rice cakes, the daily afternoon activities like wood carving, the outstanding breakfast, and the friendly service. We used the hotel car to drop us off at various restaurants and shops since we had two young children with us – at checkout we were pleasantly surprised to not find any additional charges for these short rides! Overall the high standards came with a value-for-money packaging that made us even more comfortable as we wanted a luxury holiday but were not looking to splurge.

Perhaps for the first time in my life, I actually regretted leaving a hotel, not just because I it meant saying goodbye to a beautiful place, but because I thought I would miss the warmth of the staff that would always welcome us “home” as we returned. I can’t wait to be a guest again at Komaneka.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    66
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
109
282
36
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Rasa Sayang after a recommendation by a close friend, and we were so grateful we listened. This hotel is totally amazing. From the minute we arrived we had the absolute best personal customer service, they even carried my hand bag for me to our suite. The first response to our suite, and yes i call it a suite because it is above and beyond a hotel room, was WOW. It was just beautiful with flower petals on our bed, sofa, flat screen tv with in house entertainment, massive bathroom and balcony that went the full length of suite. Complimentary afternoon tea every afternoon and a beautiful pool area. WE did not want our 4 day stay to come to an end. The staff are all just amazing and the Spa on site is fantastic. I enjoyed 2 massages while i was there and they were absolute bliss. Do yourself a favor and stay here, I would highly recommend to anyone. We enjoyed our free yoga class and also the guided trek we took on new years morning( with a fee but worth it). They will also take you to the art museum for a visit and everyday there is some form of activity that you can participate in if you wish. Or just simply do what is to do best in Ubud, Venture out of the hotel and immediately on Monkey forest road, with shopping, cafes, bar and restaurants all in walking distance. We will definitely go again without hesitation to this wonderful hotel. This is only a small hotel so this makes for such a personal experience.

Room Tip: Great place for someone looking for a romantic getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

After trekking through many islands with very little facilities, a stay at this property was much needed. The staff is warm and helpful and the atmosphere relaxing. The room was spacious and the bathtub divine. The oranges and fresh cookies were lovely, as was the afternoon tea (a daily assortment of snacks and tea of your choice). I also took a cooking class with the chef here. It was quick but gave a peek into the many spices used in balinese cooking. The short walk to monkey forest (don't put your hands in your pockets - the monkeys will want to see what's in there), restaurants and shops was perfect. I have recommended this resort to friends.

Room Tip: I stayed on the ground floor and liked the private deck. Other reviews say the view is wonderful fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed at Komaneka @ Rasa sayang for 4 nights... & we simply loved this property. Exceptionally good service & luxurious rooms.

Warm and helpful staff... The hotel is right on Monkey forest road. Very close to restaurants, art galleries, convenience mart and shopping stores.

Opt for a room with a view on a higher floor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I had a memorable stay at Komeneka, Rasa Sayang. It made our stay in Bali an unforgettable experience. The accommodation and facilities were superb. The most pleasing aspect of the hotel was the staff. The level of service they offer throughout the hotel is outstanding. In particular, Tari and Maheni in the restaurant made us feel so much at home. Their excellent english, perfect service, smiles and good humour are a credit to your organisation. Beni and Parmini on reception also deserve a special mention. They are the perfect ambassadors for Komaneka. Ayung and Nity also deserve a special mention.

Without a doubt, we will return to Bali and Komaneka will be our first call for accommodation.

Steve and Christine Wilson
Scotland

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Komaneka Rasa Sayang was built on a long and narrow stretch of land between the main road and a stream deep behind. The entrance from the main road to the lobby was just a small lane which was even narrower, allows only one vehicle at a time. As mentioned in some reviews before, the entrance was hard to find. I cannot imagine how such cleverl architecture concept could be conceived from scratch. 

I always believe that Balinese are born artists, particularly landscape artists. The plants along the long corridors were unique which provided the hotel guests a different feel from every floors. They also served as a natural screen and reduce the sight from the less scenic next door neighbours, and keep the ambience cool and tranquil, a huge contrast from the busy and dusty main road.

The restaurant was located at the deep end of the hotel building. It's not big, but it never get too crowded since the hotel didn't have that many rooms. While having your meal here, you are sure to enjoy the lush and green at the back yard overlooking the swimming pool and a small stream further down the slope. 

Besides the quality of service and facilities, I've enjoyed the hotel quite differently, as a piece of art.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at Rasa Sayang for three days following an 18 day cruise. It was a great choice. We chose the Rasa Sayang based upon TripAdvisor reviews and price. Friends of ours stayed at the Komaneka Monkey Forest, so we got to see that facility and rooms as well. I suspect you will see the same reviews for any Komaneka property. They have a VERY high standard for service. Previous reviews are quite thorough, so I will try to give a different perspective. If you are trying to decide between the Rasa Sayang (RS) and the Money Forest (MF) here are some things to consider. The are located a few hundred meters apart in the heart of Ubud, so location is not really a factor. You really want to be on the third or fourth floor of the RS. The views on the lower floors are of walls. We were initially given a room on the first floor, but we requested a higher floor and after a wait for a guest to leave and the room to be cleaned, we were moved. It was worth the wait. The MF property has more land and has a more lush feeling, but the property is older and the rooms are a little smaller. Service and amenities are similar at both properties. If you want a gym or to take cooking lessons, either RS or MF will take you to one of their properties outside of the town. They both provide a driver to take you around the town. When our driver took us to a Kecak dance (you have to see a Kecak dance when in Ubud. The other dances are OK, but the Kecak is something special.) he parked and arranged for us to buy tickets before he would leave us. Another example of the amazing Komaneka service.

We were pleasantly surprised by the restaurant at the RS. We had lunch by the fabulous pool one day and dinner one night when there were torrential rains. Both were fresh and flavorful. Others have commented about the breakfasts, tea and service. My comments would be redundant.

The only negative comment, which has been previously been mentioned, is the low lighting levels in the rooms. It is quite poor on the first floor, where a wall blocks the patios. On the third floor it was better during the day, but still too low at night. The lighting is beautiful, but too low to be functional.

When you make a reservation with Komaneka, email them directly and request a rate. They will offer you a fixed rate that is inclusive of the 21% tax and service charge and is much less than the advertised rates. We did not get to see other 5 star hotels in the area, but I cannot image what they could offer that would make them any better stay than the Komaneka. Our stay at the RS was as good as any hotel we have stayed in anywhere in the world!

Room Tip: Reserve a room on the top two floors. The view and lighting levels are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Komaneka at Rasa Sayang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Rasa Sayang

Address: Jl Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#6 Family Hotel in Ubud
#8 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Rasa Sayang 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, AsiaRooms, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Komaneka at Rasa Sayang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Rasa Sayang Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komaneka at Rasa Sayang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.