We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding staff, Central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Rasa Sayang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Komaneka at Rasa Sayang to your Saves list
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Crescent Head, Australia
1 review
“Outstanding staff, Central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

This place is perfect. Central location, walk to great restaurants, markets, shops, palace and monkey forest. Outstanding staff who were incredibly friendly and helpful. By second day every staff member called us by name. Complimentary afternoon teas with different selection of Balinese cakes every day. Complimentary local tours with private driver. Complimentary wood carving, weaving, dancing lessions. A la carte breakfast overlooking the infinity pool and coconut trees. Spotless rooms! Were also given free Balinese Massage as we stayed 3 nights. Didn't want to leave! Do yourself a favour and stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    65
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
107
281
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The hotel is the newest addition to the Komaneka family of hotels in Ubud. Its located on the Monkey forest road at the heart of things. But the rooms are peaceful and you hardly hear a peep. It also has great views off the top and the restaurant at the back.

The rooms are beautiful and facilities superlative. My wife was all praise about the spa. The staff are friendly, easy to talk to and always eager to help.

All in all an excellent experience and we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed over the new year at the rasa sayang which I think means ' much love'. Great location, the rooms are fabulous and large and very nicely decorated with the best bed and pillows ever!!

Although small without alot of facilities larger hotels would offer it doesn't seem to matter as the personalized service and amazing staff who remember not only your name but everything you have said to them, make up for anything lacking. Driving you wherever you want to go at no charge, breakfast in room at no charge and we arrived before check in so were given a complimentary lunch and then complimentary massages at the spa.

I unfortunately got a bit sick and they brought me herbal tea and porridge which I didn't get charged for and every single staff member asked me every morning if i felt better.

The only negative and it didn't really matter it was more an observation, was that they could make so much more money from tourists especially Australians if they had more poolside service. Of course it was no problem to ask for a drink but there wasn't really anyone checking if you wanted anything.

Overall I would stay again mainly because of location and the staff .

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Kilda, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My partner and I had booked Komaneka Monkey Forest however upon arrival we were offered a room at Komaneka Rasa Sayang as the Monkey Forest resort were renovating and after seeing the rooms there (quite out dated) Rasa Sayang was much more appealing as its new and quite luxurious.

Upon arrival we were shown our room with a lovely view, however there was a rancid sewerage smell throughout the whole room so our host kindly went to check if there was another room available. We were then shown another room with no view and this also had the really bad smell – so bad we had to all hold our breath, it was horrible. She could not find another room available and we explained we could not stay in a room that smelled so bad and she agreed. We offered to go for a walk while she sorted out the room situation and when we returned after 2 hours, we settled for the room without a view (sadly) and they managed to get rid of most of the smell.

The rooms are designed beautifully and the bathrooms are amazing – large and luxurious. Aside from the bad smell which did go away, these rooms were the nicest we had experienced during our stay in Bali. The staff were very friendly and polite.

The pool is AMAZING… this is not a resort for kids, more a romantic and private getaway to be honest. Breakfast options are brilliant… we could not fault them here.

But we will fault them on our check out!! As we had to check out early (at 7am) due to going on an all day tour with an early start, we decided to store our things in their secured locker room and collect our things upon our return before heading to the airport. When we got back from our tour and asked for our bags, they had lost one of them which contained all of the gifts for our friends and families as well as my cosmetics and some clothing. The staff remained calm but looked very worried. I sat and waited for over an hour in the excruciating heat and was not offered water once. I was constantly questioned over if I did leave my bag there at reception or not, and I remember they put tags on it and took the bag away. We eventually had to leave for the airport as Obama was visiting and the roads and airports were very busy, so sadly we had to depart without one of our bags.
I was emailed by the hotel a few days later stating they had found my bag, and would send it in the mail, however they apparently could not send my cosmetics due to not being able to send them in the post! I’ve never heard of that before… We were sent their work uniform tee-shirts as a gift which was a weird gesture… We left Bali on a massive low after this experience and were horribly disappointed.

Room Tip: Email or call the hotel a few days before arriving and check that everything is ok with your booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We traveled to Bali for our honeymoon August 2011. For the second week of our holiday we booked the Bali Spirit Hotel in Ubud. Once we arrived at the Bali Spirit, we saw that there was a new hotel being built next door. The Bali Spirit was beautiful, but we were looking for a relaxing vacation, and did not enjoy the constant noise of chainsaws. So we decided to look for a new hotel. As August is the busiest time in Bali, we were having a really hard time finding a room. We walked into the Komaneka at Monkey Forest, they told us they were full, but said that the new Komaneka Rasa Sayang had just opened down the road and would have rooms. So off we went. We fell in love with the hotel as soon as we saw it. The staff was wonderful, always remembered our names, and went out of their way to help us. The room was gorgeous. We loved the complimentary cookies and fruit in our room everyday, as well as unlimited water bottles and purified ice. Breakfast was included, we had about 5 or 6 different options we could choose from, and each breakfast was huge!! Most options would include juice, fruit, coffee/tea, a hot dish (eggs, or indonesian), pastries, yogurt. The pool was beautiful, set against a jungle backdrop and small river. The best part was that because the hotel was new, we had a 50% discount on our room. The location was perfect too, just steps away from endless restaurants, spas, and shops. Everything here was just perfect!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Our first time to Ubud and we couldn't have been happier with this charming hotel and their amazing service. No detail is left to chance! The rooms are lovely, food is great, and pool and spa are heaven. Close to everything and they'll drive you to most things nearby that aren't. Loved loved loved. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

In the heart of Ubud commercial district, yet very quiet and tranquil. Spacious modern rooms. Very tastefully done with attention to the smallest details. A nice spa with a great surrounding. Small, but very open and clean restaurant. The one thing that separates this hotel is their outstanding service by ANY standards. The warmest and the most helpful staff- will bend backwards to make you feel at home (One can request breakfast in the room for no charge).

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Komaneka at Rasa Sayang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Rasa Sayang

Address: Jl Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#6 Family Hotel in Ubud
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Rasa Sayang 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Komaneka at Rasa Sayang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Rasa Sayang Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komaneka at Rasa Sayang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.