We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Sunrise Trekking and Tours

Bali Sunrise Trekking and Tours
Jalan Raya Gentong No.88, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
+62-818-552669
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 349 Activities in Ubud
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great activity, saw the sunrise from the top of the volcano! Very helpful and informative guides! Early pick up but worth it! Get some sleep the night before! Some level of fitness required but you don't have to be an athlete (i'm 100kgs!) A must do!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“mt batur treking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

It will be wanderful experience, see sun rice from top of mount batur.
And we do explore top of mount batur such as, holy cave
and we can do demonstrasion, just put some egg,n wait till 10 minutes.
For go up it depant on your stamina atles take 2 hours.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If you want to see Bali on a different perspective...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

If there's one highlight in our Bali vacation, it's definitely the climb to Mt. Batur --- and this wouldn't be possible without the guys at Bali Sunrise Trekking and Tours. The adventure starts very early in the morning. A van will fetch you from where you are staying in Bali at around 2 a.m and will arrive at the jump off point in the village of Toya Bungkah at around 4 a.m. Our guide (named Kadek) and the driver speaks good English. It has a local accent, but it is very clear and understandable. Once you arrive at the the jump off point, you will be served with hot cup of cocoa or coffee and will be briefed and supplied with water (600ml) and a flashlight. TIP #1: I suggest you bring an additional 600ml-1L bottle of water and your own flashlight (preferably a headlamp). While the driver stays behind, a mandatory local guide will join you instead. The first half of the climb is relatively easy. You will be walking through a dark uphill path surrounded by dense trees. TIP #2: depending on which month you will be climbing, bringing a jacket is entirely optional. While the early morning breeze might be a little chilly, your body will eventually start to heat up after the first 30 minutes of the climb. Kadek and Gero (our local guide who also speaks good English) are funny, energetic, professional, and always looks out for the safety of our group. They keep the pacing manageable at all times. TIP #3: don' be afraid to ask questions to your guides, you'll be amazed at the information you'll be getting! The second part of the climb is where you'll be exerting a lot of your energy. The incline is a lot steeper and there are a lot of loose rocks. The darkness of the surrounding ups the challenge even further! That said, TIP #4: that kind of terrain requires proper trekking shoes so please don't forget to wear one! However, after arriving at the summit of Mt. Batur at around 6 a.m., you will be treated to a breath-taking display of the sunrise! As the day breaks, you'll be captivated by the beauty (and danger) of Mt. Batur. TIP #5: talk to other climbers, atop the summit you'll find people from other countries and they are also happy to talk to you! After a few minutes, breakfast is served. It is composed of bread, fresh fruits, tea or coffee, and an egg cooked via the volcanic steam the mountain is giving off (the guides will show you how it is done). While it's not hotel-caliber, I find it tasty and more than enough to satiate my hunger. And besides, you are having breakfast 1,717 meters above sea level --- that is probably something extraordinary! There are also vendors who'll try to sell you some drinks at the summit, they're not that pushy so you can just politely say "no" to them. Fortunately, the trek doesn't end there. The guides will treat you to a trip around the mountain crater, down to an area housing monkey-inhabited trees, a mysterious cave, a cliff, and a majestic view of Batur Lake, Mt. Agung and Mt. Abang. From that area, you will then begin the descent all the way back to the jump off point where the driver is happily waiting. After the whole trek, if you still have the energy, your guide might also offer you a side trip to a nearby coffee plantation...for free (Kadek did). Afterwhich, you will be transported back to your hotel. Was it all worth it? Of course it is! The experience is nothing short of amazing. It is simply a value for the money you paid and more. The overall trek is organized and handled professionally by the guides. And while it is not entirely an easy trek, I highly-recommend Bali Sunrise Trekking and Tours' Mt. Batur climb for beginners or first-timers. This is definitely a must try for those planning to have a stay in Bali.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Very organized, excellent guide, speaks good English.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We went with Bali Sunrise Tours. They were very professional about everything and very helpful, even if you're not in shape :)

Many times I was wheezing and out of breath - they helped me up, encouraged me, stopped any number of times I needed. This, while it should assuage the artery-clogged, should be no excuse to go up there without a bit of exercise :)

Our guide, an extremely energetic and young guy called Kadek, was great fun - telling us how he loved doing this trek, meeting people, learning English and like all Balinese guides talking to Indians - told us how much he loved Bollywood!

We started at around 3. The climb is not too difficult but first-time trekkers will not find it too easy. So get into a bit of shape and try some local treks before trying this, because it's not too easy trekking in the dark.

Once you reach the top - it's a gorgeous sight. We unfortunately went on a cloudy day so the view wasn't amazing, but it was still worth it. Breakfast is usually eggs and bananas steamed with the crater steam, that's an experience by itself! If you're lucky, you'll have two awesome friendly labradors accompanying you for the trek :)

Make sure you take plenty of energy sources like bananas / chocolates and of course - water. You'll be exhausted at the end of this!

After the trek - I recommend you take your car up to Kintamani just for the views, and then take a tour of a nearby coffee plantation. Our driver, Gede, was nice enough to do that :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My trek to mt Agung was perfectly organized. Driver and guide where very kind en spoke excellent english.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Trek was perfect organized. Drivers and guide spoke very good english. My trek to mt Agung was very hard. But I reached the top and came back down save. Many thanks to Gede and his team for the good service.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bali Sunrise Trekking and Tours also viewed

 

Been to Bali Sunrise Trekking and Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Sunrise Trekking and Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.