We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful environs, unparalleled service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Sunia Resort to your Saves list
Puri Sunia Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUNIA FREE AND EASY DEAL
Ranked #17 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Metuchen, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful environs, unparalleled service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I just spent a few nights at the Puri Sunia Resort with my mother, and it was my best hotel experience ever. We were thrilled with the attentiveness and care shown by all the staff, and they repeatedly went out of their way to make our stay as wonderful and comfortable as possible. The rooms and facilities were beautiful and well maintained. Every need we had was addressed swiftly and with a smile. The breakfast was delicious - and huge. Afternoon tea was also a nice touch. I also loved the morning yoga, local village trekking and free hourly shuttle to Ubud. If I return to Bali I will *definitely* stay at the Puri Sunia Resort again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuriSuniaResort, General Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Ktinamg,

Om swastiastu and greetings from Puri Sunia Resort, Ubud, Bali.

Thank you for your review and we are happy to know that you had a great time staying with us.

In this opportunity we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for having stayed with us and it is a pleasure to be able to show you Puri Sunia's hospitality.

Please feel free to contact us if you wish to have any assistance at your convenience and looking forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back again to your "peaceful home" in the near future.

Best regards,
Surya Nata
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    73
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
83
289
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We loved the stay in the hotel. All very clean and beautiful. Deluxe rooms spacy and new, especially the bathroom. Cool temperature in the room, we barely needed the A/C.
Nice refreshing pool and very good breakfast.
The staff was very friendly and knew our name whenever they saw us.
Highly recommend the Balinese dinner one night per week with a dance performance of the kids of the local town.

Construction works next door where a new hotel is being built. There was some noise between 9a.m. and 4:00p.m. which did not bother us too much.

We were though disappointed of Ubud. We felt there were 1000 times more tourists than last time we were there in 2007. Streets were full of people and there had been traffic jams across the city center. Luckily, the hotel was far away from the city center.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuriSuniaResort, General Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Jo-Hansa,

Om swastiastu and greetings from Puri Sunia Resort, Ubud, Bali.

We thank you very much for your review and on behalf of staff and management of Puri Sunia Resort would like to express our sincerest gratitude for having stayed with us during your holiday in Ubud, Bali.

Currently we are almost at the end of the project and the few weeks ahead the new building should be finished.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you wish to have any assistance for your next forthcoming plan to visit Bali at your convenience and looking forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Surya Nata
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My wife and I just finished celebrating our honeymoon in Bali. We decided to stay centrally in the Ubud area for the entire time rather than go through the trouble of booking multiple hotels in multiple cities, and based on previous TripAdvisor reviews, booked with Puri Sunia for the entire 8 day trip. Looking back, this was the perfect spot for us.

LOCATION - the location is very close to central Ubud, but far away enough to avoid all the noise. It's just a 10 minute free shuttle from the hotel to central Ubud and the shuttle conveniently leaves on the hour every hour with the last shuttle at 10pm. If you did want to stay out later, there are plenty of cab drivers in Ubud. We spent about a couple mornings and a couple afternoons in Ubud doing shopping, sight-seeing, getting massages, eating and just taking in the cultural experience. Ubud was definitely our favorite city. Being centrally located, it's also pretty easy to hire drivers and take day trips from the hotel. One day, we did a day trip that lead us through the Bukit Peninsula (Nusa Dua, Padang Padang Beach, Ulu Watu temple, and finished with Jimbaran beach for dinner). The trip was from 10am to 9pm and we reached the first site within 1.5 hours so not too bad. Another day, we took a trip north to Gunung Kawi temple, Tirta Empul temple, Mt. Batur, a traditional village, and then headed east to Kusamba. Again, the first destination was reached in less than an hour and we were back at our hotel by 5pm. It's pretty easy to visit most of the island.

STAFF - The most outstanding thing about the resort is the friendliness of the staff! Everyone is always stopping to greet you by name, wish you good morning, and have a short chat. Never met such a nice group of people before in my life. Aka, Darma, Gusti, Buda, Suria are just a few of the warm staff members that come to mind at the moment but everyone really is very caring and helpful. Everyone speaks English well enough.

FACILITIES - the resort itself is beautifully decorated and constantly cleaned. The resort is just small enough to get a nice personal feeling - perfect for our honeymoon. We decided to stick with a Deluxe Room since we knew we wouldn't be spending much time at the resort during the day and the room met all of our needs - very clean, nicely decorated with a modern feel, cool A/C, stocked daily with free water bottles and exotic fruit, TV (not that we ever used it), very clean bathroom with shower and a large marble tub, and large windows with nice views of the resort and surrounding rice fields. Wish we took more advantage of some of the free amenities like tours of the surrounding rice fields and an adjacent village, a traditional dance by locals, and daily afternoon tea and snacks just to name a few. We did do the free 7am yoga on an outdoor covered rooftop which was a cool experience.

FOOD - the food here is the some of the best we had during the entire trip and this was totally unexpected. For the daily included breakfast, you get a choice of four 3-course menus (American, Continental, Puria Sunia, or Indonesian) and each comes with coffee or an assortment of tea. Since we were there for 8 days, we tried every possible combination. These are gourmet type dishes they are serving - I was taking photos of all my food - and they are all quite filling. Our last night there, we decided to stay in and eat dinner at the hotel and WOW. Wish we had known how elegant and delicious the experience was ahead of time as we would have definitely eaten there more. In addition to drinks, appetizers and desserts, my wife got the chicken curry and I got the crispy duck per recommendation from the staff and both were excellent choices. Every course we ordered for dinner was amazing. Definitely recommend eating dinner at the hotel at least once even though Ubud has a lot to offer restaurant-wise (we also ate at several spots recommended on TripAdvisor).

OTHER - the only issue my wife and I had was that the free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby and in the pool area would go in and out every now and again which was a minor hassle in planning our trips, but honestly, I wouldn't let that sway you from coming here. We were still able to do all of our planning, flight confirmations, boarding pass printing, etc. without any serious difficulty. I'd still give this place 5 stars.

DRIVER - if anyone is reading this review, you might as well learn from our experience. We tried out 3 drivers for our various day trips, and the one we liked the most was Gusti Sudiarta (www.baliubuddriver.com). He did tours for a hotel for 17 years, and then went into the business on his own like 5 years ago or something. He has lots of experience, knows all the Bali roads, knows a lot about the island and it's history and readily shared this with us, and charged us the best rate without any negotiating actually. His english is pretty good too. Of note, we also took a driver from "www.balisafestdriver.com" because of previous excellent TripAdvisor reviews and our experience was so-so...the driver did his job and took us around and waited for us in the car but that was about it.

Sorry for the length, hope this review helps.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuriSuniaResort, General Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Srixpress,

Om swastiastu and greetings from Puri Sunia Resort, Ubud, Bali.

By this opportunity we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for having stayed with us during your holiday in Ubud, Bali and it is a pleasure to know that you had a great time staying with us.

Feel free to contact us if you need any assistance at your convenience and looking forward to have the pleasure to serve you again at Puri Sunia Resort in the future.

Best regards,
Surya Nata
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

From the time we arrived to the time we left, service at Puri Sunia was the best I've ever experienced! The location is about 10 minutes outside of town in the middle of gorgeous rice paddies.. It is such a beautiful retreat far away from the hustle and bustle. Fresh frangipani lined the resort every day.. Since they're my favorite it was a special added touch. Would love to revisit over and over and over again. Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

As others have said - 10 kms or so north of Ubud so a car useful but they do offer frequent shuttles to and from town. We had one of the bungalows with its own little splash pool, semi-outdoor bathroom etc. Very comfortable and spacious. Excellent breakfast cooked to order. Ate in their restaurant one evening and that was quite acceptable too.
They offer free morning yoga sessions, free walking tour round the local village and rice paddies and they have a spa/massage service. Staff unfailingly friendly and helpful - even washed our rental car for us without being asked.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Very romantic and peaceful resort! Huge bed I have ever seen so far, very comfortable though. Staffs there are friendly and polite...and they all remember your names. way from the hustle and bustle of Ubud central but with a free shuttle bus on the hour, this is a beautiful serene place you can't help falling in love with.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed for a week at Puri Sunia. The grounds of the resort are small but beautifully designed. Great care was taken to preserve existing trees and so the whole layout looks charming.

We stayed in a pool villa which is definitely worth spending a little extra on if you can. The outdoor bath tub is amazing and the setting with garden and gazebo so private that you can totally relax. The construction workers and furniture makers of Bali are artists and every detail is so beautifully looked after and well made, that it is a pleasure to the eye.

During our stay construction work was going on next to the resort. Whilst everything was done to keep the noise down, it did disturb us sometimes. However, we nevertheless decided to stay at the resort most of the time enjoying our private pool instead of doing tours.

The entire staff at Puri Sunia is exceptionally friendly and attentive. In trying their best to make your stay there unforgettable, they go above and beyond.

In our opinion food would deserve a Michelin star. We did not have a single dish which disappointed and also breakfast was fantastic. We also enjoyed the free afternoon tea with different Balinese delicacies offered every day.

Around Puri Sunia are beautiful rice paddies and villages which can easily be explored by foot or with a (complementary) guide.

For two days we rented a scooter and went to see the nearby Tegalalang rice terraces and White Heron (bird) village.
Ubud can be reached by Puri Sunia’s free hourly shuttle service which is convenient.

Complementary yoga class every morning at 7 o'clock in the beautifully set spa center is a good start to a very relaxing day. Massages are good and the spa (bath)rooms are spectacular.

Overall we would highly recommend Puri Sunia resort.

Room Tip: Puri Sunia's pool villas are fantastic, beautiful and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#13 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Sunia nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It’s located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural.Puri Sunia is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean a house of King and Sunia mean “quiet or peaceful”.    Offering 19 rooms in Balinese architecture   with 3 private pool villas,  8 suites and 8 deluxe rooms.  Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Sunia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.