We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in everyway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Puri Sunia Resort to your Saves list
Puri Sunia Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUNIA FREE AND EASY DEAL
Ranked #16 of 124 Hotels in Ubud
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent in everyway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Thank you my family and i just spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel in UBUD and everything was great. Breakfast was beautiful , restaurant was high standard and tasty, the staff were highly attentive and friendly. The rooms were modern and lovely. I highly recommend the morning walk in rice fields. Great value for 2 hours and very peaceful. Wifi was a little slow in room but was provided throughout the hotel. The resort is 15 minutes drive into town but the Puri Sunia provides a car every hour to pick up and drop off. Overall lovely relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Villas are beautiful or request top floor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Megan, Om Swastiastu! We would like to express our sincere thank you for your review on trip advisor. We are happy to know you enjoyed our products and services during your staying with us, also our rice paddy walking program. But we are sorry when we got wifi problem by shortage of its cable power. We fixed it and do hope it was back to normal again. We wish able to welcome you back at our peaceful home in future. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    71
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
81
278
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This is the best experience I've had thus far.
I was impressed by the warmth and genuine hospitality of the staff. From the time we received our welcome drink to the time we finished our meal the staff were constantly concerned about how the food was and if we enjoyed it.
All the staff were very friendly and will take the time and effort to strike a conversation with you. They were very genuine and concerned.
I loved the private villa with the gazebo and plunge pool. Clean and tastefully done.
I commend the team for the surprise they threw in for us. We were celebrating a special occasion and the room was decorated with flower petals and the bathtub was filled with flowers. Thanks for the cake too!
Overall I will not hesitate to recommend this place and will come back if this hospitality and service continues.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Anne, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your compliments. we commit to do our effort to solve the ant problem in our garden by keeping our sustainability green program. We also will concern to train well our students in their communication skill. We do hope will be able to welcome you return at our peaceful home in near future. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Positive :
I was upgraded in a private villa with private tiny pool. The bedroom and bathroom were very nicely decorated. Nice hot shower outdoor. Very nice television too. Friendly staff. Breakfast (tasty) in bedroom with no additional charge.

Negative :
There were suddenly hundreds of unexpected tiny antz in my bedroom, eating the wooden floor but not only: they came in my bed and were apparently also carnivore !! And even though the staff thoroughly apologised and sprayed the room, I felt itchy all night long. Many things were not included, such as a simple drop off in Ubud to my next hotel, they wanted to charge me 100,000 IDR (roughly 10 US$). For 200 US$ per night, I found it really greedy. Also after my breakfast I asked for an additional coffee which was then charged to me by a girl who did not understand me when I told her that they should have mentioned to me before serving, that the extra coffee would be at additional charge. Later on I explained it to the manager who canceled the bill, though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Anne, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your compliments. we commit to do our effort to solve the ant problem in our garden by keeping our sustainability green program. We also will concern to train well our students in their communication skill. We do hope will be able to welcome you return at our peaceful home in near future. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Puri Sunia is a small, intimate resort set in a hollow amongst rice terraces in the rural area north of Ubud. We had an upstairs room which was spacious and airy with a huge comfortable bed. The breakfasts offered plenty of choice and the Balinese coffee was the perfect way to start each day, very strong and very dark, just how coffee should be! But don't worry, other more regular types of coffee are available!

Our week at Puri Sunia was peaceful and restful, the perfect antidote to our stressful city lives. However, what really made our week long stay at Puri Sunia so pleasant was the warmth and friendliness of the staff, all of whom were well presented, polite and courteous. They made the Puru Sunia seem like a home from home.

The only problem we experienced all week was when we returned to our room one afternoon to find that it stank of cigarette smoke. This was due to people smoking on the balcony next door and the smoke drifting into our room through the gap between the bedroom wall and the thatched roof. We turned the air-con on full blast then left the room for an hour and this seemed to clear the air. Fortunately for us, the smokers left after a couple of nights but this is an issue throughout south-east Asia and other countries that have yet to recognise non-smokers' rights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear ChrisnDave, Om Swastiastu! We would like to express our sincere thank you for your review on trip advisor. We glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments also shown that you love Puri Sunia. We will try to do our best to solve for smoking issue in our resort. And we do hope able to welcome you return at our peaceful in near future. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Puri Sunia is a beautiful resort with outsanding views which truly show the real ubud, nestled amongst the amazing forests and rice terraces the villas are great, we got upgraded to a private pool villa which was excellent! The villa itself is very spacious with a huge bath tub, a perfect way to relax.

What made my stay at Puri Sunia so memorable was the staff. We have never come across staff that genuinely cared about our concerns and would go out their way to make us happy. We were always greeted by any member of staff that we came across, and they also took in regard our certain dietary requirements with food. It was sad to say goodbye to them!

The resort is only a 15 minute drive to Ubud with shuttles every hour, Puri Sunia is a resort which we will never forget thank you for a memorable stay in Bali!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Chahna, Om Swastiastu! We glad to hear that you enjoyed your staying with us and our sincere thank you for your compliments. Our pleasure to serve as a part of Puri Sunia family. We do hope able to welcome you back at our peaceful home in near future. Namaste and suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My family stayed 2 nightes in this wonderful resort, luckily we were upgraded to a seperate villa with private swimming pool! The resort is far exceeding my expectation and we wish we could have shortened our stay in Kuta and stayed here longer. The restaurant offers not only delicious but also beautiful food, we all love the breakfast the most. Regarding transportation, It's very convinent to down town by the hotel free shuttel every hour that drop you off at Ubud Place. The resort also provides serveral interesting activities such as Yoga and walking around the village. We chose the 2-hour walking, it's a wonderful experience for us, especially the kid, to know more about local people, local plants and local life. We will miss Puri Sunia.

Room Tip: Seperate villa with private swimming pool, otherwise on 2/F due to the high humidity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Susan, Om Swastiastu! We would like to express our sincere thank you for your review on the trip advisor. We glad you have enjoyed your staying with us and happy with our products and services. We all at Puri Sunia will commit to provide and maintain the best experiences for our customers time to time. Your compliments will be a great input for improvement in future. And we wish able to welcome and serve you back at our peaceful home in near future. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a 4 night stay in a ground floor de luxe room 707. Looks beautiful although the ceiling in the bathroom showed a leaking first floor shower patch. Strangely the only opening window was bolted and you could not ventilate at all. The bathroom vent sounded like a starting jet plane and the fridge in the room was also very noisy. So the only option to ventilate was to let the front sliding doors open. With the nice jet lag we went to bed at 9.30 and were nicely asleep when at midnight we got a call from security: please close the sliding doors. Gone sleep. Next night we had the security lock on the doors. Unfortunately again they woke us up: doors not allowed. We were absolutely pissed. There was no sign at all that you were not allowed to leave some ventilation going and you are in the tropics! So I complained and they left us alone the next two nights, but did not offer a real compensation. The next two nights we had a dancing dinosaur in the room on top of us, the floor is tiled and noisy. The breakfast is beautiful but dinner is average. I would advise not to book the ground floor rooms, but maybe they have the same terror regime for the first floor rooms. Be aware!

Room Tip: Do not book ground floor rooms and ask about ventilation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Fredrik T & Mrs. Ellen Kemp, Om Swastiastu! On behalf of Puri Sunia Resort I regret to know that you had an uncomfortable time during your holiday at our resort. I do apologize when our security was disturbing you to remind you to lock the doors as our procedure to ensure they were closed and locked properly in all guest rooms especially in the night time for the security reason. I am sure that your reviews to let us making improvements accordingly and wish we will have a chance to serve you back in near future at our peaceful home. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#13 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Sunia nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It’s located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural.Puri Sunia is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean a house of King and Sunia mean “quiet or peaceful”.    Offering 19 rooms in Balinese architecture   with 3 private pool villas,  8 suites and 8 deluxe rooms.  Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Sunia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.