We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty and Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Sunia Resort to your Saves list
Puri Sunia Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUNIA FREE AND EASY DEAL
Ranked #17 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Beauty and Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I spent a delightful four nights at the Puri Sunia. Located about 15 minutes from Ubud, Puri Sunia was indeed a special hotel. From well designed, spacious rooms, to beautifully landscaped grounds which fit harmoniously with the local environment, the hotel was a feast for our senses. Every time you looked around the corner of a building, there was something lovely to see.

We purchased the Art and Cultural Package and found it to be well worth the extra money. It included an incredible Balinese dinner for two; a private driver for half a day who took us shopping to places we never would have found ourselves, as well as a museum; a one hour massage for each of us; and several other features, some of which we didn’t even have time to take advantage of.

One of our fondest memories of Puri Sunia will be the tranquility of the breakfasts overlooking the rice fields and the local road. They were excellent with a variety of western and Balinese choices. It should be noted that that although we had most of our other meals in town, those that we had at the restaurant were quite good.

A word or two about the shuttle to Ubud. Don’t worry, it always left on time: never early, never late. The drive into town is scenic and the drivers competent, courteous and helpful.

Finally, a few words must be said about the staff. Each and every one of them are to be commended for their genuine warmth and professionalism. From the front desk to the servers in the restaurant to housekeeping to those working the grounds to the shuttle drivers, each had a smile, a warm greeting, and a helping hand.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We sincere thank you for your review and compliments to us. We do happy that you enjoyed your holiday in our peaceful home, especially our resort, room, food and other products. We will share its to all member in Puri Sunia Resort and wish to welcoming you back in near future. Suksma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    73
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
83
289
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Puri Sunia in June 2012 and were overwhelmed by the warmth of service from the staff who were extremely attentive without being overbearing. The resort itself occupies a beautiful tranquil setting in the rice paddies above Ubud and the standard of accomodation was very good indeed. We had intended to spend evenings in Ubud itself and although we could easily have done this courtesy of the free regular shuttle service, the quality of food from the restaurant at Puri Sunia meant that we only left once! We were very impressed with the raange of activities available and particularly enjoyed the cooking course from the restaurant's head chef who was patient and encouraging of our attempts to recreate some of his best dishes. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Valued guest, thank you for your review on the trip advisor. We glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our facilities, foods, cooking class and shuttle service. And we will be more happy when we could welcome you at our peaceful home in near future. Suksma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Incredible villas ( take the pool villa and can operate for days without seeing anyone !
Daily yoga, best shiatsu massage in world ( ask for Ari ! ) most amazing restaurant who caterered for my every dietary requirement ( and I have lots including anaphylactic reaction to peanuts .. Despite the risk they served me lovely traditional food for days. )
I took painting and cooking lessons , went to art galleries, laughed a lot onrice paddies trek and and every want taken care of !

A truly awesome stay .. Thank u and ill definitely be back !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for your review on the trip advisor. We also happy to know that you enjoyed your staying at our resort, especially our yoga, tour to local area, foods and spa massage. We will share it to all staff member and sure able to keep our service and products to welcoming you back in near future to our peaceful home. 'Suksma'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our stay at puri sunia was amazing from start to finish. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was lovely and spotlessly clean. I enjoyed the free morning yoga sessions and also the guided walk around the local area.
Puri sunia is a peaceful and relaxing hotel in idyllic surroundings...i would definitely return if i could!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for your review on the trip advisor and all the compliments to us. We also happy to know that you enjoyed your staying at our resort, especially our yoga and tour to local area. We sure able to keep our service and products to welcoming you back in near future to our peaceful home. 'Suksma'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The staff are very helpful. We stayed at Sunia for 12 days, and we were part of the family when we left. we had special treatment by the staff and they all called us by our first name after a few days. The cook created things that were not on the menu, but we made sure that we gave him notice the morning before. Fresh Juices for breakfast. I liked the so much that I will be going back for 3 days when I am in Bali next. It is worth the drive, the Hotel is located just 15 Minutes away from the main town of Ubud.

Room Tip: First floor units have a nice view over the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for your review on the trip advisor and all the compliments to us. We also happy to know that Puri Sunia Resort became your favorite resort to stay in Bali. We will do our best to keep our service and products to welcoming you back in near future to our peaceful home. 'Suksma'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great hotel just outside downtown Ubud. All the staff were helpful particularly Kumiang the young driver who picked us. The food at breakfast was excellent. I found the hotel on trip advisor and it was well worth it. The drivers will take you in to town and pick you up upon request and the facilities are beautiful.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, we sincere thank you for your review on the tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and facilities. We will share it to all our staff member especially Komang our driver. Sure he will be glad to hear it, so do all of us. And we are very keen to serve you again at our peaceful home as a part of our family in near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Puri Sunia hotel exceeded our expectations!! Situated amongst the rice paddies witnessing the passing local life couldn't have provided a more scenic background. Stunning sunsets and warm,friendly hospitable smiles from the staff made us truly welcome. The Manager Mr.Dewa made us exceptionally welcome as honeymoon guests...the peaceful atmosphere of the hotel truly offered the chance to unwind & relax. The hotel created by ethical and sustainable methods is what was most appealing.It won a silver medal in the Tri Hita Karana tourism award..'In recognition of your significant achievements in incorporating sustainable,spiritual,social and environmental principles and practices into business'....truly unforgettable!!!

Room Tip: Beautiful views from the rooms facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in our peaceful home. We sure able to keep all of our warm service, genuine smile and hospitality to welcoming you back in near future at Puri Sunia Resort. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#13 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Sunia nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It’s located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural.Puri Sunia is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean a house of King and Sunia mean “quiet or peaceful”.    Offering 19 rooms in Balinese architecture   with 3 private pool villas,  8 suites and 8 deluxe rooms.  Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Sunia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.