We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding and thoughtful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Save Saved
You added Puri Sunia Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUNIA FREE & EASY
Ranked #16 of 120 Hotels in Ubud
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding and thoughtful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Puri Sunia in June 2012 and were overwhelmed by the warmth of service from the staff who were extremely attentive without being overbearing. The resort itself occupies a beautiful tranquil setting in the rice paddies above Ubud and the standard of accomodation was very good indeed. We had intended to spend evenings in Ubud itself and although we could easily have done this courtesy of the free regular shuttle service, the quality of food from the restaurant at Puri Sunia meant that we only left once! We were very impressed with the raange of activities available and particularly enjoyed the cooking course from the restaurant's head chef who was patient and encouraging of our attempts to recreate some of his best dishes. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Valued guest, thank you for your review on the trip advisor. We glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our facilities, foods, cooking class and shuttle service. And we will be more happy when we could welcome you at our peaceful home in near future. Suksma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    65
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
79
258
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Incredible villas ( take the pool villa and can operate for days without seeing anyone !
Daily yoga, best shiatsu massage in world ( ask for Ari ! ) most amazing restaurant who caterered for my every dietary requirement ( and I have lots including anaphylactic reaction to peanuts .. Despite the risk they served me lovely traditional food for days. )
I took painting and cooking lessons , went to art galleries, laughed a lot onrice paddies trek and and every want taken care of !

A truly awesome stay .. Thank u and ill definitely be back !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for your review on the trip advisor. We also happy to know that you enjoyed your staying at our resort, especially our yoga, tour to local area, foods and spa massage. We will share it to all staff member and sure able to keep our service and products to welcoming you back in near future to our peaceful home. 'Suksma'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our stay at puri sunia was amazing from start to finish. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was lovely and spotlessly clean. I enjoyed the free morning yoga sessions and also the guided walk around the local area.
Puri sunia is a peaceful and relaxing hotel in idyllic surroundings...i would definitely return if i could!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for your review on the trip advisor and all the compliments to us. We also happy to know that you enjoyed your staying at our resort, especially our yoga and tour to local area. We sure able to keep our service and products to welcoming you back in near future to our peaceful home. 'Suksma'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The staff are very helpful. We stayed at Sunia for 12 days, and we were part of the family when we left. we had special treatment by the staff and they all called us by our first name after a few days. The cook created things that were not on the menu, but we made sure that we gave him notice the morning before. Fresh Juices for breakfast. I liked the so much that I will be going back for 3 days when I am in Bali next. It is worth the drive, the Hotel is located just 15 Minutes away from the main town of Ubud.

Room Tip: First floor units have a nice view over the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for your review on the trip advisor and all the compliments to us. We also happy to know that Puri Sunia Resort became your favorite resort to stay in Bali. We will do our best to keep our service and products to welcoming you back in near future to our peaceful home. 'Suksma'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great hotel just outside downtown Ubud. All the staff were helpful particularly Kumiang the young driver who picked us. The food at breakfast was excellent. I found the hotel on trip advisor and it was well worth it. The drivers will take you in to town and pick you up upon request and the facilities are beautiful.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, we sincere thank you for your review on the tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and facilities. We will share it to all our staff member especially Komang our driver. Sure he will be glad to hear it, so do all of us. And we are very keen to serve you again at our peaceful home as a part of our family in near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Puri Sunia hotel exceeded our expectations!! Situated amongst the rice paddies witnessing the passing local life couldn't have provided a more scenic background. Stunning sunsets and warm,friendly hospitable smiles from the staff made us truly welcome. The Manager Mr.Dewa made us exceptionally welcome as honeymoon guests...the peaceful atmosphere of the hotel truly offered the chance to unwind & relax. The hotel created by ethical and sustainable methods is what was most appealing.It won a silver medal in the Tri Hita Karana tourism award..'In recognition of your significant achievements in incorporating sustainable,spiritual,social and environmental principles and practices into business'....truly unforgettable!!!

Room Tip: Beautiful views from the rooms facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in our peaceful home. We sure able to keep all of our warm service, genuine smile and hospitality to welcoming you back in near future at Puri Sunia Resort. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The reputation of this resort was so good and I found it was exactly right after staying at this hotel. They never made me disappointed. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable for sleeping. The view from the room was a bit limited because it was not a huge resort, but with good enough beautiful garden of which with a lot of big green plants. It was very important for me, because I'm a jungle lover. I could feel myself very refreshing in this resort.

I stayed with my daughter, but she joined me from the second morning. So I requested to change the room from the King size bed room on my arrival day, to the twin bed room from the second day. However, what a kind they are? They kindly arranged my room for changing the bed to the twin's according to my daughter's arrival in the morning. Everything was already done during we had a breakfast in the restaurant. I felt their very good hospitality to the guest.

The most impressed me was the the restaurant. Every staffs were always kind and talked to us. They were really friendly and also very polite. Regarding the taste of the breakfast... Actually I had lost my words... It was the best breakfast in Ubud! So far, I have tried several hotels in Ubud, but the egg benedict whichI tried in this resort was the best...! I strongly recommend you to try it in this resort. My daughter was also very moved to the puri sunia breakfast with the lovely french toast... You should try it, too.

One more if I mention, I must recommend you to try the trekking in the rice field. Some of the guest enjoyed the nice view and walking in the rice field with a nice guide, Yulie. She was very kind and helped us with her good knowledge about Bali. We also enjoyed to visit the pre-school on the way. It was really lovely memory... She also made us try the real fresh coconuts juice.... It was like a live-show to see an old farmer rise the very high coconuts tree and picked some of the fruits for us. Really nice experience. We could fee the breeze in the rice field, could see the lovely small flowers, and felt the real Bali, by our own sense. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your review and compliments. we glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at our peaceful home. Our team members will be happy to know that you enjoyed the yoga, trekking and our foods, especially to Yuli the Yoga instructor, FB team and chef Made. Sure we will be more happy if we might serve you as a part of our family again in near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#13 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Sunia nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It’s located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural.Puri Sunia is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean a house of King and Sunia mean “quiet or peaceful”.    Offering 19 rooms in Balinese architecture   with 3 private pool villas,  8 suites and 8 deluxe rooms.  Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Sunia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;