We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive, charming staff from the local area made my stay in this beautiful, peaceful place set away from the noise and crowds.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Sunia Resort to your Saves list
Puri Sunia Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUNIA WEBSITE BENEFITS
Ranked #43 of 147 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Attentive, charming staff from the local area made my stay in this beautiful, peaceful place set away from the noise and crowds.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Unlike any holiday I have experience, I am still experiencing the positive residual effects of relaxing stay in beautiful, balmy Tegulalung. The accommodation, service and food were authentic Bali and top class. Ibu Tina:)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    109
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
98
355
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a beautiful spot, but probably more suited for couples than a family of 6? Having said that, they never made us feel that we were out of place and took great care of our kids. The service was brilliant and the rooms were spotless. Towels were luxurious in quality. Pool was delightful with poolside deck chairs. We had two rooms; 3 of us in each room meant two in the KS bed and they made up a spare bed on the floor for our other kids. The rooms were upstairs and we managed to cross between the easily via the balcony... They have a shuttle service from the hotel into Central Ubud which is excellent. They are very attentive and on days when more guests than could fit were waiting for the service they organised a taxi and paid for it. Breakfast was fantastic. So much food!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My friend and I had private accommodation in Canggu cancel two weeks before travel in the peak season (28 Dec to 1 Jan). After many hours online trying to find somewhere, anywhere, of the same calibre I came across a highly rated resort in Ubud. Puri Sunia. There was only one problem. They couldn't take us for the four nights. They were fully booked on the 29 Dec. But thanks to their reservation officer, Indra, she organised for us to stay three nights with them and the odd night at a nearby resort which was also lovely, but older.
The quality of food, service, spa treatments, architecture, activities and staff were fantastic. The place is beautiful and it was nice to get a good night's sleep away from crowing rosters elsewhere we'd stayed (although part of Bali's charm).
I would highly recommend staying at the Puri Sunia. My friend and I are two single women and they were always able to accommodate separate beds for us. The resort caters for all types of travellers while the size of the place is private, intimate and quiet.

Room Tip: On both occasions we stayed in the upper level which was good. First visit was a twin room. The seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I we chose Puri Sunia after all the great reviews on TA and wasn't disappointed. This was our 1st trip to Bali and first stay in Ubud. The hotel is located about a 15 min car journey from Ubud and is simply beautiful with wonderful amenities. The hotel organises a free shuttle service to and from Ubud throughout the day, every hour which is very handy. Rooms are beautifully appointed and the resort is small and intimate and all the services quite and efficient. We had a suite room which was huge and very clean and spent 6 nights here. Our room was on the second level, with a balcony which overlooked the resort. The grounds are really peaceful and the swimming pool is lovely. There was a lot of free activities including yoga classes and treks. Breakfast was out of this world with 4 menus to choose from! Everything was perfect, from the service to food and what we enjoyed the most were the beautiful Balinese people who work at Puri Sunia and made every effort to ensure we enjoyed ourselves. I have to mention some of the fantastic staff, Sri, Buda, Dharma, Kadek especially as a very attentive and lovely driver.
I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for some peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings. We will definitely be back again to this lovely and tranquil spa resort.
Lastly I would like to congratulate the newly appointed resort manager Dewa Darma with his exceptional friendliness and professional manner. He and his staff went out of their way to make sure our visit was perfect.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I chose Puri Sunia after all the great reviews on TA and wasn't disappointed. This was my 10th trip to Bali and I have stayed all over the island but this was my first stay in Ubud.

We were met at the airport by our shuttle driver who was very polite and helpful. Traffic was bad when we arrived so it took over 2 hours to get from Denpasar to the hotel. However, the drive is pretty scenic and the time went fast. He also stopped at a money exchange for us which was greatly appreciated. The hotel itself is set in a stunning location that is well worth the drive.

Arriving at the hotel, we were met by Dharma. He was warm and welcoming with fantastic English. We had pre-booked an upgrade to a villa for the last 3 nights of our stay but were happily surprised to find they had upgraded us for the whole trip without any additional costs. The villa itself was incredible - huge bed, stunning outdoor bathroom and beautiful gardens with a plunge pool.

We ate breakfast and two dinners at the resturaunt and the food was great. The dinners were especially good and I can strongly recommend the crab soup. The chicken curry was the best I've ever had and I still dream about it! The cocktails are also really good... not cheap for Bali but they use top shelf alcohol and it is a hotel. I also had two massages at the spa, both wonderful. Again, not Bali-cheap but the service and quailty is on the next level.

The hotel offers shuttle buses that run all day and it's a 15 minute drive to the Ubud town centre. These were great, always on time and we never missed one. They aren't really buses - more like luxury mini vans! The hotel also offers lots of activities and we did full-day trip to Lovina and north Bali. This was also fantasic and only cost about $65 AUD. This was for a private car and we covered a lot of ground. We left the hotel at 8.00am and got back around 5.00pm.

Some reviews mention lots of bugs and I wanted to address this. This hotel is in the middle of what is effectively tropical rainforest. We travelled in wet season and found that lots of flying bugs got into our room the first night. This was partly our fault because we left a light on and they were attracted to it. If you are someone who doesn't like ants, beetles, spiders, lizards and other creepy crawlies than maybe consider a normal room, not a villa. The villas have their own gardens and are covered by beautiful trees. Personally, the bugs weren't a problem for me but I know some people can't see a bug in a hotel room and not have a meltdown!

Overall I truly loved this hotel and it's unique and beautiful location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west france
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

After the hell that is Denpasar it was magical to arrive at Puri Sunia. We had an upstairs bedroom in one of the four large villas with the biggest bed I have ever seen, it must have been 9 feet wide! The room had excellent aircon and in inside bathroom with plenty of hot water, towels and toiletries. Despite loud Boom Boom music somewhere close one night, (it was the holiday season, somebody just having fun!) sleep quality was very good. Although we felt as if we were in the middle of the jungle it was bug free apart from an invasion of harmless moth type things one evening when we left the light on just inside the door. Note to Management. .seals along the bottom of the doors might be a good idea? Breakfasts were very good and the staff were helpful and very pleasant. Only one highchair and two kiddies staying meant a race to grab it every morning, which should have been unnecessary! As the hotel was quite full and the pool area quite small, it got a little busy but it never really caused a problem. It poured with rain most days by lunchtime anyway! Excellent cappuccinos beside the pool in the morning.
Used the efficient shuttle bus to Ubud a couple of times. A really interesting place but not advisable with a one year old in a Buggaboo! Pavements are atrocious and downright dangerous and the only alternative is the road which is not really an option given the traffic.
We loved our introduction to Bali and would recommend Puri Sunia highly.

Room Tip: Less likelihood of bugs in the upstairs bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at Puri Sunia Resort for 8 nights and it was a great experience. We had pick up from the airport through the hotel, and it took about an hour and a half to get to the resort.
We received a warm welcome from the staff and were given a welcome drink while our room had turn down service.

The rooms were lovely, they were clean and had good air conditioning which we really appreciated. The rooms are attended to twice a day, for cleaning and for the turn down service later in the day. We stayed in the deluxe room which was the cheapest option and it was great, the canopy beds are beautiful and the bathrooms modern. I would recommend staying on the upper level though rather than ground floor if you can request this as with the climate it seemed there were less bugs on our level! You will see a couple of insects in the room which is hard to prevent in the climate, however they do provide repellant plug-ins for the room to limit this and we had no problems with mosquitoes as they carry out mosquito fogging at the resort to control them. Also as with most places in Bali there was occasionally a lizard or gecko scampering up the wall but they didn't bother us at all.

The included breakfast was excellent and it was nice to be able to choose your meal (there were indonesian and western options) and have it brought to you rather than having to line up at a buffet. Service at the hotel restaurant was always friendly and welcoming. We only ate dinner at the restaurant a couple of times, there was not a large amount of choices on the menu and it is significantly more expensive than most restaurants in Ubud as you would expect, but still good food. Afternoon tea is served each day - the balinese cake served was a bit strange for my tastebuds but it was great being able to wander in for some tea in the afternoon.

The location of the Resort was great. However, if you want to stay amongst the hustle and bustle of central Ubud and be within walking distance of the shops and restaurants then perhaps reconsider staying here.
It is only a 10-15 minute shuttle ride to Ubud and with the shuttle running morning till evening every hour we found the short ride worth it to be able to stay somewhere peaceful. Returning to the resort with its stunning pool and surroundings at the end of the day was great. We saw lots of butterflies and birds at the resort, and the gardens and plants are make it feel like we were staying amongst a miniature tropical rainforest.

The reception staff were very helpful with booking tours and making suggestions. It was very easy to organise activities through reception, who would call us back in our room to confirm the dates and all of the details. Also we found that most tour companies such as for cycling and rafting were happy to pick us up from Puri Sunia for the tour even though the resort is outside of Ubud, which was really convenient.

There is also a resort spa which is nicely appointed, we went there for a complimentary welcome foot massage and found it very quiet and pleasant. I didn't get around to trying out any other spa services but from booking the massage I found it did get quite busy and difficult to book some days so wasn't really a walk-in place. Again it is a lot cheaper just to go into a spa in Ubud!!

There were only a couple of families there with kids but I'm not really sure what kids would do there, it is not an action-packed place with entertainment but rather a small and peaceful place to sit by the pool. I would probably recommend this place to couples, individuals or friends looking to chill out and be spoilt!

Puri Sunia Resort is a beautiful and well maintained resort and the service was wonderful. I would happily recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing stay in Bali.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level give you a bit more distance from the local insects and a drier balcony. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.9 mi away
Kenanga Boutique Hotel
Kenanga Boutique Hotel
#18 of 147 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#40 of 147 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
4.6 mi away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#36 of 147 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#31 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#35 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home at Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Sunia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.