We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Sunia Resort to your Saves list
Puri Sunia Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUNIA SPECIAL PACKAGE
Ranked #23 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a find...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for our first nights ever in Bali. It was a perfect introduction to the serenity, the hospitality, and the people that are Bali. Our room was perfect, (and recommended, 8B I think). From the balcony you could see the pool, and the rice fields next door. The food at the restaurant was always very good, and a nice varied menu. We took in the free yoga class every morning. Definitely don't miss the guided walks through the village next door and the rice fields. And for photographers, there is a great village about 1.5m away that has over 1000 herons that come home every night at 5:30 to roost. A great walk from the hotel through rice terraces and into a tiny village. I also recommend the spa. We had a massage , and it was so pleasant we even came back from another hotel the next week.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    89
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
92
316
41
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had planned to stay at Puri Sunia for two nights in September but we liked this hotel so much that we changed our plans and stayed an extra night. The hotel offered to upgrade our room but we liked the location of the original room. The room was spacious and clean in a very peaceful location. I can't say enough about the friendly attitude of every staff member from the driver who picked us at the airport to restaurant staff, and particularly the front desk. The hotel is in a village right in the middle of rice paddies. We ran into some hotel staff in the neighboring village and they greeted us warmly and invited us to their temple. The hotel arranged several activities including a dance in the village and a bike tour that we really enjoyed. I recommend the bike tour (I think it was Eco bike tour) and the Balinese dance at the Palace. I would highly recommend this hotel. Our stay in Puri Sunia and the activities in Ubud was the highlight of our trip to Bali.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and loved every minute of it. We arrived at the resort late and starving. The hotel restaurant had already closed, however, they had a small dinner pre-made for us in lieu of the Welcome Drink awaiting our arrival. Our room was well appointed and in working order. The bed was amazingly comfortable, especially in comparison to other places in Asia. The attention to detail throughout the room and resort made our stay feel extra special.

The small resort is a 15 min drive from Ubud town center. The resort offers hourly shuttles throughout the day to take and pick up their guests. My husband took advantage of the 7 am daily yoga. We were in heaven while receiving our 15 min complimentary foot massage, had a nice time at the complimentary afternoon tea, and enjoyed nice appetizers at the Friday night cocktail hour by the pool. We also enjoyed a complimentary 2 hour morning walk through the rice fields which was amazing as well. We had dinner at the resort on one night and the food was good. Daily breakfast was included in our rate and was delicious, especially the warm pastries and latte's.

The staff were welcoming and very helpful. We would definitely stay here again. Absolutely nothing negative to say about this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. I thought that here was typical Ubud style hotel. All staffs were very polite and friendly. Customers who stayed there at that time were all adult and polite. They arrange 2 classes of yoga everyday and also have a trekking once a week. We spent great time while we stayed here. This hotel is far from the central of Ubud. So, It wasn't convenient to enjoy in the town. However, If you enjoy great nature of Ubud, this hotel would help you with it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Port Marly
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a very pleasant and peaceful stay in Puri Sunia, Ubud.
We stayed for 3 nights in a suite which is very confortable and well furnitured.
We enjoyed an 1h30 spa massage upon our arrival after a long flight from France.......relaxing......
The location is great (15 min from Ubud center with hourly hotel shuttle) and surrounded with Rice paddies.
Hotel crew is always availble to make your stay as best as they can.
i would recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

A warm, welcoming, exquisite hotel! The Puri Sunia was an incredible place to stay. Nestled up in the volcanic countryside above the town of Ubud it was a peaceful and spectacularly beautiful place surrounded by terraced rice fields, sounds like the crowing of roosters and the rushing water of streams from the little canals that worked their way through the terraced fields, and day to day life that carried on around you. The hotel itself was spectacular. The rooms were extremely large and well appointed. The beds were incredibly comfortable. The bathtubs were perfection… deep, stone lined, with unlimited hot water and beautiful scented bath soaps and bath salts to choose from. And the showers, with their thick glass walls were terrific as well.

Peace and beauty are very important to the designers of the Puri Sunia. We loved all the beautiful touches--- there were flowers everywhere (like on your sink drain, along the side of the bathtub, at your bedside, placed carefully on each step that led up to your room, and placed behind your ear upon arrival). The gardens of the hotel complex were lush, spectacular and ever-so cleanly maintained. The ponds, streams and the flower-filled stone bowls in the gardens were so very, very beautiful. The open air yoga studio with the forest trees and lush gardens all around forming the “walls” of the outdoor room was amazing! And the staff here were also beautiful people…. they radiated peace, happiness and serenity and went out of their way to be very friendly.

The meal preparations were exquisite! Not only was the food out of this world, fresh & incredibly tasty, but each plate was a beautiful work of art. There were fruit drinks that were heavy on the fruit and flavor, unlike the watery shakes you can get elsewhere, and beautifully garnished. The breakfast choices were varied and incredible (from warm French pastries and homemade jams to fruit-filled wonders… things like yogurt & fruit, or fruit-filled pancakes… to Indonesian choices). The chefs there had an incredible sense of food design and they mastered every detail of the meals from the menu choices, to their taste, to their artful look, to their service & delivery!

We loved it here and long to return!

Room Tip: The villas looked lovely, but were full when we booked. We had a room on the upper level, which I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Puri Sunia is brilliant in so many ways. This place had hidden 'bonuses' not hidden extras!
Bonus breakfast included in your stay...so many choices and servings of delicious quality food. We loved the Bircher muesli, the banana pancakes and the eggs Benedict were amazing. While talking food, the restaurant was outstanding,with a variety of dishes at reasonable prices too. We ate here 3 out of the 4 nights, top quality with sensational service.
Bonus yoga. I had never done yoga before so figured that an open aired studio high in the tree tops of a jungle was the best place to start. The girls, Juli and Wayan were lovely, knowledgable and supportive and we enjoyed 7am yoga every morning of our stay.
Bonus led walks through the local community and rice fields. We did this on the Tuesday morning after yoga. It was a great way to explore and discover the culture and beautiful scenery.
Bonus foot massage on arrival at the day spa. This was bliss and so good that we then indulged in an hour massage on day 2 of our stay.
The location as many have said is perfect, away from the busyness of Ubud and only 15 min free shuttle away. It's peaceful and quiet, surrounded by rice fields, palm trees and at night the beautiful sounds of the insects come to life. At one stage I thought it was a pre recorded Cd!!
People can make or break a holiday experience...every person at the Puri Sunia 'made' our experience here an unforgettable one. The Balinese are easily the friendliest people on earth. Special mention to Darma he took great care of us, all with a smile and his great sense of humor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#13 Family Hotel in Ubud
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#19 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Sunia nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It’s located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural.Puri Sunia is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean a house of King and Sunia mean “quiet or peaceful”.    Offering 19 rooms in Balinese architecture   with 3 private pool villas,  8 suites and 8 deluxe rooms.  Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Sunia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.