We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indira Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Indira Cottage to your Saves list
Indira Cottage
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bisma Street, Ubud, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 315 Ubud B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent find...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I definitely found a treasure when I stayed at Indira Cottages. It is conveniently located less than a minute walk from Monkey Forest Road at the very end of Bisma Road. Don't let the drive down the bumpy Bisma road scare you or you can get your taxi to drop you off by the pizzeria at the end of Monkey Forest Road.
My room was very clean and I had a great supply of hot water and clean towels and linen. You are provided with two small bottles of drinking water. I had breakfast included in my room rate and can recommend the green banana pancakes:)
The reception on the TV was poor in the room...but I didn't come to Bali to watch TV. I was able to keep up-to-date with all the news via that wi-fi that is availabel throughout the hotel.
Gusti very kindly arranged for a pick-up at the airport to Indira as well as a ride to my next destination in Bali. He also arranged for a spa experience for me while in Ubud, while perhaps ot the cheapest experience it was none the less a great experience.
The location is ideal...within walking distance of most of Ubud. The entire staff were very pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    35
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
38
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Indira Cottage is in a great location although driving there gives you the impression you’re staying miles off on a random track. The road does end up meeting a pathway onto the bend in Monkey Forest Road, right by the forest.

This is less a cottage and more a small guesthouse and looks quite new. We stayed in a room at the back which overlooked part of the forest. It was very quiet and the only thing we were disturbed by is the wildlife in the forest outside.

We heard from other guests that the rooms facing the front had a lot of noise from bikes driving up the laneway. It was sometimes noisy in the corridors of the hotel and the staff don’t seem to be especially considerate of guests sleeping

The room was an OK size with high ceilings. It was sort of lacking in furniture and our ‘twin share’ room was a double bed and a mattress on the floor. There was a nice view into the forest with big sliding doors onto the view but no chairs to sit on to enjoy it. There was no safe deposit box.

Other things I liked were the shower which was powerful and a large cubicle and the green pancakes at breakfast. Breakfast, however, is quite small.

Most of the staff were pleasant but the manager was quite rude and not very useful. He insisted on rudely butting into discussions we had with other stuff and never contributing anything of use and usually ended up aggravating someone.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel away from the noise of the motobikes in the lane
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is a beautiful small resort which represents excellent value for money.
The rooms are spacious and modern, the bathrooms are marble and contemporary.
The staff bend over backwards to attend to your every needs.
Although this hotel does not have a restaurant (but does provide an adequate cooked hearty breakfast), the staff will pick up your pre-ordered food from a modern inexpensive restaurant just 50 metres away (which also provide a discount for in-house guests!!!!)
I have been travelling to Bali for many years staying mostly in 5 star resorts, but I would have to say this resort offers the best value for money!! I can not recommend this place enough.
We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

It took a looong way to get to Indira cottage. It’s on the end of the road - jl.Bisma, about 500m from the main road. Through the river and a bumpy road which only fit for 1 car.. i feel like i’m in an offroad journey. But when i got there, i’m impressed because the cottages is so beautiful.. it is located in front of a river an near the monkey forest.. also, it has access to the monkey forest road for person and motorbike only. They has a small parking lot, maybe only fit for 2-3 cars. This is a small hotel with 11 room.

Me and my family stay for 2 nights in superior room (108-110) with garden view. The room was clean, big, and has modern minimalist style. They provide daily mineral water, refrigerator, TV with local channel, AC, plus free WIFI . The bathroom was huge.. very big.. i think i can dance in it. There are shower, bathtub – with hot and cold water, wardrobe, and basic amenities (toothpaste, soap and shampoo). However, there’s no level between room and bathroom and no water drainage near bathtub, so if you take a bath in the bathtub, the water will spill over the floor and make it wet.

The breakfast was good, we can choose 3 types of breakfast : continental, balinese and american. I chose continental breakfast which are omelete & toast, juice and tea, while my husband prefer balinese breakfast - banana pancake, fruit and tea.

Other facilities in this hotel are small swimming pool, laundry service, and 20% discount at Kopi Bali House Cafe, which located near the hotel. Me and my family had dinner in this cafe.. twice.. the food was sooo delicious, and crunchy vanilla was soo yummy.. we really had a great time stayed in Indira cottage. Plus.. treated nicely by the staff and worth the price (about 58 dollar/night). I would definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: take the deluxe room on second floor, it has a great view to the river and monkey forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Service is great and the staff are so polite and try and be as helpful as possible. The rooms are nice, but NO hot water for the entire stay, despite constant complaints. This ruined it for me because it is not hot enought to have freezing cold showers. Apparently the owner is not to be disturbed, so the issue cannot be sorted out. Not good enough, I am paying to stay here!! The breakfast was fine, nothing special. Coffee horrid! Unfortunately the location means that it is noisy as it is right on the scooter path onto the main road, motorbike traffic starts from about 5.30am and is very loud. Overall okay, but to be honset I wouldn't stay here again. It wasn't cheap, so the issues should have been sorted out at the beginning. Thanks to the kind staff though for being welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

New boutique hotel in Ubud which is clean and has best value for money. As there are only a few rooms available, you really feel like home and the staff with Made is always here to help you.

In comparison to other places in Ubud, the bed linens are clean and the modern and big bath room lets you feel like in a 5 star hotel for a great price. Location is a bit hidden but 2 min to the main road of Ubud.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this place to everyone.

Room Tip: bigger bath room in lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed in Artini 2 which was highly rated on tripadvisor, but had such a bad experience that we decided to check out after the first night and luckily discovered this place. The hotel is new and hidden in the rice fields next to the Monkey Forest in Ubud. As the hotel does not belong to a big hotel chain there is no marketing done and only few rooms are available.

Advantages:
- Clean and new rooms in a modern design
- Quiet place with a small pool away from the main street and looking over a river towards the monkey forest
- Great location, about 50 meters away from Monkey Forest street (main street in Ubud)
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Best price for value in Ubud

Disadvantages:
- Small street to Monkey Forest street is not paved and take a torch for those few meters at night.

Try to book early as there are only a few rooms available.

Room Tip: Bathrooms in the lower floor are incredible, but on the higher floor it is lighter when sitting in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indira Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indira Cottage

Address: Bisma Street, Ubud, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 315 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indira Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Indira Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indira Cottage Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indira Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.