We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seniman Coffee Studio

Seniman Coffee Studio
Jl Sriwedari | (1 min off Jl. Raya - main road), Ubud, Bali 80581, Indonesia
+62 812-3607-6640
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 32 Coffee & Tea in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: 'Seniman Coffee Studio' is the Original Specialist Coffee boutique in Bali, Indonesia. Showcasing Single-Origin premium coffee from across Indonesia and guest international beans. We source green beans and roast all our coffee on site at our micro-roastery. Specialists in a range of different roast style we offer a journey of coffee's potential. Our science and skills continue through to how we brew our drinks; from hand brewing techniques such as Syphon and pour-over to high quality espresso based drinks.. Talk to our team about the origins of our beans, roasting and brewing craft. Full menu of creative Regional Indonesian Origin food and western breakfast dishes, cakes, health juices, wheatgrass, beer, wine, etc. We have super fast WIFI and cool tunes spinning all day. WE LOVE THE COFFEE WE CRAFT. Open at 8am, close at 7pm. We host workshops 2 nights a week, ask staff for details.
Christmas Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This café was recommended to us for a great coffee and we were not disappointed. We also had lunch which was very good. Staff were friendly. It's off the main track but well worth th find!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rufusbox, Owner at Seniman Coffee Studio, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
great to hear our staff were friendly.
come again for great staff and great coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    132
    26
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Java Java Java!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Given that Indonesia grows some of the best coffee in the world, it's ironic that it is so difficult to find a decent cup of local coffee in Bali. Seniman Coffee Studio practices the science and art of roasting and preparing coffee and has achieved absolute perfection.

The restaurant itself is quirky, fun and well appointed with both tables and lounging areas. A lovely respite in busy Ubud, it is difficult not to get sucked in and spend an entire afternoon enjoying various coffees (presented like wine-flights) served with phenomenal coconut-wrap sweets.

Seniman also sells a variety of roasted beans at a very reasonable price for home brewing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rufusbox, Owner at Seniman Coffee Studio, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
great comments
thanks for the review
see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Very original concept and wonderful coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was very, and pleasantly surprised by the concept of that coffee place, the decoration and coffee making rituals were both amusing and surprisingly fitting, I had never seen, and have yet to see again anything like it. It's not just gimmicks either, the employees there do have coffee making down to a science (and you get to witness everything from the original grain brewing to the service) and the taste is exquisite which you will most likely appreciate better if your palate is used to enough coffee flavors to be sensible enough about the subtleties (by this I mean, if you don't just drink coffee for the sake of drinking coffee no matter how generic its origins may be).

Of course do not expect a revolution either, it's just great coffee. But you can tell those people are passionate about it, and the concept is a curiosity of its own, I would definitely recommend to experience it at least once if only so you can say you've seen something like this in your life to your friends or kids.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rufusbox, Owner at Seniman Coffee Studio, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
yes yes yes
thanks thanks thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a coffee here one morning, its quite difficult to find as it is down one of the side streets. But the coffee is brilliant and served in a little jar. You then mix your coffee in an empty glass and add water to taste/temperature.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rufusbox, Owner at Seniman Coffee Studio, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
thanks for the words "the coffee is brilliant"
cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place to get online!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Some other reviewers seem to have a problem with wifi users, then I suggest they go elsewhere. If having wifi users is an issue for the owner and staff they should turn it off, maybe busy periods.

Otherwise a nice place and decent food, nice coffee and shakes too, only gripe is having smokers basically sitting inside. If you want fresh air then stay away.

Hopefully one day smokers will be banned from all public places.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rufusbox, Owner at Seniman Coffee Studio, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
our wifi is fibre optic and very fast and free
we have a smoking area only outside
thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seniman Coffee Studio also viewed

 

Been to Seniman Coffee Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seniman Coffee Studio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.