We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seniman Coffee Studio

Seniman Coffee Studio
Jl Sriwedari | (1 min off Jl. Raya - main road), Ubud, Bali 80581, Indonesia
+62 812-3607-6640
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 440 Restaurants in Ubud
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Contemporary, Eclectic, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: 'Seniman Coffee Studio' is the Original Specialist Coffee boutique in Bali, Indonesia. Showcasing Single-Origin premium coffee from across Indonesia and guest international beans. We source green beans and roast all our coffee on site at our micro-roastery. Specialists in a range of different roast style we offer a journey of coffee's potential. Our science and skills continue through to how we brew our drinks; from hand brewing techniques such as Syphon and pour-over to high quality espresso based drinks.. Talk to our team about the origins of our beans, roasting and brewing craft. Full menu of creative Regional Indonesian Origin food and western breakfast dishes, cakes, health juices, wheatgrass, beer, wine, etc. We have super fast WIFI and cool tunes spinning all day. WE LOVE THE COFFEE WE CRAFT. Open at 8am, close at 7pm. We host workshops 2 nights a week, ask staff for details.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Second home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Special place to me for the two months I spent in Ubud. Became a second home. Coming back from trips across the island ... first thing to do: have a coffee and a delicious meal at Seniman's. Thanks so much to all of the staff that make this lovely space what it is.
One and only flaw: The music is sometimes TOOOOO LOUD. But then just sit outside!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rufusbox, Owner at Seniman Coffee Studio, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
we have a new music system to try and even out the sound around the cafe, however we're passionate music lovers and DJs, so play an eclectic range of cool music, perhaps our enthusiasm may affect an increasing level of volume :-) just tell us and we are happy to tune it back down if needed. love coffee + design (and good music)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    109
    21
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing coffee and vibe - bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend a stop by Seniman Coffee Studio. Tried the taster menu. 3 beautiful coffees accompanied by traditonal Balinese dessert. Friendly staff who know their coffee. Would give the Melbourne coffee scene a run for its money!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rufusbox, Owner at Seniman Coffee Studio, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
yes - cool write up... the coffee sampler/ taster is very popular. we change the beans/ roasts featured ever so often so it's always worth coming back and trying what 3 coffee styles we have picked for this week....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I loved the place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The best thing i loved besides the great coffee is their rocking chairs and that you have to get your shoes off before you enter, it feels so homey , i tried the Ethiopian coffee, the brownies and the gado gado but the gado gado was really spicy , so watch out it's all kinds of vegis in a roll with a hot chilli taste inside.
Enjoy having your coffee in warm place equipped like a laboratory.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rufusbox, Owner at Seniman Coffee Studio, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
some good choices there! our Ethiopian is a lovely light roasted, dry processed coffee bean that results in a very fruity, bright and delightful style of coffee. the Seniman gado-gado is pretty famous now as its a twist on the classic Indonesian dish, the spice must be coming from our home-made roast chilli mayonaise or one of the side-sambal/ chili condiments.. next time don't put so much on your food!! see you again :-P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great coffee, but bare feet in the toilet, a lot gross.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Loved the coffee, but served with a crepe??? A chocolate or biscuit would be more complimentary. The lassies were average and the chocolate brownies were delicious but small. Having to take off your shoes and then go to the toilet bare footed made my skin crawl. Shoes are not as offensive as walking in urine. The coffee was great but I would not go back just for that. Thanks

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rufusbox, Owner at Seniman Coffee Studio, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We already have pairs of shop flip-flops that are placed next to the restroom with a sign stating they are for customer use. sorry that you didn't see this during your visit. the 'crepes' are an indonesian local treat and we serve them because we are in Bali, indonesia and believe its a nice touch. and thanks for saying you liked our coffee. hope you can come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best cold drip coffee in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

These people take their coffee as seriously as I do. Great coffee, nice food, great atmosphere, free wifi, groovy ambience. Came for 15 minutes, stayed for hours.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rufusbox, Owner at Seniman Coffee Studio, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
"came for 15 mins, stayed for hours" nice line!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seniman Coffee Studio also viewed

 

Been to Seniman Coffee Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seniman Coffee Studio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.