We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ala's Green Lagoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ala's Green Lagoon to your Saves list
Ala's Green Lagoon
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali 80572, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 334 Ubud B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Very peaceful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. We loved being surrounded by lush green paddi fields and going to bed to the sound of frogs & geckos. The pool was a lovely way to cool down and our room had its positives & negatives.

Positives: large room, authentic Balinese inspired designs, bed was comfy, big mozzie net, nice balcony with good views & a HUGE fridge freezer (fully stocked with soft drinks & Bintang all at reasonable prices). Negatives: no ac & the fan wasn't enough to keep us cool, the mozzie net made us far too hot - even with all the windows open (no screens) so we were never a comfortable temp to sleep.

The 'heavenly' breakfast was just okay and all the staff were friendly and courteous. We only met the owner upon check-out, he was grumpy and almost verging on rude - he could learn some customer service skills from his employees.

Overall, we'd recommend it as a chilled out place to stay and recommend you negotiate a competitive rate.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have lovely views over the fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
22
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Onanole, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent sixteen nights here and there was never a glitch. Really nice owners and great staff. We asked them to deliver cash for concert tickets and they were more than helpful. Beautiful setting and really nice rooms. Excellent breakfast (though "heavenly" may be a tad presumptuous).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. The room and grounds were of good quality. There was a lot of character with unique Balinese touches to the architecture. We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms and found it to be very nice and spacious. We were a little disappointed to find that there were no screens on the windows and that the mosquito net had huge holes in it. However, even though we slept with our windows open every night, we were relieved to have seen only a handful of mosquitos in our room. The staff cleaned the room daily. Bring your own soap- they do not provide hand soap at the sink or any shower toiletries.
The staff was courteous and friendly. They brought us breakfast on our porch every morning. The food was OK. We thought the location was excellent- it was far enough outside of town to feel peaceful, yet close enough to easily go into town to go out to eat and see the sights.
We did have some frustration over some transportation services that we asked the staff to arrange for us based on a board they had set up in the common area advertising transportation services. The communication wasn't very clear and despite many questions, we weren't able to find out in advance exactly what we were getting or how long it would take us to get to our destination. We ended up getting to where we needed to go, but if I were to do it again, I probably would have arranged it myself as we didn't get quite what we had hoped for or what we had been told we were getting.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to others based on the great location, nice rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for an entire month. It seemed idyllic at first but the owner of the hotel burns garbage containing plastic, sending toxic smoke into the rooms. The hotel is located in rice fields but there is frequent, spraying of insecticide immediately adjacent to the hotel. 
 The rice farmers use a noise-making system to keep birds off the rice and the noise is quite loud in the hotel. Inside the hotel, three unrestrained children and other family members make quite a racket with a number of loud out-of-tune musical instruments. At night there is constant noise from the swimming pool pump and filtration system.

 Nonetheless the water in the pool contains a suspension of black dirt particles.

The quality of the free breakfast is inconsistent and the kitchen in which the food is prepared is disgusting. The employees who prepare the food are not trained in hygienic food preparation, to put it mildly. 



In my room, the bedding was unacceptable. One set they gave me was ripped badly and the next was covered with a crust of detergent residue. The mosquito netting is too heavy and does not close, making it both ineffective against mosquitos and very hot under the net. 

 The water in the bathtub at this hotel smells of sewage.

The tourist service provided by the owner showed little concern for the welfare and interests of his guest.

 The final bill was padded with petty and unfriendly cheat items. 





The owner likes to snoop and eavesdrop on his customers. In addition, I clearly refused his offer of prostitution services (pandering) but he continued to harass me with pandering. Bear in mind that Ubud is not one of Bali's many prostitution-towns and at none of my other hotels in Ubud was there any offer of prostitution by anyone. This pandering by the owner of Green Lagoon was thus sick, inappropriate and disrespectful.



To get to and from this hotel you have to walk through the worst traffic jams in town.

Not recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a better room by staying somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at alas green lagoon the first time in beginning of may. Loved it and stayed ten days! After this we came back twice in a couple of weeks!

This place is in the middle of the ricefields, so very peacefull and great views. Even so its just outside ubud centre, 10min walk. There's a swimmingpool, the rooms are all traditional balinese style. And the rooms are very big with nice bathrooms, good big beds and a big balcony.
Staff is very friendly and helpfull.
They also have 1 singleroom, that's smaller and cheaper. All very good value.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

when i booked here i was worried that it might be a long 15 minute walk through muddy rice fields, but i was pleasantly surprised to find that from the main drag in ubud its just a 2 minute walk up a side street abd then a 2 minute walk along a concrete path between some rice fields. the entire place is beautifull and the rooms are amazing. each room has a private entrance or steps, followed by a small garden, then a big balcony with table and chairs. they bring fresh hot water thermos and coffee and tea to your tabe outside constantly so when ever you want a cup its there waiting. the rooms are big and beautiful with big nicely decorated bathrooms. my only complaint would be that the hot water doesnt last long, but then again you will want a cold shower most of the time anyway. it is a quiet location and i think i only saw one bug the whole time there. no mosquito problem like i thout might be the cane in a rice field. the staff are very helpful and the owner is great at arranging activities at a good price. i arranged through the owner a white water rafting trip (highly recommended) for my wife and i, plus our three friends staying at a different hotel. he gave up a price of 250,000 each. when we went rafting we had one other guy they stoped to pick up in the raft with us and found out that he paid 400,000! ala's is a place you will enjoy your down time between activities and sight seeing and is well worth the 35 dollars. even our three friend staying at a 15 dollar place on the main drag wanted to switch to our place after they saw it. too late, sold out! better book early!

Room Tip: top floor is much nicer with the view, breeze, and balcony. but bottom floor is great also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Nice views of rice paddies, quiet, and had a pool. Nyoman was helpful. I found it quite nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ala's Green Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala's Green Lagoon

Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali 80572, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ala's Green Lagoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ala's Green Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala's Green Lagoon Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ala's Green Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.