We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and cheerful holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandat Bali

Save Saved
You added Sandat Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandat Bali
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   21 Jalan Sugriwa, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 289 Ubud B&B and Inns
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
“Beautiful and cheerful holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you will be in Bali in Ubud, remove all doubt and stay at Sandat Bali! Sdes very friendly hosts, fun atmosphere, and great service! Price per night is very loyal, and the number you get gorgeous!

Special thanks for the excellent physical therapy and massage!!
Thank you for having made ​​our stay unforgettable!!

Sincerely, see you soon!
Inna:)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The family at Sandat Bali is what makes this place special. I was welcomed and treated like family, even calling them Mama and Papa. Not only do they provide excellent rooms and mouth-watering breakfasts, but they look out for you, giving umbrellas when it looks like rain and traditional Balinese medicine if you're hurt.

I cannot say enough good things about these kind people and their homestay. I wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I absolutely loved this place. Every single person who works here will bring a smile to your face. Papa Nyoman is always quick with a joke and a hug, Mama Wayan was constantly inviting (ie. kindly forcing) me to eat lunch or dinner with her from the kitchen, their son (also named Wayan) was always interested in what activities you were up to and eager to help you get a cheaper price for something, Putu and Yan (who serve you breakfast) always had the biggest grins on their faces and they helped me a lot with improving my Bahasa and Balinese (thanks guys!!).
Breakfast is great- banana pancakes and a fruit plate, GREAT coffee (or tea if you're into it) and you can get fresh juice as well. Or, you can get an omelette (one of the best I've ever had) with toast and tomatoes as well as the fruit plate. And, after I got a bit tired of this food (I stayed for over three weeks) they were happy to oblige me when I asked to have toast with tomato and avocado for breakfast.

The rooms come in a couple different varieties. I stayed on the ground floor at the far end- beautiful room, wifi works inside, lovely en suite bathroom and lots of space to hang up clothes and put things away. I paid 150,000/ night. I also stayed a night in one of the first rooms- these are 100,000/night. Doesn't have the same ambience as the more expensive room, but a great deal for what you get- still ensuite bathroom, decent bed, space enough.

But all technicalities aside, this homestay gets its high high ratings because of the family. They are truly tremendous- loving, kind, generous, playful and so so helpful. You won't find a better group of people in Bali. I'm just sad I can't be around for Wayan-son's wedding in mid-March!

Room Tip: Bottom floor room close to the reflexology spot gets wifi in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a gem in the middle of ubud. I thought I wanted to stay here for 3 days, but immediately changed my mind after experiencing the warmest welcome from Wayan and family. I decided to stay here for 3 weeks. I was staying on ground level, fan-room and ensuite bathroom. They clean the room everyday, change your towel every two or three days, not only that breakfast is great (usually consist of fruits and choice of pancakes or bread, but you can also have both).

They also provide laundry service, but you're also welcome to use their washing machine. The second floor has two rooms- quite bigger than the room on ground floor- with two kitchens. There's only one room on the 3rd floor, with separate bathroom but you get the best view from here.

If you're hungry, ask Wayan if she can cook for you, or just go to restaurant near by, those resto are great and cheap too. My favorite would be Dayu and Sopa- less than 5 minutes walking.

Overall, if you're looking something so authentic with affordable price, Sandat Bali is the place to stay. Room is available from 100-200, call to make a booking. Phone 0361-971138. Full address : Jalan sugriwa number 21, it's very close to jalan hanoman.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

As mentioned before, if you're a light sleeper, choose the 2nd floor room.
The place is absolutely a gem, fantastic, charming, calm, very very very friendly. First day arrived there very tired, but got a good sleep (don't forget to bring earplugs) and then the place began to show us the miracles. The family is helpful, friendly, every evening spent there is a relaxing time spent with friends (the guests gather there at lunchtime, eating delicious dishes made fresh there).
If you want to do day trips with guides, just ask - they arrange everything for reasonable price.
All in all, this is the place that you won't want to leave. This is a 'must try' in Ubud.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

First impressions walking up the driveway I was a little nervous as it doesn't look like much. However walk through the entrance proper, and you enter a lovely garden and you meet the wonderful family. I booked for 5 nights and was in the top room with balcony. Highly recommend if you're a light sleeper as noise is really minimal. After 2 nights I was told there was a mistake with the booking and needed to move downstairs. No problem as all rooms are lovely. Only thing with the downstairs rooms is that the Balinese carved doors aren't noise insulated so you'll get more noise. This doesn't matter as the family are wonderful, room price is great, breakfast is delicious. Can't wait to come back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

First of all I totally agree with everything that ohShirly wrote in her review and won't repeat those things here. Read her review first!
In addition I'd like to mention that you probably won't get any accommodation of better value on the whole island of Bali. I stayed at Sandat Bali for a week and paid 100'000 per night for a room for my own with double bed and ensuite bathroom with hot shower. The rate includes daily room service, a nice breakfast (omelette or banana-coconut-pancakes) and free wifi. If you don't have a computer, you can use Nyomans notebook. A twin room is 150'000 (for the room, not per person) and a double room 180'000 per night with discount if you stay longer.

Good thing to know: They rent motorbikes for 50'000 a day, which is also a very cheap rate.

My tip: Stay at Kuta beach for 2 or 3 nights, then make your way to Ubud and stay at Sandat Bali for the rest of your time in Bali and visit all the inland and north coast sights from here by motorbike (fuel cost only 5'000 per litre / you need a good map). Make sure you see some of the famous dances (a list with all the performances is available at the tourist office at the main crossroad in Ubud opposite of the market and the temple).

Room Tip: all rooms are top quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandat Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandat Bali

Address: 21 Jalan Sugriwa, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 289 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandat Bali 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandat Bali is a cosy and tranquil family-run homestay located 5 minutes away from Ubud centre. Rooms are delicately furnished in typical Balinese village type setting. All rooms are decorated with Indonesian artifacts and complete with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sandat Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandat Bali Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandat Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.