We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheryn, Sydney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Samara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Samara to your Saves list
The Samara
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jalan Kajeng | PO Box 101 Ubud, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 315 Ubud B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sheryn, Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We recently stayed at the Samara Villas, and from the moment we first booked and Yudi emailed us to see if we had any special requirements, I knew we had booked the right place. The lovely Ray picked us up at the airport and took us to the Villas and how exciting to be transferred by motorbike from the Samara car park up to the Villas which were lacated 400mtrs up into the ricefields.
Such a beautiful tranquil and relaxing place, the location is awesome and we had a wonderful time, the staff were terrific, nothing too much trouble and the villas were quiet and the restaurant was great, we definitely will return next year.

If you're looking for something different this is it.

Room Tip: There are only 6 Villas and they are all good with a stunning ricefield view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    36
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
171
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you want somewhere to stay in Ubud that is convenient, quiet, high quality, tasteful, clean, modern and has a restaurant on site then look no further. Yudi and Stephano are wonderful hosts and have a look at the photos to see how spoiled we were - being on our second honeymoon they put the most gorgeous flower arrangements all over the place. Eating in the lovely restaurant nestled in the rice paddies was a special treat. Beds were great, rooms fab, they were very kind and helpful.

Their email contact and follow up was exceptional - we HIGHLY recommend the Samara Villas!

Room Tip: all the rooms were excellent from what we could see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We spent an absolutely wonderful week in Ubud, staying at the Samara Villas. From the moment we arrived it was just perfect - we could not have chosen a better place to stay. In fact the service began the moment I booked the holiday, with a lovely email from Yudi asking for any personal needs or preferences before we came - all these were attended to in anticipation. The situation of the Villas has to be seen to be believed - overlooking the most beautiful countryside with rice paddies, jungle and in the distance Mt Agung (not always visible if cloudy). There are only six units, so the whole set up is extremely private and personal - after a few days, you begin to feel like family. It is an easy walk down to Ubud where all the hustle and bustle of tourist-oriented activity happens, but once you leave the vehicle road to walk the last 400 metres to the villas, you are in picturesque countryside with absolute serenity - just gorgeous! If you are feeling lazy, the staff will come to pick you up on the motor scooters, but we enjoyed the walking. The service at Samara is amazing - nothing is too much trouble and whatever you need or ask for seems to be able to be arranged - saves all that rushing around haggling with tour drivers etc and the prices were extremely competitive with said haggled versions. The food is wonderful - which is why it is a good idea to do all that walking! The villas are spaced beside the airy restaurant, so it's just a few steps to go for a meal on those days you have had enough of the tourist hype in town. Prices are very fair and the food is freshly prepared for you. A good selection of both Indonesian and Italian cooking is available. And when you dine of an evening, the fireflies and frogs are additional entertainment. Some of the really lovely touches include the serving of fresh afternoon tea (with home made biscuits) whenever you happen to be hanging around the villas in the later afternoon, provision of a wonderful fresh fruit bowl every day, the personal friendly attitude of all the staff members, but top of the list would be the absolutely thoughtful and caring service given by Stephan and Yudi who are just the best hosts you could ever desire and become like friends in a very short space of time. We are just worried that if we give such high recommendations, it migh become really difficult to find booking spaces to return! Do yourself a favour and consider the Samar Villas if you want that personal touch for your next trip to Ubud.

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same, so no need to worry about that. There is no fitness centre or spa, unnec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Samara is a perfect place for those of you looking for a quite place to get away. The location is walking distance (about 10mnts) from the main Ubud. The room is clean, love...love...love the outdoor shower!! The food are terrific...if only they can serve more Indonesian food, that would be great, but over all they have very tasty Italian (mostly) food. Stefano and Yudi are both very friendly and helpful with all your questions and what to do. We love this place! If you love walking and sight seeing, this is the place for you to stay :).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa Heads
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Beautiful location within the rice fields of Ubud - a ten minute walk away from the busy main street and its noises. The walk is pleasant and partly hilly – but the owners offer a motorcycle transport whenever you do not feel like walking as there is no car access to the property.

The property is very comfortable, very quiet and the personalised service is excellent.
We will be back.

Room Tip: rooms 4-6 are the best location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Fantastic place, where you are still walking distance to main part of town but out in the rice fields enough to have awesome views and a peaceful surrounding. Other accommodation nearby and closer to town looked like you would be boxed in and not have these luxuries. Service was great and Stefano was particularly helpful. The combination of Italian and Indonesian food in the restaurant was enjoyable and we tried items of both cuisines which were very nice. Pool area was simple yet nice to relax and enjoy the views and a swim. Rooms are well air-conditioned, modern, neat and elt in a lot of natural light if desired. Can't say enough good things about this place, and the person below saying it is already showing it's age and the breakfast is average is living in a complete dream world!!! We'll be recommending to friends and family without hesitation.

Room Tip: I'd request rooms 5 or 6 for most privacy/unhindered view, although we were room 2 which was sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-ferrand, France
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

About 1.5 km from ubud agitation
In the middle of the rice fields
Some few cottages

It is just a little paradise

Do not expect 5 stars but very decent rooms, almost no service (just enough), poor amenities in the room (particularly shampoo and shower gel)
Swimming pool is nice with a terrific view on rice fields and volcano

Car park is about 500 meters from the Hotel and you will have to walk there (not an issue if you do not have mobility issue). They will go and get your back by motorbike.

We had lunch and dinner.
Food is not bad but pricy and portions are very small.

The rate we were applied for the room that we booked in usd was poor to say the least which I did not appreciated much given the fact that the room was already pricy enough

Still a real paradise !
Loved it !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samara

Address: Jalan Kajeng | PO Box 101 Ubud, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 315 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samara Hotel Ubud
The Samara Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Samara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.