We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bringing you closer to the nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of UMAH GRAN GUEST HOUSE

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added UMAH GRAN GUEST HOUSE to your Saves list
UMAH GRAN GUEST HOUSE
Goa Gajah Street. Ubud, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 315 Ubud B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bringing you closer to the nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Spent my first few days of 2014 in Umah Gran. I must say it was a pretty good start to 2014!

Location is a bit far off from Central Ubud, but that's exactly what I wanted. Rent a scooter and you'll be in the jam packed Ubud in 15 mins (leisure ride) or even half that time(ghost rider mode on). Good thing about the location is that its near to Gianyar and Teges where all the local food fares(Awesome varieties of Warung food: Ayam Bakar/panggang, Nasi Campur, Bakso, Satay etc).

I got the mountain view deluxe room and it was splendid! Sleeping to the sound of nature and the river streaming down below you makes you feel welcome to their element. A good morning will be spent on the terrace/porch sipping their coffee(quite), lazying around while taking in nature's sights and sounds. Water pressure was good and I had no qualms about the room condition, really(or maybe new towels?).

Another positive were their staff. They weren't intrusive and every assistance needed was eased of easily with their help/local interests. Very friendly I must say, still, as guests we should be the one to approach them with a smile and its all good from there. All in all, Umah Gran is very much recommended by me.

Room Tip: Mountain view room(4 rooms) would be one of the best spot to enjoy the nature(plus your own privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I really wanted to love this guesthouse. It received good reviews, but now that we've experienced it we concede that it is too far from town and there is nearly nothing surrounding it.

First, Let me point out the good: Very clean room and bathroom. There is good water pressure. The hotel itself looks like it might've been renovated from an older building and it adds to its charm. The staff was nice and polite. They even let us use their fridge to keep our Bingtang Beers cold until dinner. And speaking of dinner, they do have a deal with a nearby restaurant that will deliver dinner and the hotel staff will serve it in your room with nice plates and silverware. Another good thing is the small pool, and the very pretty view facing a green hill. The pool is small, but very nice! Nice ambiance around it, and it's in the shade starting in the mid afternoon so it's nice and cool. The wifi is strong. The price was very good on low season.

So why only 3 stars? It's way too far from town. If you only need a place to lay your head and have a daily driver and aren't interested in anything around yuor hotel, then this place might work. They do have a taksi service that will pick you up and drop you off near the Ubud Palace for 55.000 rp. But for us, it simply did not work. The actual walk from Umah Gran to the Palace is nearly 1 hour at a steady pace (add 15 minutes if you're like me and taking pictures of everything). In addition to the long walk, the biggest concern is that the guesthouse is directly on a strip of main road that has nearly no sidewalk and the closest restaurant is east bound (left as you're leaving hotel) with a very tight bend with heavy traffic and no sidewalk. Simply not safe with the way traffic navigates here. We cannot give another star because even on their own website, it feels like the location / distance isn't well described.

It is so far from anything at all that we decided to eat the cost of our "no cancel option pre book" and booked much closer in town after the first night.

Our recommendation is: stay closer to ubud! There are SO many affordable options so much closer in town!

Room Tip: Jasmin room (aka Room 4). Is on the ground floor and faces the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed for 11 nights at this lovely hotel. If you don't mind being a little outside UBud (approx. 3km) then this is a wonderful place to stay. Amazing view of a lush green gorge, and rice fields. The staff are very helpful and friendly, and rooms are spotless, and beds comfortable. Away from the hustle/bustle of Ubud, and once in your room - especially the newer rooms - you can't hear any traffic noise. You will need a motorbike or some form of transport to get around though.

Room Tip: Newer rooms, overlooking the forest are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stay at this guest house for 1 night, have a beautiful view of the hills. Quiet and comfortable, the swimming pool is small but enough to indulge. Reasonable price and the staff very helpful. Thank you "Umah Gran"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Date:16-18sep 2013

Had stayed in Air-con room with
amazing view from Umah Gran.
Rooms are clean and neat. But u do get bugs and mozzi if the door is open left open too long.

Waking up to see morning mist, and beautiful sunrise(~6:15am).

The pool is nice to soak into. The owner- Sari and Staff are very friendly and helpful.

You have 3 choice of eateries after the bent(Eastward) Tail restaurant is closed for reno. But the restaurant beside is very nice and very good view too! And Bebek Tepi Sawah restaurant for crispy duck about 20mins walk west(towards Ubud) Or, you can ask The staff to order food from nearby and sent to your room. Must try the Chicken fried rice! I had ordered Grilled chicken with rice - the rice is nice portion for ladies, worth ordering another steam rice if u are a big eater.

For breakfast, skip the omelette and try fried noodle! Eat outside your balcony to enjoy the view! Lovely!

Location wise, it's very far away from Ubud "happening" places. Would suggest at least a short stay here for the quiet view if you are in Ubud!

My pre-arranged "Street driver" did not come. Ms Sari-the owner helped me to call her usual "street driver" nearby on my last day to the airpot. The driver took the small roads and got to the airport about 1hrs10mins!

Oh, if weather permits, this is a very good spot for stargazing!!!

Good stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

You can enjoy the sound of river flowing and bird singing in the morning. The open air pool and the poolside view is nice, good ambience for drinking Bintang, chit chating at there on night time. I was surprise this guesthouse din provide universal adapter even if we ask so, do bring your own adapter.
Plus, the bedsheet, blanket and towel had awful smell of deodorant or washing powder , just like they din manage to rinse again after soaking them inside the washing powder.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Had a great stay here in early may '13. The rooms were clean and modern. Good breakfast in the mornings and a great pool and lounging area. They also got our moped rental dropped at the hotel for us which was great for getting into town.

Rooms were very cheap for what they were and the views you get over the rice fields

The owner is extremely helpful and happy and will help you as much as she can. Ask for directions to a restaurant called sari organic, truely a fantastic restaurant at reasonable prices!

Would happily return here!

Room Tip: When getting a cab to the hotel from Ubud look for the tea pot (in the pictures) on the side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to UMAH GRAN GUEST HOUSE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UMAH GRAN GUEST HOUSE

Address: Goa Gajah Street. Ubud, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 315 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umah Gran Guest House is a boutique accommodation with a Family Residential concept. It harmoniously blends the ancient traditions of Javanese Hospitality with the mystical beauty of Bali. A very unique style and family life style service. Umah Gran Guest House offers a totally new concept in holiday accommodation. Umah Gran Guest House is located at Goa Gajah street a walk away to Goa Gajah Temple built in the 9th century and around 3 km from Central Ubud where tranquility is the main surrounding the rice paddies, hill view and the river which make the guest house a perfect sanctuary. It owns 4 rooms with pantry and private balcony overlooking to the hill view and Agung Mountain. The rooms are clean and comfortable with water heater, individually controlled air conditioning or fan, 24 hours Free Wifi inside room and luxuriously furnished with traditional Joglo House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your UMAH GRAN GUEST HOUSE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
UMAH GRAN GUEST HOUSE Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UMAH GRAN GUEST HOUSE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.