We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evita Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Evita Villa to your Saves list
Evita Villa
Banjar Lod Sema | Mawang Lod Tunduh, Ubud, Bali 80423, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Rajkot, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

There are mixed reviews for this villa on TripAdvisor. It all depends on what you are looking for. We stayed here for 3 nights and had a pleasant stay.

++ It is located in a quiet residential area. Didn't know about its proximity to a cemetery as one review mentions. Wouldn't have cared either if I had known earlier.
++ Very helpful and smiling staff
++ Huge pool which is cleaned daily.
++ Basic room. Cleaned daily. Towels replaced daily.
++ Free shuttle between Vila and Ubud center.
++ Good breakfast.
++ There are plenty of better villas in Ubud and Seminyak but we found this most value for money.

-- Mosquitoes and Black ants (harmless to us but would attack any food item left open or dropped accidentally). But we think it is a problem in whole of Bali. Come prepared with insect repellent and anti-itch creams.
-- Bathroom area needs some better cleaning and maintenance.
-- No views. Surrounded by high walls.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed in the villa in May, 2014. This Villa is really horrible. We don't understand how the review of this villa is themed as good, but here goes our horrible experience in Evita villa. We stayed as couple and we are from Singapore.

First of all, stay in this villa only if you don't care to stay in a place which is just 200 to 300 meters away from the Cemetery. Yes, this villa is. Actually we don't know this as none wrote the review earlier mentioned it. We got to know this from the outside driver who drove as everyday. While we come back from the daily tour, he shown the cemetery which we pass to reach the villa. He mentioned that the villa is located in "Lod Sema street" (which means the "Cemetery street" in Bali language). Since Bali people believe in all these things and we are also afraid of these factors, we are as well.

Especially the villa is not occupied by anyone in first two nights of our stay and we are all alone as only occupants.

When we arrived and checking the room, we found that the key for the door which opens to the open air bathroom & toilet is not working. We called the reception and they told us that the key for this door will not work in any room in the villas of Evita Villa.

They told us that the villa is safe and do not worry, though they claim the villa is safe, what is the problem to have the working lock of this door? This door can be open from outside of the open bathroom cum toilet hence though we put the blocking objects from the bedroom, it will not help us for our safety.

The open bathroom have a tall wall surrounded but anyone who climb the wall can just open the door and freely enter to the bedroom where you couple sleeping. This is the additional reason we had no full fledged sleep in nights.

Also since they told us that all the rooms in the villa are same, we are not able to request for other villa in Evita Villa.

One couple stay in the villa room opposite to us in 3rd night but in the next morning itself they vacated as we seen them packed the things and moving out, we asked them the reason and the guy mentioned the same reason as we faced, the door issue.

The other bad facts of the villa:
=========================
1) The pressure of toilet cleaning water is very very low when someone is taking bath at the same time or you just flushed the toilet before you open the cleaning water tap of the toilet. You need to wait for 5 mins for the enough pressure of water so that your back will be touched by the cleaning water.

2) The Bath-tub water tap don't have a handle so after you take bath and want to clear the water in bath-tub, its not possible if you don't have long nails or any other instrument to climb the tap to empty the water from the tub.

3) The bedroom have no door hence the A/C have no capability to cool the big bedroom (which includes open space to makeup mirror and wardrobe area) even you set the A/C to lowest room temperature. Its really horrible in Bali's high temperature weather. Especially when you often open the outdoor pool area or the another outdoor to the open-air toilet, the little A/C will lost.

4) Please note that the Kitchen have only the below amenities hence its totally useless:
Gas stove
one Pan

that's it.

5) The open area bathroom is very much slippery hence mind your step especially after take a bath and more careful during night rains when you go to the toilet in midnights.

6) The mattress only cover the 75% of the wooden bed in 4 corners and the wooden bed area is very sharp. You should not just climb to bed as we do in our home bedroom. If you do then you will hit badly by the uncovered wooden bed corners. They should either put a bigger mattress or should remove the large wooden bedside with sharp corners in 4 sides.

7) The pool should be cleaned daily for removing the plant leafs other than switching on the pool's plunge motor.

8) Please note that the service charge of the items you take from mini fridge is extra to the mentioned price list.

9) The bathtub should be cleaned everyday as the small insects in it which we need to remove manually everyday before we use the bathtub.

10) The lights in the walkway to the villas from the main entrance is very much dim hence its very dark while you walk to your villa. Its as dark as even a snake or other dangerous insect there in your walking way you can't see it(as the villas have lot of plants). They really consider to put the bright lights in the walkway.

11) The shower in the bathtub never worked hence you can't use it while you take bath in bathtub.

12) There is no fan in the sitting and dining area near the pool. Hence you can't really use this area in Bali's hot times especially after 11 AM in the morning.

13) There are no views in the villa. As they located in Ubud and in a village which is near to nowhere I wonder the villa got no views at all(the view is default nature in Bali). Not even a small rice terrace view. If you want to stay in the villa during the daytime, you just need to see the 4 walls around your villa and need to stay in the sitting area which got no fan, The pool area which got the hot sun and the bedroom which got incapable A/C due to no bedroom door.

14) A/C makes so much noise(as it looks older) and can't sleep well during nights with the sound.

This is what we remembered so far. I have noted these points in my mobile as I want to write the perfect review so that others will be prepared who admire by the villa price and the big pool just like us.

ONLY ONE LINE - I WILL NOT RECOMMEND THIS VILLA TO ANYONE!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Great place to stay when you're visiting Ubud, but you'll need to look hard to find them, they're hidden down a little street in a residential neighbourhood.

The villas are very spacious, and each has it's own pool, so it's a good to kick back and spend a day! The breakfast is fantastic too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

3rd time visit to Bali with family. Our first stay in Ubud.

Good:
1. Location is slightly further than Ubud Center but no issues as daily free transport provided by the villa at any time.

2. Spacious room.

3. Big pool.

4. Super friendly staffs always ready with a smile and helpful. Special mention to Ketut who fetched us from the airport and also sent us to Ubud Center when we requested.

5. Fresh clean towels replaced daily.

6. Food was simple and nice. Free breakfast included throughout our stay.

Bad:
1. Villa infested with small insects at night. So please come prepared like mosquito repellant or spray for protection.

2. Slippery toilet floor.

Wish I could add anymore bad points but there isn't. Perfect place to stay in Ubud. Not far from Monkey Forest and Ubud Center (cheap for shopping) and plenty of great cafes/restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

A fantastic place, staff and experience. You will not go wrong if you stay here. Private pool to swim in (with or without clothing) great food (breakfast is included) massage service at a minimal fee, free transportation into Ubud, car for hire service, and so much more. I live in the east coast the US and I would not hesitate to do the flight to go back. A great live experience. Do not stop, do not hesitate, go to Bali and stay at the Villa.

Room Tip: All the rooms are closed villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed there on our honeymoon.

Pros:
1. Friendly and courteous staff - Special mention of their driver Ketut and manager Wayan.
2. Quite large private pool in each villa - 12 x 18 feet and 4 feet deep approx.
3. Good and sumptuous breakfast served in room daily at your time (staff would ask you about your choice of breakfast and time the previous night)
4. Good decor with the flowers and candles for Romantic Dinner (part of honeymoon package)
5. Complementary pick up and drop to airport/other resort and shuttle to Ubud city center.
6. Very value for money

Cons:
1. Needs more maintenance and decor - outdoor shower was bit slippery and needs more landscaping.
2. No views due to high walls all around the villa. You can however hear your neighbor near the pool area.
3. Spa/massage is very basic - masseuse would give a massage on a mat laid in your room floor.
4. Any food item would be attacked by black ants within 10 minutes if spilled / left unattended.

Do carry a mosquito repellant and anti-itch creams as Bali is full of mosquito.

Room Tip: All villa's are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Amazing Private Villas.

Meant For COuples. Superb Service. Amazing Breakfast.

though its far from Kuta. but i would recommend these Villas to every1. They have everything that a good Villa should have. Though all the villas turn out to be really expensive this wasnt that much, I mean keeping other Villas in mind In Bali.

Its Really Far from the Airport. We self Drove without GPS & reached after a good 4 Hours. That was our fault though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Evita Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evita Villa

Address: Banjar Lod Sema | Mawang Lod Tunduh, Ubud, Bali 80423, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Evita Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evita Villa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evita Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.