We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most incredible experiences of my life! :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of soulshine bali

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
soulshine bali
Save
You added soulshine bali to your Saves list
Jl Ambarawati, Mas, Ubud, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the most incredible experiences of my life! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I had the honour of leading a yoga & cleansing retreat at Soulshine Bali in January and it was the most incredible experience! The food is absolutely delicious, the location is spectacular and service is second to none! It was amazing to see a group of yogis from literally around the world come together in this sacred space near Ubud, Bali and share week-long experience together that was life-changing. It was so special to me that I have already planned my return to Soulshine Bali for January 2015. And of course the icing on the cake was having Michael Franti share the space with us and sing a few songs during our final yoga practice! Soulshine Bali is the place to be for yoga, music & transformation! Happy Jack from Canada :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Soulshine is a beautiful retreat oasis! The location is perfect ~ a five minute drive from the heart of Ubud. The retreat center is tucked into the trees just enough to provide shade and cooler weather. The rice patty views are stunning ~ and made for a beautiful backdrop for our yoga. The most unique and special aspect of Soulshine is the incredible Staff ~ you feel like apart of the family! They take such special care and attention to your needs and requests! The Soulshine staff/team are genuine in all they do! This quality of service also extends to the meals and food ~ authentic Balinese meals, delicious! My three week stay was exceptional ~ especially for a group/retreat experience!

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are spacious, most have a private or shared bath with only one other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is the second year I have brought a group of yoga goddesses for a week's retreat. It's like coming home to a family who truly love you.
Soulshine lies amidst magnificent rice fields and sleeps in a garden of Eden.
There is nothing the staff won't do for you and the accommodation is comfortable and clean.
The breakfast, after our morning yoga practice, was varied and yum and all the women loved the menu offerings which they sampled during the week.
Soulshine makes your soul shine and your heart sing. Next year's Goddess Retreat is already booked!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I attended a weeklong yoga retreat in June 2013. It is a beautiful setting in a sea of green rice patties. Accommodations were average but needs a facelift and deep cleaning in bathrooms. Lots of black mold in bathrooms. Staff very helpful. Meals were vegetarian and fresh but not enough to sustain a normal person. Breakfast was bread and butter and some sliced fruit. Lunches were salad, rice and something else non description. Dinners the same as above. Mundane. Several drawbacks but I will mention 2 that will keep me from ever going back. First were the cock fights going on in a large pavilion about 2 hundred yards away from our yoga
studio. Two straight days of screeching roosters and hoards of men cheering, gambling and partying. I was told its part of their religious culture but most locals said its really a gambling event. Second was constant smoke in the air from burning of trash and rice fields after a harvest. Hard to breathe deeply for yoga. All in all, bad location, marginal food, and less than sanitary conditions. Definitely not 5 star. Maybe 2+.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Soulsine is the PERFECT escape from the hustle and bustle of life, without giving up the comforts we all love on a vacation! You feel like you are entering a secrete sanctuary as you walk along a dirt path along a river bank only to greeted by a giant Buddha, beautiful gardens, gorgeous kidney shaped pool, third floor yoga studio with amazing 360 degree view of rice paddies, the tops of coconut trees and sometimes even Mt. Agung!

The staff are the friendliest I've experienced, ready to make your stay at Soulshine a memorable one...I felt like I was a part of the family. My perfect mornings were made up of a yoga practice/work out, followed by a dip in the pool too cool off and the best food in Ubud from their cafe. Although located in the village of Mas and not Ubud proper, a three minute car ride or a scooter (my favourite way to get around) takes you right into the center of town (near the palace, Monkey Forest, shopping, restaurants).

You will love the minimalist, refreshing, organic vibes of this 5 star resort! And don't forget to drink your fresh coconut by the pool!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Our time at Soulshine was reinvigorating, almost transformative. I can't imagine a more beautiful place - it's like a slice if Eden. Everywhere you turn there was a new scene of lush beauty. And the staff was so great, you can't help being happy just being there. The trip into Ubud is quick and cheap but going back to Soulshine was like going back to an oasis, removed from the entertaining bustle of Ubud. Walking down the long path from the road along the gurgling stream, passing by local fishermen, a local batik artist's workshop and small tiered rice field and finally passing through the two yellow flags marking the beginning of Soulshine was like coming home to a place I didn't know I was missing. Go. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This place is fantastic - I can't say enough how beautiful and peaceful it is there. The grounds are stunning, and cozy without feeling cramped. The pool ... well, I didn't want to get out, ever. They custom make each of your meals, right in front of you, and you feel very at home. The staff was incredibly friendly - we are definitely going back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to soulshine bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about soulshine bali

Address: Jl Ambarawati, Mas, Ubud, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soulshine Bali, a villa and retreat oasis located just 5 minutes south of Ubud centre. Surrounded by breathtaking views of ancient rice terraces, we invite you to get lost in the magic of Bali. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Soulshine Bali Hotel Ubud
Soulshine Bali Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage soulshine bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.