We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soulshine is amazing...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of soulshine bali

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
soulshine bali
Save
You added soulshine bali to your Saves list
Jl Ambarawati, Mas, Ubud, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Soulshine is amazing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This place is fantastic - I can't say enough how beautiful and peaceful it is there. The grounds are stunning, and cozy without feeling cramped. The pool ... well, I didn't want to get out, ever. They custom make each of your meals, right in front of you, and you feel very at home. The staff was incredibly friendly - we are definitely going back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed here with a friend independently (i.e. not part of a retreat) and we basically had the place to ourselves. It is such a beautifully serene environment, and the staff are so friendly that you feel like you're being welcomed into someone's home. Despite there being hardly anyone there while we stayed, they still had full staff - the main house was fully opened up and the cafe was open all day for us.
Both Wayan and Agung were incredibly accommodating, helping us make plans and changes.
The food in the cafe is incredible, especially the included breakfast which is HUGE! Great to set you up for a day of exploring/hiking/cycling/yoga or whatever other activity takes your fancy in Ubud.
This place is a little out of town and it costs 50,000Rp (around $5) to be driven each way into town or you can hire a scooter for the day for a little less. We didn't go into town too often, preferring the serenity of the little oasis that is soulshine (and working on our tans around the pool).
I would definitely recommend staying here if you want some peace and don't mind being a little away from the action. I look forward to visiting again one day, perhaps as part of a retreat, when I imagine the place would be buzzing with happiness.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My first introduction to Indonesia could not have been more sublime. As a yoga retreat center, we were surrounded by the most beautiful nature could offer. The staff of soulshine is warm and gracious human beings. Wayan is a fun, accommodating gentleman, who helped us with our activities agenda. And if he didn't know the answer immediately, he would have one for us.

We were treated to breakfast with our yoga package of gorgeous fruits and other yummy delectables every morning. The ladies who worked the kitchen made it difficult for us to leave the retreat for dinner. We would order from the kitchen in the evenings for dinner most of the nights. And as much as I ate, you would think I should have gained more weight...but instead became leaner by the end of the retreat, partly due to the yoga and I'm convinced due to the freshness and preparation of the meals.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Soulshine and can't say enough good things about it. Fantastic friendly service and the best food we had in Bali! The rooms are comfortable, and the pool and lounge/restaurant areas are lovely with views over the neighboring rice fields. Very peaceful after the hustle and bustle of Ubud. There is a beautiful roof-top yoga studio with a 360 degree view of the gorgeous area. The staff is very helpful and takes care of everything for you. Feels like a home away from home (with better food!).

Room Tip: The sunset suite is beautiful and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Soulshine Bali was the ideal location for a yoga retreat! The staff was gracious and always greeted us with the most beautiful, genuine smiles. The Yoga studio was like being in heaven, perched on the third floor overlooking terraced rice patties. The grounds are stunning. The food was divine! Coordination for the retreat was smooth and easy. The staff met our groups needs with grace. Planning group excursions was easy, which as the group leader took a huge weight off of my shoulders. Every expectation was exceeded! I look forward to going back to Soulshine in the near future, it was truly a magical experience.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building are larger with beautiful views. The sunset room is divine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had the best stay ever. The service was beyond excellent, everyone is so friendly. Just the right amount of peace and quite. The yoga studio was perfect. This was my first yoga retreat; yoga first thing in the am and then a great buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Soulshine grounds are stunning, set in the rice paddy fields with the most friendly staff I have encountered. No reason to go to any other restaurants in Ubud, the restaurant they have on site has divine dishes that will satisfy anyone (also caters to those with special dietary needs!)

Definitely consider splurging for the Sunset or Firefly room with the private en-suite bathroom, those rooms are beautiful.

The yoga studio is set on the top floor of the main building and is like nothing you've ever experienced before. The views are stunning from there and you can feel a light breeze passing through ... you feel you're in heaven. They also have high quality yoga equipment on site for use!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to soulshine bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about soulshine bali

Address: Jl Ambarawati, Mas, Ubud, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soulshine Bali, a villa and retreat oasis located just 5 minutes south of Ubud centre. Surrounded by breathtaking views of ancient rice terraces, we invite you to get lost in the magic of Bali. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Soulshine Bali Hotel Ubud
Soulshine Bali Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage soulshine bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.