We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best cakes in Ubud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Box

White Box
Jl. Raya Andong 22 - 24, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #190 of 426 Restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Style: French Gourmet Pastry, Bakery & Food Menu: pastries, tarts, cakes, mousses, cookies, brownies, snacks, bread, quiches, pie and array of the ready to eat food Price: 15.000 - 50.000 (GBP 1.10 - 3.60) Address: Jl. Raya Andong 22 -24, Ubud Open: 9.00am - 9.00pm
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best cakes in Ubud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

A French patisserie with scrumptious fare beautiful staff and service. Delicious cakes and bread and biscuits and coffee and air conditioned comfort. Lunch wraps are also yummy. It appears to be a takeaway cake favourite for locals too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    24
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cool snack spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The air conditioning was a welcome reprieve from the hot, humid day outside. Once inside the food was great, cakes and pastries, unique combinations, nice cool drinks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cake, pastries, hot food and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Our driver did not have any clue about the white box. With the tripadvisor address, we searched high and low for the little white box while driving down the street. Luck was on our side and we spotted it hidden slightly further away thn the other buildings along the street. It was empty when we entered. The little shop had only 2 sets of 4 tables which can accommodate 8 pax in total. The bakery is behind the shop but I'm not sure if there are any other tables or chairs for extra guests. Anyway we had choc. Nougatine cake which costs 20000rph, white strawberry mousse at 20,000 rph and I also bought some takeaways like their cheese sticks at 20,000 rph and lemon and palmsugar cake at 15000rph each. As for the drinks if you are interested, we had ice cappuccino at 28000rph and ice tea at 20000rph. We also had takeaway meals like duck confit (50000rph), the macaroni ham and cheese gratin (60,000rph) and potato gratin (50000rph). Honestly they really need to work on the duck confit. The meat was dry and hard and they took some time to eat up and pack the whole takeaway but the final outcome was pretty good. Neat and nice paper bag and boxes :) anyway it's a pretty interesting tiny shop but the prices are slightly to the high side (just my point of view)

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh croissant that made your day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

White Box is a little pastry shop where I can smell fresh croissant that made my day! It's not easy to choose one of delicious pastries, breads and pastas to eat, since everything here is tempting. Fresh and made from best material. And the price is sooo friendly.

White Box is a perfect place to have breakfast after your morning walk, or have a light dinner. You can have it in side or out side, near the pastry kitchen. You also can ask for take away everything here, shop's employee - which are nice - will wrap your food carefully. You don't believe me? Try it yourself, you'll love it!

One more, there is no chain store of White Box. Its only located at Ubud Bali. I pretty sure about this, because the owner told me.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“December Turkey or Beef Wellington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

They offer a full roast turkey with pork dressing & gravy - very tender and flavorful! (If you order 2 weeks in advance, you can get it for Thanksgiving (USA) in November. Their Beef Wellington is also wonderful - fork tender beef that is NOT mushy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Box also viewed

 

Been to White Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Box, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.