We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place! ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kamuela Ubud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Kamuela Ubud to your Saves list
Royal Kamuela Ubud
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   Jl Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 278 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place! ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We've stayed for 9 nights in this resort and it's impossible to find anything to complain of.

The villa is luxurious;,intimist (which also means that you have no sight from your villa... maybe the only bad point) and is a good mix between exoticism and modernity :
- the swimming pool is a just the must have : you can access it form the patio and the bathroom
- the bath tub is really big and can allow 2 people at a time

Breakfast is quite qood and substantial.

Its location is also a good point : you will stay on the monkey forest road and you only need 5 minutes by walk for going to the center. And even if you want to go somewhere far from the resort, a free shuttle would bring you to your destination (a phone call is also available for taking you back).

The last point will concern the employees who are really kind, attentive, and full of advices for letting you enjoy your trip in that heavenly island (special thanks to made wahyu who was really kind and had taken so much time for sharing his love of bali... without him, I'm not sure that our trip would have been so magic)

Anyway, if you spend some time in ubud and can afford their price, do not hesitate!

(last funny point : even the monkeys would welcome you in your villa!)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    44
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
224
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Beautiful room, the best bathtub ever, fluffy pillows and fantastic bed. Nice lap pool, though the water was a bit cold given Ubud's weather. If there's a chance of a heated pool, it would be fantastic! The aircon in our room was leaking water, which could be a slipping harzard given the polished marble floor. Probably needed maintenance. The Wifi was erractic, but I guess we didn't go there for the internet. Breakfast could be better but service was discrete but attentive. One important issue to note is that it is possible to get transport from the airport to the hotel for IDR 195,000. If you make an enquiry for airport transfer, they will charge about USD 45 and say that that is the cost of taxi from the airport.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

The Royal Kamuela Ubud is a new boutique villa resort. Children are not permitted which means it is very peaceful and relaxing.

What you see on their web page is what you get - 5 star luxury. Often the rooms you get are nothing like what is advertised, in this case they are beyond what the camera can do justice to.

The villas walls are glass so you look over your own private swimming pool to your own garden bed gazebo. Meals are served in your own private dining area which is outside but under cover. I thought the heat might get to me but with overhead fans it was devine.

If you are wanting to have a honey moon, or a second or third, this is the place to go. The staff are more like family and and are always happy to help with any small or large request that you have.

If you would like something extra as a surprise for your special person, they can arrange it before you arrive.

I would recommend being picked up by their driver. This was our 7th trip to Bali and usually we just grab a cab, but their cars are truely first rate and extremely comfortable. We even had our driver take us to a small local resteruant as we had missed breakfast and the airlines served only morning tea. I payed less than $8 Aust to feed the three of us including soft drinks [we brought the driver lunch aswell].

There is nothing about the Royal Kamuela that disappoints except having to leave.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We had a very blissful honeymoon. The decor, food, hospitality and service was exceptionally well. Many thanks to Ibu Aniek for her excellent customer service and making our stay as comfortable as possible. The porters were friendly and helpful. We had "guests" every morning at our private pool area, cute and not the human kinds though. Fortunately, they did not scare the hell out of us. It was humorous though.
I shall not say much and let the pictures do the talking.
Royal Kamuela Ubud, you wont regret it

Room Tip: We had Villa 7, near lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We had left our beautiful private villa in Seminyak to visit Ubud for a further four nights. Just as we thought the accommodation could not get any better, we were amazed that the Kamuela villas were more outstanding. The first night we dined by our private pool & the food and service was very special. Breakfast was very good, to avoid the monkeys on their morning visits, our butler served our breakfast inside our room which has a lovely view of our pool & garden through the huge glass wall of our room. The staff were amazing , highly professional & made us feel very welcomed. We loved it & hope to be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinau, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in Villa 11 which was the furthest away from reception. As previous reviewers have noted the layout and furnishings are spectacular, definitely the loveliest place we have ever stayed in. The pool is huge, but we found the steps into the pool were very difficult to negotiate, they are very high, (about 50cm) but that is our only criticism of the whole complex.
The staff were wonderful, very friendly and eager to please. We used the free hotel shuttle 3 or 4 times and the staff were always willing and able to take us where we needed to go.
We did order room service and found it to be fine. Breakfast was good, and afternoon tea was a real treat which the staff were willing to provide whenever we returned from our afternoon adventures.
We were warned about the monkeys, but never saw any around our villa, just at the bottom of the street in the Monkey Forest (which is well worth a visit, not just to see the monkeys but also it is in a very beautiful location).
Our congratulations and thanks to Aston International for a wonderful holiday experience - we also stayed 10 days at the Kamuela in Sanur, and although it is an older property the service was also excellent.
It really was a romantic dream location, and the private villa experience is one we will never forget - it will be difficult to go back to a regular hotel room after this!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Our villa was absolutely beautiful. The furnishings are modern and expensively finished and the glass wall between the bedroom and the pool/courtyard is spectacular. The bathroom is huge and also has a lovely indoor/outdoor feel. The spa bath is comfortable for 2.

The location is perfect - close to everything but tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the street.
The monkeys are fun to watch, although we were a little intimidated at first having not been warned about them visiting at about 8-9am each morning.

The food is a bit average but there are heaps of restaurants very close by - some offer takeaway if you want to eat in the villa or round the pool. I was also surprised that the mini bar did not include alcohol but the convenience stores very close by ensured we were well supplied.

I also agree that the pillows are way too big and not the most comfortable.

However, overall the villa is definitely the most exclusive we have stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Kamuela Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kamuela Ubud

Address: Jl Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 278 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Kamuela Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accolade winning Royal Kamuela at Monkey Forest Ubud is one of Bali's most charming boutique resorts offering a supreme location in the very heart of Ubud. No extra bed available in the villas and this property design is not suitable for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royal Kamuela Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kamuela Ubud Hotel Ubud
Royal Kamuela Ubud Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Kamuela Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.