We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally local feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumah Roda

Rumah Roda
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rumah Roda
Jalan Kajeng 24, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 290 Ubud B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Totally local feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed there for 5nights,totally local feel,stay with Darta family,and they are friendly,especially Abut will chat with you when he is free,he is the son of the owner--Darta,he is also a driver,can give you good information about trips and explain balinese culture to you.there is a small swimming pool at Rumah Roda ,but i found no time to swim,regret.their breakfast is simple,but enough,i love banana Rai,the first time i had it,tasty!the room is big,though no air-coin,but for me a ceiling fan is ok.room with hot water ,but i seldom use,i love cool water to shower.the room i stayed with a double bed and mosquitoes net,prevent me from mosquito bites! Rumah Roda did give me a good memory while i was in Ubud,a budget homestay with good location,highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
18
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just stay at this hotel few days ago and it was a bad experience for me. We need to pay an extra >100,000 rupiah the time we check out without any information earlier and according to them, the price they offered us is for another rooms and we rooms they gave us is different. The reasons was the room is occupied by others as we reach too late but when booking the room, I already inform them that I will be reach at hotel at night time ( around 9-10pm) and a day before we reach, I email them again to inform that we will reach after 10pm and get them to prepare us the room.

This guest house is not honest at all and never inform in any room charges changes. The staff here also not friendly at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

A truly lovely and affordable homestay, with the benefit of a central location in Ubud.
The rooms are decorated with traditional flair and are basic yet spotless. The balcony sitting area in front of every room is very pleasant.
The family who runs the place is extremely friendly, and they helped us a lot to find our way round the town and get to know the area a bit more.
The restaurant food was gorgeous: go for the Balinese buffet if you can! The breakfast banana pancakes were great too!
If you are up early, you might be lucky enough to be invited to arrange the freshly prepared offerings around the house!
Very nice place to stay during your visit to Ubud.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

There are 9 rooms in this home stay. All with clean bathrooms. The family are very open and informative about how to make the best of your stay in Ubud. There is now a recently added swimming pool to cool off after a walk in the nearby rice fields or one of the numerous small cafes nearby. It's on one the best, quietest streets in Ubud. Darta is a font of information about the life of a Balinese and their small restaurant serves cheap and tasty food all day. It is economy style - no precious staff uniforms or welcome cocktail - instead you meet and see what makes the Balinese so special as a people.

Room Tip: A room on the top/3rd floor gives you the best view and quieter but there are stairs to get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trebon, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were spending there 4 nights, two rooms were not available, so we took 1 room with extra bed. Room was large, we had shower with hot water. Nice view from bathroom and room.
Place is clean, about 5 - 10 minutes from the main road. Very quiet.
Food was nice, breakfest nice - we loved banana pancake with coconut. Servis sometime slow, but you can count with it and enjoy morning atmosphere with crazy cock crowing. One cock probably wanted to be a horse, because finished every crow with a neigh!
WiFi was working in the restaurant and in a room.
Sunday balinese food was nice, worth to try it. Just be prepared they may finish cold beers :-)
We had some accident with shoes lost, but solved, so I can believe that it was only childrens play ... take shoes to the room.
Laudry service is about 5 minutes back to the main road.
If you follow Kajeng road you will reach very nice rice fields in about 20 minutes of pleasure walk.
All in all, if I would go to Ubud again, I would stay here again. It is among the best homestays I ever visited.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Close to main road but on a small quiet street. Close to market, tourist info, palace, museum. Friendly family operate this hotel/homestay. I arranged airport pick-up by e-mail which worked out well. Darta is happy to help to arrange things. I stayed in the main location. Short walk to rice fields. As a woman travelling alone I felt safe and comfortable in this family compound with several guest rooms. Free water refills if you have your own bottle. Good value for money.
Try asking for what you want for breakfast and you'll probably get it.

Room Tip: Both rooms I tried in the main location were fine. You may feel like you have more privacy on the tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Homestay with rooms across 3 stories (we stayed on top floors)
Sound of roosters may interrupt light sleepers
Friendly hosts to make your day, Great recommendation from trip advisor!!
Rice fields within 10mins walk in one direction; great food and average spa/massage in other direction
Darta, Abut and friends can recommend tour itineraries
Recommended for couples looking for simple home lodgings!
Breakfast simle and homely.

Room Tip: Rooms have mosquitoe nets and hot showers. No air-conditioner Rooms on top floors have great view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rumah Roda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Roda

Address: Jalan Kajeng 24, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 290 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Also Known As:
Rumah Roda Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumah Roda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rumah Roda to your Saves list