We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, wonderful atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridges

Bridges
Campuan, Ubud, Bali 80581, Indonesia
62361970095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 452 Restaurants in Ubud
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food, wonderful atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We arrived for an early dinner which was great as it enabled us to enjoy the beautiful river views.

The service was exceptional and the chef very happy to adjust the tapas to make them vegetarian.

The food was amazing - particularly enjoyed the apple and blue cheese ravioli. Food was as good as a hatted restaurant, without the price tag! That said, it's definitely up there in the Bali price range.

Overall, had a wonderful night here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,534
    422
    137
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Haute cusine/ cafeteria style”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

No doubt that Bridges has high ambitions. But it is very difficult to make high quality food for so many people and Bridges is not up to the task that matches its high culinary ambitions (that should justify the high prices) with such a big restaurant. We were there on a busy Friday in August and the food was a bit cafeteria style, a high end cafeteria - But still a cafeteria. It started well with some very delicious warm bread and super attentive staff. We asked for the food to be served quickly for our 2 year old, but our starters came first. I had goat cheese and bead root, not exciting. Wife has had shrimp laksa, which was nice but not caramelized as promised on the menu. We had Thai style fish and lamb for mains - again rather dull servings. Nicely lad out on the plate but with little taste. Son had a kids menu which was good and free (as an excuse for being late and missing potatoes). Even if we had paid for the kids menu, it was at 120 000 clearly the best value for money. The bill for 2 starters/mains/glasses of wine came to almost 1 mio. rps (100$).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best restaurant in Bali, bar none.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

can't even get close to this value in Singapore. a great restaurant for tourists, with great value. But I think the appetizers were better than the mains. However, alcohol is great, while expensive by Asian standards, about the same price as Singapore.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“You pay for quality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We dined here last year as a special treat because we normally eat in much more affordable warungs. Most main courses on the menu are more than Rp. 100,000when we rarely pay more than Rp. 45,000. Having said that I feel that the quality of the food, service and ambience justifies these prices. The food was excellent, the service attentive and friendly, and the general ambience superb. The restaurant is stepped down the river gorge on several levels besides the famous Campuan bridge - a spectacular location. At night the nearby trees were lit up by myriad LED lights strung like necklaces. The tableware, table linen, seating arrangements, ablutions, decor and staff standard of dress were all classy - which is often not the case in Ubud restaurants. We were served with complimentary refreshments and shown a varied menu. I can't recall the dishes we ate but enjoyed the several course meal and margueritas. The food is truly excellent. We are now back in Ubud and passed the restaurant on foot yesterday at lunch time and could see the restaurant was busy - always a good sign. We will make a booking shortly to return with friends. On our budget this will be a special occasion, but I am confident it will be well worth it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Ubud!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed two times a great dinner at Bridges. Prices are correct for the served fine food. Waiters and waitresses are really nice and polite. The courses are just great, particularly the double-cooked duck breast: a-ma-zing!!
Desserts are also really great.
A perfect place to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bridges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.