We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmm....nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Villa Ubud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bali Villa Ubud to your Saves list
Bali Villa Ubud
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Br. Pedapdapan | Jln ke-Cagaan 1, Pejeng, Ubud, Bali 80552, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 279 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hmm....nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Friendly host and staffs, you feel warm welcome when you stepped in the Villa. They served us welcome drink and cool tower upon check-in, helped us to carry our laggage while explaining the hotel facilities to us.

We were bought into a big room name 'Nusa Dua', a spacious room with nice decor. After settle down, we found that the toilet flush system was not working, we called to the front desk and a staff were sent in to check immediately (very fast service!), he tried but could not get fix and he sincerely apologize for inconvenient caused that he needed to get a technician to fix it. A technician and the staff were came later and they tried to fix it but failed and they decided to move us to another room- called "Tanah Lot". This room is slightly bigger than earlier room, overlooking the swimming pool area.

The room toilet has little flust issue but manageable as we just need to press the flush button by opening the basin top(!) Water pressure was a bit low due to some technical issue explained by the staff. Apart from bathroom and water pressure, this place is very nice with spacious room and quiet surrounding. New LCD TV and working deck and 2 seater sofa was nicely fitted in a spacious room, plus 2 outdoor chair and coffee table place at balcony overlooking to the pool and greenery area.

Location: not near to Ubud center, we have a rental car so this is not an issue for us. It took us around 10mins drive to reach Ubud center, quiet surrounding with greenery and rice fields at the back of the villa, without much commercial shops, mostly lovely local people staying at that area. If you need to be near to commercial shops and popular hotspot area, this place is not for you.

WIFI signal at room was too weak and it was not connectable although we were told we can get connected from room, we could get internet access from restaurant but the connection was a bit slow, maybe it was just that day...

Breakfast was fantastic with choices of selection of western style or Indonesia style. They will cook-to-order and it was huge portion with fruits, juice, fried rice or pancake or other western choice, coffee and bread. It was yummy and delicious and we could not finished our bread.

P/S Take note!!! Rooster morning call never failed to wake u up at 6am+ :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    31
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
117
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brighton, uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

My husband and I spent a month backpacking around Bali and Lombok. We stayed for almost a week at villa ubud and were extremely impressed with the whole place. The garden is exquisite, the swimming lovely, the room we stayed in was huge and beautifully clean. The staff were charming and the breakfasts huge - we always missed the cereal part because there was just too much.
We agonised over whether to stay in Ubud centre or outside. Now we have been, I would recommend both - a few days in each. There is a shuttle car into Ubud three times a day from the hotel in am, lunchtime and afternoon.The last one goes in at 4.00pm returning at 4.30- so you have to get a taxi back if you want to eat in town in the evening. - approx £5.

We ate in the hotel only once in the evening as it was rather lonely with few guests in April. We all thought the cocktails were very small for the price paid and compared to others we had and the main courses were on the small side as well. The atmosphere would be much improved in a busier period.

For those with walking difficulties/disabilities there are a number of steep steps up and down from the dining room and down to the pool (only about 8 but hard if you have difficulties)

Having politely left my trekking sandals outside my room a dog ate the strap of one so that it was unwearable. Nyoman, our driver from the hotel tried to get them mended but no luck. He took us to a shop selling trekking sandals but only very large sizes available. Had to spend rest of holiday (almost two weeks) in a pair of flat primark slippers! Moral is - take your shoes inside - the dog belonged to a neighbour but looked utterly delightful!

If you want to stay in town go down the side streets - there are plenty of quiet places backing onto rice fields there. We arranged for taxi drivers to take us out for some day trips and paid aprox £14 for the day with the driver picking you up and returning you to you hotel. We also went on a walking tour - going into the family compound with our guide was fascinating and gives a great insight into Balinese culture.

Overall, a wonderful stay and fantastic value but its the people that make it and the staff were unfailingly helpful!
-

Room Tip: This is a small place - just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed at Villa Ubud for 5 nights in April this year.

Pros:

- The breakfasts were amazing - fruit shake, coffee, fresh fruit, cereal AND pancakes/omlette/rice! So much. Kept us going for ages.

-The rooms were lovely and clean

-The staff were great, really friendly. They booked us stuff (day trips, taxis) and let us use their landline phone for free.

- The pool is lovely and the sunloungers comfy

- Good value for money - we paid around $85 per night which was much cheaper than a lot of top end places in Bali.

Cons:

- As the hotel is actually in Pejeng (which is 15-20 min drive from Ubud) you have to keep getting taxis in and out of Ubud. If you buy any transfers or trips from Ubud, some of the time they refuse to pick you up and you have to get a taxi in first. The hotel charges 75,000 rupiah which is much more expensive than any taxis (cheapest was 40,000 rupiah but most likely it will be 50,000) we found on the street.

- The food (apart from breakfast) was pretty average and slightly overpriced. Because you're so far from Ubud, you have to add 100,000 (about £10) round trip to your dinner if you want to eat out. We found this a bit of a nightmare because if you're doing days out on trips you sometimes dont want to shlep all the way into town afterwards.

- The wifi is pretty poor, it goes on and off which is really frustrating

Room Tip: Weigh up rural location with Ubud town life
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espanol15, Manager at Bali Villa Ubud, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Dear Ruth and David,

first of all, thank you very much for your feedback. We feel really proud about the pros and about the cons we accept them and will help us to improve the quality of our facilities and services but we would like to clarify something about them.

1. On our website is labeled clearly our position and distance to Ubud which is exactly 5 km.
We offer three round-trip shuttle service completely free that taking into account the number of rooms available in Villa Ubud, just only 10, seems quite appropriate. In the case of needing another different time it is true that we charge Rp 75,000, that is something over 5 pounds and is more expensive than taxis but this is normal in all the hotels in the world. Taxis can get passengers in their way back to the taxi rank and for hotels is impossible since the car must return alone to the hotel.
We will modify our shuttle service schedules so we can better meet the needs of our guests.

2. Regarding the Internet problem, indeed, on Saturday 16 and Sunday 17 there were problems with WI-FI.We tried to repair the fault with two different technicians and the problem turned out to be the outdoor modem. Impossible to buy during the weekend and had to wait until next working day. At 11 am on Monday 18, the fault was rectified.

Sorry for that discomfort

We appreciate your comments and certainly will help us very much to improve every day
Bali Villa Ubud management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

I decided to go to Bali to make some order for my business in Europe. We wanted something a bit far away from Ubud so we could rest in the night time.
What really surprised us was to find out this extraordinary place. Surrounding by high trees and near to a deep ravine is where Bali Villa Ubud is situated.
We spent three incredible days having every day massage a Spa that I find unique due to its situation.
Staff is very friendly, meals are incredible tasty and the quality of sleeping is perfect.
I extremely recommend this places to those traveling to the island of Bali,.
Darius and Joan

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torremolinos
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Incredible paradise just 10 minuts from Ubud through wonderful paddi fields. In case you want to make a nice one hour walk you will get a memorable moment! Plenty of temples and breathtaking views.
The staff is so friendly... and always trying to make their best. Their English is enough.,
They have 3 shuttle cars to Ubud but in case that you need one car with a different time they will set a new timetable for you.
The restaurant in a hanging balcony specially in the night time is something that we cannot forget easily.
What to say about breakfast? Just perfect and much more than enough. One day my husband ate 4 fried eggs in the same breakfast and they did not charge at all. Wonderful!
The Spa just opposite to the rice fields are of super quality and the masseuses really professional.
No doubts! If you go to the center of the island of Bali do not misse Bali Villa Ubud?
Eva and Rafael

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We had an incredible time staying in Villa Ubud in March 2011. The service staff are friendly, very well versed in English and excellent in attending to our needs. The surroundings of the villa is very quiet and tranquil, perfect for travelers who want a place to relax and recharge. The rooms are all spacious, beautiful and well decorated! I would recommend other travelers to come experience this lovely place in Ubud and many thanks to the staff who made our stay just perfect and comfortable.

One thing to note is that the villa is pretty secluded and is about 10-15mins drive from Ubud centre. However, the villa provides airport transfer as well as a shuttle to the town 3 times a day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights after having found it on TripAdvisor and it was definite the best stay we could have hoped for in Ubud. Although it's a good 15 min ride from Ubud center, you will find yourself in a lush surrounding, and at an accomodation that reminded me of a Tuscan villa. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is stunning. One last note of advice, I would recommend getting your own transport, as paying 75000rp per ride to Ubud is somewhat steep.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Villa Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Villa Ubud

Address: Br. Pedapdapan | Jln ke-Cagaan 1, Pejeng, Ubud, Bali 80552, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 279 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bali Villa Ubud 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Ubud is situated in a very exclusive area close to Ubud and essentially quite. There is a sacred river surrounding the property and a direct access to wonderful verdant paddy fields. A very distinctive stone architecture gives a wonderful touch to the property. Jacuzzi, corporal and facial massage, trekking, cycle, motorbike, rafting, Balinese dancing and cooking classes are a few features to enjoy a perfect stay. Weddings and corporate events are welcome. None of other Bali villas for rent can give you this opportunity that interesting with friendly service like Bali Villa Ubud has to offer. Ubud's popularity has been long renowned by the world. Ubud is unique and that's what people like. Now, start planning your journey and make all your time in Ubud a great experience that will linger long in your memory. Now, start planning your journey and make all your time in Ubud a great experience that will linger long in your memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Bali Villa Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Villa Ubud Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Villa Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.