We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pignou di Penyu

Pignou di Penyu
Jl Goutama 5, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #317 of 426 Restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Phone: +62-361 972577
Daylesford
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stumbled upon this place past nomad & bar Luna. French onion soup, escargot, steak, mushroom omelette, meat pie, mushroom tart all to die for. Bintang, 2 bottles wine. All for <$A150 for 6 persons. Nice atmosphere on the portico, great photos, Madame tells an interesting story.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    22
    10
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wish we had kept on walking past”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Recently, we were walking down Jalan Gutama after a very pleasant drink at Bar Luna, and came across this restaurant. We were taken in by the promise of authentic french food from the faded menu out the front. Upon entering, the french owners were sitting at a table, and didn't even acknowledge our presence, just kept talking in french to their friends. The wait staff did a good job, but the atmosphere was awful, we were the only diners, ignored by the owners, it felt a little creepy. The whole place looks tired. The entree was inedible, it smelt awful and tasted even worse. The main course of grilled chicken was only marginally better, a small piece of dried up chicken with no flavour whatsoever and some cheesy potatoes, very ordinary. The worse thing though, was the rudeness of the owners, who, even when we left didn't even say goodbye. We couldn't wait to leave, it spoilt our night out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont-Tremblant
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great french restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have been many times every year for the last 10 years and we have been always very happy with the food ( except once ) ...we didn't eat indonesian food but mainly french food as it is a french restaurant...ratatouille , gratin dauphinois , frog legs ,pissaladieres , salads (excellent vinaigrette ) , and so many others ...we enjoyed the food and the place ( very quiet & very confortable )...the restaurant is situated in a very small street but very central ...the prices are reasonable and all the food are home made ...we couldn't find this type and quality of food in Ubud for this price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in Ubud 6 nights and went to this restaurant several times! The food is great, cheap, the wine is also good and cheap.
The staff is very friendly.
The restaurant is clean and quiet.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing French food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I have eaten here on three occasions and only one meal was palatable and that was lumpia which was fresh and crisp but then it should be as it is a local dish.
I was unable to eat the meal I was served on the last occasion which was advertised as a special - beef pie with special sauce. The pastry was not cooked and the meat dry and tasteless and no sign of any sauce at all. It had obviously been reheated in the micro wave which is a disaster for pastry and I suspect this dish had spent some time in the freezer beforehand
The menu is huge and it would be impossible to serve many of the dishes unless they had come out of the freezer. I love French food but this tired restaurant is a poor advertisement for that great cuisine
And the mark up on the local beer was ridiculous

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pignou di Penyu also viewed

 

Been to Pignou di Penyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pignou di Penyu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.