We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms but very tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of FuramaXclusive Villas & Spa

Save Saved
You added FuramaXclusive Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
FuramaXclusive Villas & Spa
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   8 Jalan Melati | Banjar Bindu, Mambal, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
EXTRA 10% OFF + FREE WIFI
Ranked #79 of 289 Ubud B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms but very tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are looking for a 4.5* hotel - unfortunately this is not it. We couldn't fault the room, it was large and exactly as shown on their website, however what you don't see is the how tired they are. The bedding was thin, as were the towels and robes. We love a cup of tea, however after the first day, these were never replenished. Our kettle didn't work on arrival so we were given a second one which also didn't work - thank goodness for travel kettles! The furniture was chipped, the bath stained and there was no privacy in the bathroom. For the other people out there like me who treasure their privacy this is not the place to stay. There are floor to ceiling windows in the bathroom (and toilet) that overlook a private plunge pool, however there is also a door that leads to the main swimming pool that was constantly open which meant either an employee or another guest could wander in and you had no place to hide. If you open your curtains in the bedroom you can see straight into the toilet and shower!
Our air conditioning broke down (which they promptly fixed) however it was after suffering a terrible nights sleep. They also turn your air off when you are out, so you come back to a really hot room.
Breakfast was very limited and not great quality except for the bread and egg station, there was little else to choose with the exception of an asian breakfast. We arrived at 10.30am one morning (it finishes at 11am) and nothing was replenished, warm milk (choice of two cereals) and virtually no fruit.
The hotel is 25 minutes out of Ubud, however there are only 5 shuttles a day (which you have to book) so unless you are happy to wait around until the next bus comes, you have to get a taxi to take you back and forth. More shuttles are definitely needed.
We left the hotel a day prior to our departure date so we could treat ourselves to a little luxury before going home.
If you are after a bargain and are happy with a 3.5* experience, then there is absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel. The staff are pleasant (except in the breakfast area where they don't seem to care after they have brought your coffee) and acknowledge you wherever you go, the rooms are clean and the resort (whilst having a limited offer) is well maintained.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed in one of the four Spa Pool Villas. Beautiful traditional style with own pool. Staff here are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. Shuttle is available to run you into Ubud town and the slightly rural location amongst a traditional village and paddy fields was fantastic. The only choice for meals is at the hotel or else travel into Ubud. Meals were a but hit and miss - some nights good, others not so good. Overall we loved staying here and will be back again. Suggest you ask them to book Mr David who lives beside the hotel. He has been a driver for 24 years and is fantastic to show you the sights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Beautiful Villas, very well equipped, its really like having your own house for a few days, private and quiet. The resort is NOT in central UBUD, its actually a 20 minute drive away, its actually in the middle of no where so bare that in mind. This place is ultra relaxing, not the kinda place you should book if you wanna be out and about doing stuff all the time, more of a check in, chill out place. They do have a free shuttle to central Ubud and back, but a taxi is cheap anyway. Breakfast is good, lots of choice, didn't try dinner at the hotel as there is so much to choose from in Ubud.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The villas are well designed; good size with nice furnishings. They are a little tired and shabby in parts though and could do with a lick of paint and a tidy. Also beware that half the villas don't get any sun on their decks for most of the day (those on the 'FX' lawn side) so I would request being the opposite side.

The staff are friendly and eager to please although the service isn't great. Often requests need to be made a couple of times or you might be left for a long time in the bar areas waiting to be served etc.

The pool bar is frankly bizarre as it doesn't stock any drinks! Any requests (when staff are there - often it's abandoned) take 10 minutes as the drinks are brought over from the main area.

Food in the restaurant is pretty good although incredibly over priced for Bali as is the case with the drinks.

Beware the spa - my wife had a 2 hour experience that only lasted 90 minutes. I brought this matter to the attention of the manager who said he would look into it and resolve the issue but unfortunately he didn't bother to come back to me or reply to my subsequent message. Again, as for the food and beverages, it is already incredibly overpriced compared to other similar places in Bali. They definitely take advantage of the fact that you are in a fairly remote location and the experience left me feeling they try and rip you off whenever they can.

Overall it was ok and has a lot of potential but I think it could be a lot better with stronger management.

Room Tip: Choose a villa on the opposite side to the FX lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here for five nights, two nights in the lagoon room and three in pool spa villa. Personally we preferred the lagoon villa room even though you pay more for the pool spa villa. Both villas were amazing. Staff are beyond friendly and the whole place is just beautiful. Prices are a bit expensive compared to Bali in general, however the food is incredible and generous portions. 24 hour room service, free shuttles to Ubuntu which run approx every two hours. Didn't feel like leaving the resort it is so wonderful!

Room Tip: I recommend the lagoon villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

not sure where to start but I am not new to hotels - me and my partner stayed at the hotels 60-90 nights per years travelling around the world. (mostly 4-5 stars)

But up to this day, when someone asked us - where is the best hotel we had ever been to
I am happy to say "Furama Xclusive" is the best hotel we ever stayed.

This hotel is in the middle of nowhere but for some reason it's work!

Location: far from ubud town but complimentary shuttle bus provided by the hotel
Room:huge room, massive bathroom, his and her closet, double basin, outdoor - indoor seating area and access to 70meter lagoon pool from your villa
Breakfast: nice selection, plenty of selection to choose from (both asian items and westerner)
Service: The staff totally polite and friendly.

If you are looking for a totally relaxation, romantic and luxurious holidays. Then this place is for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is our first trip to Bali and we choose to stay 2 nights in Ubud at FuramaXclusive after looking through reviews and forums. We manage to book the villa at 50% off from their website and the villa did not disappoint us at all. We were met by hotel representative, Suki, promptly on arrival at airport. Nice clean car took us to the villa which is an hour drive away. Suki is very friendly and introduce some of the places along the way. Villa is located quite deep in along a small narrow lane, difficult to travel out at night, but they do provide schedule shuttle service to Ubud centre until 17:00. Staff were very friendly and polite upon our arrival. The afternoon tea served at their cafe was nice.
The villa is enclosed by panels of full glass windows and very conducive and romantic. There is also a couple bathtub. A shallow pool for kids is available in our villa and this pool leads to the bigger 1m lagoon pool common share with other villas. My husband had an enjoyable swim in the lagoon pool while I laze and read at our own deck.
Breakfast was ok, but variety is limited. We had our dinner using the in-room service, the wedges & Tom yam soup were bagus. Prices a little steeper than in seminyak.
Villas surround a small rice field which was interesting, however, they were burning some part of the field during our stay and we felt the air very choking during the evening and early morning. Apart from this, the hotel might wish to consider to provide residents will more drinking water. Given that it is not easy to travel out and with just two 300ml per day is not enough. Can provide dispensing water in each villa like those in seminyak.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to FuramaXclusive Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FuramaXclusive Villas & Spa

Address: 8 Jalan Melati | Banjar Bindu, Mambal, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 289 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — FuramaXclusive Villas & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the tranquility of lush padi fields, the FuramaXclusive Villas & Spa Ubud is an idyllic resort that blends contemporary chic with a minimalist touch. The FuramaXclusive Villas & Spa Ubud showcases 18 stylish modern villas on a magnificent 70-metre lagoon. Whether you select our Lagoon Pool Villa or our Spa Pool Villa, be ready for a placid experience in Ubud. Housed amid the tranquility of padi fields, sun-decks await with options of a personal outdoor whirlpool bathtub as well as a dedicated spa therapy area. Now, that's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, AsiaRooms, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Tingo so you can book your FuramaXclusive Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
FuramaXclusive Villas & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FuramaXclusive Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.