We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, value for money, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guest House Kudos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Guest House Kudos to your Saves list
Guest House Kudos
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Jalan Suweta | Bentuyung Ubud, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 280 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean, value for money, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We couldn't be happier with our stay in Kudos guesthouse in Ubud. We were looking for a place with a reasonable price (under 400,000 rupiah/$40 per night) during the high summer season, but found other guest houses in town to be fully booked or too expensive.

The most important criteria we had for a guesthouse was cleanliness, and Kudos certainly met that. The bathroom and spacious rooms were well cleaned everyday. Ani was very helpful and friendly and speaks great english. Her dog, Amo, was so fun to play with. She can also arrange a car rental for day trips. The breakfast was fine and met the standard for Bali--eggs/pancake.

Kudos is 20-25 minute walk from town through rice fields. The walk is not too taxing even after a full day of walking. Once, we took a taxi back at night and paid 30,000 for 5 people. Its location away from town offered us serene and beautiful countryside surroundings. You can hear the frogs, crickets and ducks, which added to the charm of the place. Although, once you are back at the hotel, the food options are limited. We ate at restaurant called Bintang that sells pretty decent indonesian and japanese food.

Overall, we were delighted at our stay in Kudos and recommend it to anyone who's going to Ubud on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
19
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The rooms were not as nice as we had expected and the swimming pool which is advertised is not within the hotel compound but about 150 meters down the road which means that we never used it. However, the place is very clean and the staff is so nice and helpful that it made the experience very pleasant. They helped us to rent scooters, held out suitcases until we left late at night and were generally very relaxed!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We spent 5 nights here end of July and that entitled us to a free airport pick up - well worth having as the taxi back was 250K Rupiah, fairly expensive for Bali. Price was reasonable since although a small establishment (6 rooms) the facilities and quality of accommodation were excellent as were the views of the surrounding rice paddy fields. we loved the traditional dance shows in the area and the incredibly romantic restaurants and bars tucked away in unexpected places. It is deep in the countryside so don't be surprised to get woken by cock a doodle doo!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

It was the best hotel we stayed in Bali. Very friendly, polite and helpful staff - thank you for beeing so to every guest. Nice spacious room with AC, TV with english channels, kettle with tea or coffee, water, refrigirator. Good view to the rice fields when you eat breakfast outside in the morning. The location is a bit far from centre, but you can rent scooter in very good condition directly from the guesthouse for 50.000. The swimming pool is not directly on the facility grounds but in closeby partner guest house.
We really enjoyed our stay here and certainly will come here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Guest House Kudos is situated amongst rice paddies, homes and other hotels, just 2km from Ubud Central. The 2km walk was down hill to town and was pleasant; however its possible to get a ride on the back of a scooter for INR$20 000.00, if you are feeling a bit lazy or tired.

This small guest house has only four staff who were all very friendly and helpful. I congratulate them on this performance.

Note the pool in the pictures isn't at Kudos but just a short 300 m stroll to another hotel it's shared with Kudos and is an excellent facility to relax at.

There are a few restaurants and other hotels to dine at in close proximity to Kudos and it's also possible to order take away food delivered to Kudos.

Value for money is awesome at Kudos but if you want to be in the middle of Ubud this venue isn't for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Definately a place to stay! Value for money! Staff ar SUPER friendly! Enjoyed our stay there to the max! The staff there would go out of thier way to make u feel like a real guest. We want to Bali with no definitive plan on what to do once we got there. They helped us plan each and everyday for us. They got us a driver to take us around. They rented us thier scooter when ever we wanted it! They made sure our stay was super! Would definately go back. The first day I got there the toilet was leaking. After making the complaint, it was repaired in no time.

The only downside of it is that it's abit far from the beaches. And occasionally the bed sheets would smell.. However, they would clean ur room for you sparkling and would change the sheets for you if you didnt like em.

Ask for Wayan to drive you around. Price is not too bad. Comfort is great being driven around. They have 2 Wayan's there, one speaks Japaneese well and english fair, the other speaks english well. We went with both equally, just to be fair to both of them. The english speaking Wayan is a good tour guide though.

Hope u stay here too and enjoy it as much as we did

PS: Room was great, bathroom clean with a tub and shower. No culture shocks experienced! There's a paddy field in the back garden. Good view while having breakfast. Reasonable speed WiFi and enough channels on TV

Ashfaaq & Gita

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekanbaru, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

great staff,, great room,, superb experience... very recommended... ^^

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guest House Kudos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Kudos

Address: Jalan Suweta | Bentuyung Ubud, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 280 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guest House Kudos 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house Kudos is located in an area which is regarded as the cultural centre of Bali. This area is famous as an arts and crafts hub. The town and nearby villages consist of countless artists' workshops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Guest House Kudos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest House Kudos Hotel Ubud
Guest House Kudos Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest House Kudos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.