We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the one I meant .....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Samaya Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Samaya Bali to your Saves list
The Samaya Bali
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Banjar Baung,Desa Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 126 Hotels in Ubud
Tunis, Tunisia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“This is the one I meant .....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Earlier in the year I was in Ubud, and although I stayed at The Samaya, in error I reviewed a hotel with a rather similar name. I can't say whether the one I didn't stay at is up to the rating I accidentally gave it, but The Samaya is really superb. I could only stay one night but it was absolutely perfect and is easily one of the best hotels I have ever visited. Go to The Samaya for the view, the food, the rooms, it's a little bit of paradise!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    44
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
95
497
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Excellent place .. I was really happy and I took a package where I spent 2 nights in ubud and 4 nights in seminyak... next time I should stay at least 3 nights. I wish hotel can provide halal food this is my only drawback and I always look at the pictures I have taken there

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We needed a rest, recharge and without fuss, we got exactly this from airport pickup, checkin, meals, solitary, service, spa, villas and staff are all super special. You know when a stay is truly perfect when you think of little points that aren't so good like the iPod doc doesn't suit my iPhone 5, yes I can only think of stupid little things it's that good. We had a week here but anything from 3 days plus is worthy I can highly recommend the 4 hand massage at the spa and any of the dishes on the menu.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meopham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

They say Heaven is a place on earth well we found it, fantastic holiday in everyway, villa, food, cocktails all perfect, so relaxing peaceful and quiet will not fail to disappoint did not want to leave highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I spent a fair bit of time researching accommodation in Ubud and am pleased to say that the Samaya exceeded my expectations. The Samaya is a mixture of luxury and genuine hospitality – it really does feel like a home away from home. I have travelled quite a bit and found the staff at the Samaya to be very extremely genuine and friendly – nothing was a bother and they were happy to attend to any request.
It is a stunning resort, the gardens and the grounds are beautiful and lush. We were upgrade to a two bedroom villa with a huge pool – absolute privacy.

The Spa is first class – we were provided 2 complimentary massages which my partner and I wished would not end.

I was concerned when I realised the resort was about 20 minutes from Ubud town but the shuttle which felt more like a private chauffeur was available on request – whether to sightsee or eat at a local restaurant.

I can't recommend The Samaya enough, if you are a couple who want to spend some down-time, this is the place to do it – very romantic!

We Loved it and will definately be back

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Having spent a week at swanky Fullerton hotel in Singapore where we were lecturing my husband , baby girl and i went on a break to The Samaya in Ubud. We had visited the Samaya in Seminyak last year and loved it. This is just as beautiful but so different from anywhere else. From the moment you enter the property you feel instantly relaxed, maybe because the whole area is serene, quiet and the air is filled with the sounds of birds and the smell od frangipani.
The river Ayung is running right throught the property and the spa and pool are right next to it.
It is magical in a truly 'understated luxury' way.The hotel is not flashy, it isnt glosssy, it is not superficial and it does not provide service which is 'in your face'. It offers genuine understated good quality. The staff are genuine, professional and very warm.
The restaurant mamnager Putu and all his staff were so lovely while offerring great quality gourmet food, they also took care of our toddler, giving us a welcome break while they took her to feed the fish.. They made us feel as friends. And we will miss them.
The villa we had has a great view of rice fields from the gazebo and that was the best feature, we loved sitting there in the afternoon listening to the weird and wonderful sounds various birds and frogs made..
Each villa has a pool which is 1,8 metres deep, I do feel they should rethink the safety issue here- especially if the resort is to be branded family friendly. They would need to make the pools less deep, no more than 1,4 metres,in my opinion. For us they fenced the pool off which worked well with the toddler, couldnt do it otherwise.
The spa is amazing. The location is stunning, right next to the river, and the treatment rooms overlook the river. The manager Diane is extremely professional as well as friendly and ince again she went the extra mile and gave our girl a massage, she is still talking of her baby massage.
My Balinese massage was sublime, loved it and slept through most of it...,
The quality of the food is fantastic, the breakfast is really special, all a la carte with fresh fruit, freshly baked croissants and eggs prepared to perfection. Coffee great too. I am a discerning guest and am the kind to send my coffee back at any hint of it not being right.. Their macchiato was fab!
The afternoon tea was special and also complimentary.
So was transport into and around Ubud, I did appreciate this as Ubud was buzzy, hot and full of people offering TAXI in your face. It felt great being fetched between shops, spa, etc by your own driver in a lovely clean airconditioned car.
We will return gladly.

Room Tip: River view or rice fields view but all are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

As everyone before me has commented, this is a VERY special little gem of a resort hotel just outside of Ubud. We stayed in the south the week before and the staff was lovely, but the service provided at Samaya Ubud had unequalled heart and authenticity, I literally cried when I had to say goodbye to the managers, waitresses, and other staff members. I became ill the 2nd day, and the concern and care expressed by staff was something you'd only expect from close friends or family, who could ask for more on vacation? At times we didn't want to leave the villa or the resort grounds, as this peaceful retreat lulled us through each day. The food was outstanding, and we would often arrange our days to be back for high tea, which was not something we've experienced before..and it was wonderful. In our 25+ years of travel to over 20 countries, I must say this is our most favorite hotel in the world! I'm missing Samaya Ubud so much, and hope to go back there some day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Samaya Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali

Address: Banjar Baung,Desa Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#1 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#7 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacularly located amid the rice fields and verdant hillsides of Bali's lush interior lies The Samaya Ubud, a harmonious blend of cutting - edge design and lavish comfort. Each of the resort's tastefully appointed one-two-and three bedroom villas features a private swimming pool, king-size bed, spacious bathroom, and a host of luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Samaya Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Samaya Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.