We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Balinese hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Samaya Bali

Save Saved
You added The Samaya Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Samaya Bali
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Banjar Baung,Desa Sayan- Ubud, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
❤ Honeymoon in Paradise ❤
Ranked #1 of 119 hotels in Ubud
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best of Balinese hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The staff at Samaya were amazing - unfailingly courteous, helpful and friendly. We especially appreciated the way they continued to make us feel welcome after checking out and needing to spend 4 hours before our late flight out of Bali. The property itself has a stunning location away from the commercial heart of Ubud. Swept away the restaurant by the river had some of the best food we ate in all our time in Bali. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    585
    39
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
84
440
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband & I stayed at the Samaya in Ubud as part of our honeymoon. The staff at the Samaya were so lovely to us. They made a big fuss of our honeymoon with flowers, a honeymoon cake, drinks & rose petals on the door mat & in the bath on arrival. They were all so friendly & nothing was too much trouble. Our villa with private pool overlooked the river & was absolutely gorgeous. It was a huge space with a very big bathroom, lovely pool & day bed in the garden. Absolutely perfect! On the first night we had a romantic dinner at the restaurant. The breakfasts were delicious. The samaya organised a wonderful cooking class for me which started with a trip to the good markets in the morning. It was followed by a 2 hour cooking class & then we could eat the good we made for lunch - delicious! I highly recommend doing this class as it was such fun & I learnt so much. We loved our 3 night stay at the samaya & hope to return one day. Thank you for a lovely honeymoon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

one of the existing villa in ubud area, thank you very much for your service. Staff were very friendly, very good eating. And most importantly, a very nice place, far from the noise of the city.We will not hesitate to give good value to the villa, and we would definitely recommend to friends friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great place, great staff. We'd go again for sure. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. The location was great and the kids had a ball. Breakfast was average but good enough to keep you going all day.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Samaya is one of the best experience one can ever have. It is a must-stay resort at Ubud Bali. The team is more than friendly and all they care about is the relaxation of the residents. The Spa is a necessity for anyone staying at the Samaya. The food is delicious and tasty... In a nutshell, the Samaya experience is just perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed 4 nights, really enjoyable. The villas are very private, quiet and relaxing. The food at Swept Away restaurant was excellent, as was the breakfast at Scene.

The location is wonderful, outside the bustle of Ubud, but close enough to get in via free shuttle if you wish. We had a great walk through the rice paddies with one of the staff.

The spa was excellent as well.

Everybody was very friendly.

Room Tip: I don't think you'd go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My partner and I chose to stay at Samaya on the Taste of Bali and stayed 3 nights in Ubud and 4 in Seminyak.

We both work in hospitality and can be hard to please... The Samaya Ubud exceeded our expectations and then some.

Our greeting at the airport was warm, friendly and after our trip we were anxious to get to Ubud... Once we arrived we were blown away with the greeting, the room show and our villa itself. The villa was everything and more.

We dined at the Swept away twice for dinner and the food was amazing, we tried both the western and indonesian and couldn't fault any - some of the best meals we had were here.

We had 2 spa treatments and the girls were lovely, the treatment was relaxing.

A highlight was the cooking tour with Ketut, whilst there are many cooking class options you can do in Ubud and we thought about doing them. We chose to do the Samaya Cooking Class and we were not disappointed, it helped maybe that no one else had chosen to do the class and it was like our own private tutorial with Ketut! A market tour and then a ridiculous 6 courses later we rolled out of there happy and with desire to cook more indonesian.

We found the transfer service really helpful and even though Samaya is a little away from "downtown ubud" it ' impact our stay.

A review of Samaya Ubud would not be complete without mentioning the staff. Every single staff member we came across knew our names, they were friendly, helpful and gave us a wonderful greeting to Balinese Hospitality.

This was without a doubt the best part of our holiday and we hope to return to Samaya Ubud again it was just so damn good!

Room Tip: Don't get too caught up with what is the "best" - the rooms are fantastic and encourag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Samaya Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali

Address: Banjar Baung,Desa Sayan- Ubud, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#1 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#7 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacularly located amid the rice fields and verdant hillsides of Bali's lush interior lies The Samaya Ubud, a harmonious blend of cutting - edge design and lavish comfort. Each of the resort's tastefully appointed one-two-and three bedroom villas features a private swimming pool, king-size bed, spacious bathroom, and a host of luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Samaya Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Samaya Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;