We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Samaya Bali

Save Saved
You added The Samaya Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Samaya Bali
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Banjar Baung,Desa Sayan- Ubud, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
❤ Honeymoon in Paradise ❤
Ranked #1 of 119 hotels in Ubud
1 review
“Perfect holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The resort is new, modern & set amongst beautiful trees & plants. The service was outstanding, very personal, friendly & everyone addressed us by name. Each morning for breakfast we received a newspaper in our language summarizing the main events. The food was absolutely delicious, especially the seafood bbq. Perhaps not very cheap but you'd expect that from any 5 star restaurant. It was a perfectly relaxing 3 day stay, enjoying wonderful massages & hanging out at our private pool. We'd recommend this resort to anyone looking to relax, winding down from busy work life and experiencing something special.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    575
    39
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
81
432
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved the Samaya.
We arrived late in the evening and met by Wayan the manager. We were taken straight to our villa and much appreciated their understanding that we were very tired and they arranged our tour of the resort for the following morning. Our Hillside Villa was awesome. Spacious living area huge bathroom beautiful garden with flowers and trees with table and chairs 2 sun loungers with wonderful thick padded cushion and a Bale. Our swimming pool was not just a plunge pool it was great for swimming and so very private it was not overlooked at all. It was a difficult decision whether to have breakfast delivered to our pool or whether to have it overlooking the most panoramic view of the rice fields. You really have to do both. Great choices at breakfast and we had dinner at Swept Away on the river. Again great menu and beautiful tranquil setting.
The resort is set on the side of the hill and is very steep but there are buggies that will transport you the moment you call your butler and a buggy arrives immediately. The Hillside Villas are walking distance from breakfast and reception but it was also great to walk down to the river and then call a buggy to bring us back up!
But most important of all was the quality of service and the friendliness of the staff. Whatever you need or want is never a problem. You just make a phone call and instantly everything is taken care of. The moment you leave your villa for breakfast someone is there to clean your room and pool and on your return your Villa is absolutely spotless again. There is a shuttle which will take you into Ubud and collect you throughout the day and evening. Although it would be so easy to stay and you will never want to leave your villa you really should take advantage of this.
We did the walk through the rice fields arranged by the hotel and this is a real must do. So very informative and easy walking and such a delight to see real Bali life.
Although the Spa room has a beautiful view out to the river and the massage was good the Spa Reception was rather disappointing. It is not very private or conducive to relaxation as you sip your ginger tea after your massage as it is by the entrance to the gym and main swimming pool. Although the pool is small and not many people use it as you have your own pool we were unlucky to have a screaming child using it which we could hear throughout our massage. Not the fault of the hotel but not very tranquil or relaxing!
You will truly never want to leave you must visit and appreciate for yourselves.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My parents and I went on a trip to Bali to celebrate their 80th. I was a little worried about how they would manage, but we really picked the right place. The hotel is in a beautiful location and you could spend a few days just walking the grounds. They have golf carts that shuttle you around if walking is difficult (this was key for us). The food was fantastic and the private pool was just perfect for us.

For those of you debating between Ubud and the beach, we stopped by the beach too. It was beautiful and fantastic, but for us one day was enough. The beachfront hotels do not have big grounds you can enjoy (they're on the beach - so you just relax on the beach). To the extent that you want some variety on views, activities, we found the countryside to offer more of that.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a private pool. I believe some of the riverfront rooms also have views. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

If you enjoy being pampered and spoilt then this is the place for you! Amazing private villas with all the luxuries you could want- private pool, Jacuzzi bath and gazebo for outdoor dining. The food in the hotel is absolutely delicious with a fantastic daily afternoon tea service too.

There are golf buggies to take you around the complex and a personal shuttle service that will take you, door to door, into ubud centre so you need not even walk much during your stay.

Only cons would be that you do not see much of the other people staying there as everyone tends to stay within their own villa so can feel quite quiet in the hotel. Another would be the location as there isn't much within walking distance but aside from that there isn't anything I can fault the hotel on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Finally got time to write this review.

In February I proposed to my now fiance on valentines day at a romantic in villa candle light dinner which was arranged on the day.

We loved everything about our stay, the villa was spacious and very clean (the cleanest place i have seen in Bali) and the scenery and location was amazing.
My fiance is a medically diagnosed cealiac (gluten free) and the staff made all their efforts to ensure that her dinner and the private pool side breakfast was gluten free. They even made her her own gluten free bread.

Everything was personalized to us and we definitely felt we were their special guests.

This was our 7th trip to Bali and this was our first stay at The Samaya Ubud.

The staff are very happy and willing to help the only con i can say about The Samaya was some of the staff are not the best with english and they are really positive and really want to help make your stay an enjoyable one and try to learn ( this was rare though, and the managers are fluent and so will attempt to resolve any difficulties).

Every time we arrived Back at The Samaya we were greeted by the manager who made us feel so special as they always knew exactly who we were even though we hadn't met them yet.

It was the perfect place to propose, Thank you Samaya

Room Tip: ours was a hill side villa but when we walked around, every room looked amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stop looking!... this is the place you are looking for and everything that has been said before about Samaya Ubud is spot on.

Thinking of the romantic dinner down by the river? Just book it as it will be embedded in your memory forever.

The staff are magic and really go out of their way to please their guests just one example of their wonderful service .....we were going into town for dinner and mentioned to the suttle bus driver that we also were going after dinner to The Royal Palace for a dance performance and our driver said ok I will drop you at your restaurant and then go and buy your tickets and bring them back to you at your restaurant..... now that is service and always with a smile.

Big thankyou to all staff X

Room Tip: We loved Villa 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel was absolute paradise! There is no doubt that the Samaya chain of hotels is the way to go in Bali. The staff was attentive and professional and the villa was stunning. It was such a treat to hear the roaring river every day and to have our own private pool just two steps away. The daily tea service was something we looked forward to every day. Be sure to book the bike tour with the hotel for a wonderful insight on daily life in Bali. We rode on bumpy dirt roads through humble villages and fields of coconut, pineapple, and papaya; saw old women bathing and doing laundry in the river; and of course rode through the multi-tiered rice paddy, sweet potato, corn, and tapioca fields that Ubud is known for. It is impossible not to be impressed with this hotel and this region in general.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Samaya Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali

Address: Banjar Baung,Desa Sayan- Ubud, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#7 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacularly located amid the rice fields and verdant hillsides of Bali's lush interior lies The Samaya Ubud, a harmonious blend of cutting - edge design and lavish comfort. Each of the resort's tastefully appointed one-two-and three bedroom villas features a private swimming pool, king-size bed, spacious bathroom, and a host of luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Samaya Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Samaya Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.