We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"This is the place"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Samaya Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Samaya Bali to your Saves list
The Samaya Bali
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Banjar Baung,Desa Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 126 Hotels in Ubud
australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"This is the place"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stop looking!... this is the place you are looking for and everything that has been said before about Samaya Ubud is spot on.

Thinking of the romantic dinner down by the river? Just book it as it will be embedded in your memory forever.

The staff are magic and really go out of their way to please their guests just one example of their wonderful service .....we were going into town for dinner and mentioned to the suttle bus driver that we also were going after dinner to The Royal Palace for a dance performance and our driver said ok I will drop you at your restaurant and then go and buy your tickets and bring them back to you at your restaurant..... now that is service and always with a smile.

Big thankyou to all staff X

Room Tip: We loved Villa 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    44
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
94
496
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel was absolute paradise! There is no doubt that the Samaya chain of hotels is the way to go in Bali. The staff was attentive and professional and the villa was stunning. It was such a treat to hear the roaring river every day and to have our own private pool just two steps away. The daily tea service was something we looked forward to every day. Be sure to book the bike tour with the hotel for a wonderful insight on daily life in Bali. We rode on bumpy dirt roads through humble villages and fields of coconut, pineapple, and papaya; saw old women bathing and doing laundry in the river; and of course rode through the multi-tiered rice paddy, sweet potato, corn, and tapioca fields that Ubud is known for. It is impossible not to be impressed with this hotel and this region in general.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have just returned from 7 days staying at The Samaya in Ubud, Bali. We had a really great time, The Samaya was fantastic in every way. The service was always high quality. The staff were always very friendly and helpful and made our stay very memorable. The villa we stayed in was always very clean, very private and well looked after. Breakfast was excellent, overlooking the rice fields and mountains. We also ate at the Swept Away Restaurant which was fabulous. The massage, pedicure and manicure were also a great treat. We would always go back and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just left from staying two nights in this wonderful hotel. We were in a villa next to the river. The location is very beautiful and relaxing. The staff is very welcoming and really do everything to make your stay as wonderful as possible.
There are constant shuttles to Ubud, just ask one hour in advance, and they will pick you back up at your requested time.
I highly recommend this hotel, it was clean, the food was great (the breakfast absolutely amazing with a spectacular view) and the service more than you could ask for.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

The place is good for couple gateaway, not really for family with kids. Minimum signal and contact from outside world are perfect although WiFi is provided. Staff are very friendly and love to get to know their guests closer. Jogger will love their nature track and gym. Couple must book the hundreds candles dinner by the river; it's very romantic and the romance maximises by the staff throwing a small surprise at the end of the dinner. On the down side, some smudge on tiles can be fixed and ants are sometimes seen in the room. Overall, the experience was magical and will be definitely repeated.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We are well travelled and we absolutely love this place. The experience is amazing. The villas are very private on the rivers edge with your own pool. The restaurant is fabulous but you can have breakfast served to you in your villa. There is a separate pool where there is also spa and massage villas. The massage can't be beaten. But in the end, you come to the Samaya for the people who make you feel special and a huge thanks to them and we look forward to seeing them again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Everything about The Samaya is just amazing. We stayed there for 10 days an enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff was really amazing. The free shuttle service was really nice to explorer Ubud and the surronding areas and all our wishes were instantly fulfilled. The Villa itself was beatifull and quite with an amazing 1.8m deep pool. The inclusive Tea Time deserves a special Mention. Breakfast was the best i ever had in a hotel. The food in the swept away is amazing but at european prices. Wine is too expansive but this is mainly because of the taxes. But i recommend to try it at least once. We also tried the Spa at the hotel and were first suprised about the realy high prices compared to the Ubud Center. BUT it is realy worth its price.You get a great relaxing threatment frm professional trained employees So try it. All in all The Samaya Ubud is the perfect stay if you are searching for quiet peaceful location at highest standarts.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Samaya Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali

Address: Banjar Baung,Desa Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#7 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacularly located amid the rice fields and verdant hillsides of Bali's lush interior lies The Samaya Ubud, a harmonious blend of cutting - edge design and lavish comfort. Each of the resort's tastefully appointed one-two-and three bedroom villas features a private swimming pool, king-size bed, spacious bathroom, and a host of luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Samaya Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Samaya Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.