We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream of luxury and relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Samaya Bali

Save Saved
You added The Samaya Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Samaya Bali
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Banjar Baung,Desa Sayan- Ubud, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
❤ Honeymoon in Paradise ❤
Ranked #1 of 119 hotels in Ubud
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A dream of luxury and relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were just amazed about this place. You can not call it a hotel. It is more... The design of the whole place, the dimension, intimacy and luxury of the room and own garden. And above all, the staff. I work myself in a hotel and know how hard that job can be, but I could see that these people love what they do. Especially our butler who's name I sadly forgot. This was our honeymoon
Thank you!!!

Room Tip: All the villas are very intimate. No one can see you and you can only hear the insects, geckos, wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    596
    40
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
87
447
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I miss The Samaya Ubud! Imagine sleeping at night to the sounds of cicadas and waking up to the soft distant crowings of roosters.

My hubby and I recently stayed there from the 9 Nov to 12 Nov, for our 5th Wedding Anniversary and we are so glad that we chose The Samaya to spend our anniversary. This is not our first time staying in Ubud, Bali. The Samaya represents what good Balinese hospitality is about. On our arrival, we were picked up by the hotel airport transfer (complimentary) and whisked off to the hotel in comfort. Chilled bottles of mineral water, strawberries and some snacks were provided during our ride. At the hotel reception, we were warmly greeted and Wayan, the hotel manager, was so kind to give us a complimentary upgrade to their largest villa with a huge pool and a gazebo (where we often had our complimentary afternoon tea). YES! They provide daily afternoon tea and you can opt to have it in your villa or at the Swept Away restaurant with the gushing river.

The staff obviously took pride in their jobs with their enthusiasm in introducing the facilities, restaurants and activities to do. We were driven around in a buggy to view the hotel compound and get ourselves familiarized.

We made a reservation for our anniversary dinner at their highly rated Swept Away restaurant right away, opting for the Romantic Candlelight dinner. Please also see our other review on the Swept Away.

If you think that there is nothing to do while staying here, then you are mistaken! The Samaya has so many activities to choose from that we think that we should have stayed longer! They have cooking lessons where you go shopping with the Chef early in the morning at their local market. Cooking starts at around 10am and ends slightly after noon where you then dine on what you have just prepared for lunch. There is so much food that it is important not to overeat for breakfast (which is really hard as their breakfast is really good!). For the outdoorsy guests, they have trekking and cycling. In addition, for guests who would like to make trips to Ubud central for shopping and dining, the hotel provides flexible and complimentary transport. Please note that not all hotels in Ubud provide that. In fact, most of them charge a fee and have stipulated timings and they do not do pick up after certain time.

All in all, we really got pampered silly by the staff at The Samaya. They really spare no expense in making you feel at home. What I really love about the hotel apart from their excellent service, are their green efforts and the fact that they are a very inclusive hotel. As the hotel is nestled right in the middle of small villages, villagers often walk into the hotel compound to fetch spring water. We like that the fact that they continue to allow these people to have access and the children to go swim in the river. You do not have to worry about them being intrusive cos during our entire stay, the villagers would just quietly come by, fill up their water vessel and leave. Children are often accompanied by their parents and do not go to places where they may disturb the guests.

Thank you Samaya for the wonderful hospitality and great services! We will definitely be returning! :)

Huge Love,
Your satisfied guests from Singapore

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at The Samaya Ubud for 3 nights early November 2012 to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Reading several travel guides about things to do in Bali, visiting Ubud was a must in all of them hence we decided to book a hotel & explore the area. Having stayed in Nusa Dua for 6 nights earlier on this trip, we believed it couldn't get any better & were tempted to change our travel plans - how wrong were we.
We arrived at the Samaya Ubud late afternoon and received the warmest welcome by the reception team & the amazing views across to the valley to the paddy fields - breath taking! Our battler took us to our villa in a golf buggy to show us around and start the most hassle free check in process.
Well...the villa was AMAZING. We are really picky - our travel policy is no matter what room you get, always call to ask for a better one - in this instance there was no need nor desire to do so, words are not enough to describe the place - it was a luxurious sanctuary, a haven of peace. Well designed, spacious & clean, you couldn't ask for anything more.
The hotel staff cannot do enough to please you and are always pleasant & smiley.
We tried the restaurant for afternoon tea (complimentary) & also for dinner on 2 nights (read our restaurant reviews for more details), my suggestion is DO NOT EAT ANYWHERE ELSE! The food is orgasmic & the location is simply unique.
The option of a full complimentary breakfast in the room is fantastic, it really adds to the relaxation, all you need to do, is roll out of bed in your luxurious dressing gown to let your battler in, by the time you wash your face, a breakfast feast is expertly laid out in the gazebo. Priceless!
The Spa was probably one of our best SPA experiences in general, our only regret was that we only tried it on the very last day. Next time we'll ensure we book a couple of treatments daily.
Neither the hotel nor the facilities are the cheapest in the area but it well worth every penny & it's value for money on every aspect. Location, service & quality.
To conclude, book yourself a room for a few nights, min 3, go & see Ubud town on he first afternoon & spend every available second in this haven on earth, you won't regret it.
A massive thank you the entire team for their attention to detail & lovely approach.
Thank you for helping us find inner peace :-)
Graeme & Leo

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is exactly as the previous reviews describe it. The staff is amazing, extremely personalized service. They go out of their way to make your stay exceptional. We had dietary restrictions, which we had informed before our arrival. They accommodated our dietary preferences amazingly. They even sent us a Menu by email before our arrival.

The rooms are great, but the flooring has suffered a lot of wear and tear. But otherwise nothing to complain. The Ayung River Villas have amazing location and you can hear the river flow even behind closed doors.

Our 4 year old daughter loved the room and the pool.

All in all...we would love to return to The Samaya and Ubud

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just got married yesterday, after long hours of Balinese wedding we decided to go to Ubud to relax and have some fresh air until we amazingly surprised by how friendly the staffs are, all of them without exception. The original smile of balinese people and the top level of helpfulness is totally awesome.

Ayung Villa is flawless, afternoon tea by the river is fantastic!
Definitely will come back!

Agung and Dian

Room Tip: 208 is a perfection
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

As in all previous reviews, this place is amazing from the superb villas to the wonderful staff.

We stayed here during mid-October. We arrived in the evening at the airport and was picked up by the hotel shuttle. The ride was a bit long (about an hour) due to traffic but when we finally arrived we were immediately greeted by the friendly staff. Our butler took us around to explain the premises and showed us our features in our villa. We had the hillside villa that allowed us to see the rice paddies and jungles. Extremely private and perfect for honeymooners.

The breakfast is one of the best we've ever had at this place. Truly enjoyed our mornings as we took in the amazing view of the rice fields.

Since the hotel is away from Ubud center, they do have complimentary shuttle service. All you have to do is set it up with the concierge in advance and you'll be good to go.

If you have the chance, do a spa treatment. Well worth the money and with the view of the Ayung River, it was so relaxing. Also, make sure to set up time to do an afternoon trek. This will give you a chance to tour the town and rice fields.

If we ever get a chance to come back, we would stay at Samaya again. The service was impeccable and again thank you to all the hotel staff. Our honeymoon was so memorable and wonderful because of your service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is amazing, the staff are very helpful, the food id clean and delicious... hotel car can drop uou off and pick you up to any place for free..they are very cooperative...the villa and the pool are clean and and amazing...i highly recommend this villa

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Samaya Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali

Address: Banjar Baung,Desa Sayan- Ubud, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#1 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#7 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacularly located amid the rice fields and verdant hillsides of Bali's lush interior lies The Samaya Ubud, a harmonious blend of cutting - edge design and lavish comfort. Each of the resort's tastefully appointed one-two-and three bedroom villas features a private swimming pool, king-size bed, spacious bathroom, and a host of luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Samaya Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Samaya Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.