We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It describes Ubud, represents Bali!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Samaya Bali

Save Saved
You added The Samaya Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Samaya Bali
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Banjar Baung,Desa Sayan- Ubud, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
❤ Honeymoon in Paradise ❤
Ranked #1 of 119 hotels in Ubud
Denpasar, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It describes Ubud, represents Bali!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just got married yesterday, after long hours of Balinese wedding we decided to go to Ubud to relax and have some fresh air until we amazingly surprised by how friendly the staffs are, all of them without exception. The original smile of balinese people and the top level of helpfulness is totally awesome.

Ayung Villa is flawless, afternoon tea by the river is fantastic!
Definitely will come back!

Agung and Dian

Room Tip: 208 is a perfection
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    576
    39
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
81
433
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

As in all previous reviews, this place is amazing from the superb villas to the wonderful staff.

We stayed here during mid-October. We arrived in the evening at the airport and was picked up by the hotel shuttle. The ride was a bit long (about an hour) due to traffic but when we finally arrived we were immediately greeted by the friendly staff. Our butler took us around to explain the premises and showed us our features in our villa. We had the hillside villa that allowed us to see the rice paddies and jungles. Extremely private and perfect for honeymooners.

The breakfast is one of the best we've ever had at this place. Truly enjoyed our mornings as we took in the amazing view of the rice fields.

Since the hotel is away from Ubud center, they do have complimentary shuttle service. All you have to do is set it up with the concierge in advance and you'll be good to go.

If you have the chance, do a spa treatment. Well worth the money and with the view of the Ayung River, it was so relaxing. Also, make sure to set up time to do an afternoon trek. This will give you a chance to tour the town and rice fields.

If we ever get a chance to come back, we would stay at Samaya again. The service was impeccable and again thank you to all the hotel staff. Our honeymoon was so memorable and wonderful because of your service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is amazing, the staff are very helpful, the food id clean and delicious... hotel car can drop uou off and pick you up to any place for free..they are very cooperative...the villa and the pool are clean and and amazing...i highly recommend this villa

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Samaya Ubud was brilliant. Like many guests,we were on honeymoon, but every couple was treated specially rather than delivery a bland common service to all.

We stayed in one of the Ayung villas which was fantatic, large, airy, modern with a few Balinese twists. The bed was comfortable. Large bathroom, inching shower and hot tub. The villa entrance and bath were decorated with beautiful flowers on arrival. The room has a mini bar, which was kept well stocked. We enjoy many of the snacks delivered to the room top. The only issue was the pool which was too deep to lounge in, the manager agreed and in the next refurb programme they are going to reduce the depth.

My wife is an absolute lover of spas, I've never been in one. We had a two hours couple massage and I have to say that it was fantastic.

The food was the best that we had in Bali, better than their sister property in Seminyak. The bread and pastries are asked on site, and also delivered to Seminyak. You could taste the difference between the cakes, pastries and breads served in Ubud v Seminyak - not quite as fresh. The restaurant food was superb - check out my other reviews.

All the staff were fantastic, our butler was brilliant.

Highly recommended. First class

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

One of the very best places we've stayed. After 5 days or terrific service, waking up to some of the best views of the rainforest and rice fields in Bali, terrific food and truly effortless, superlative service, my wife and I really regretted not having a trust fund that would enable us to stay there for months. Not that it's overly expensive. In fact for the world class experience it provides, it's a virtual bargain. We'd go back in a heartbeat and wholeheartedly recommend it if you're staying in/near Ubud.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a steep hillside, so there are two choice: riverside and upper level. Riverside you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is the most beautiful place I have ever seen in Bali
Picture Perfect Paradise
You will never experience better care than here from all the staff
We have been to all the very best in Bali (four seasons, club med, Ayana, intercontinental, seminyaks best, and more - all nice - But if you want to experience the true Bali
This is the spot
The most peaceful place on earth? Quite Possibly!
100 Candlelight Dinner - Awesome!
Spa - Very Special
ROMANTIC

Room Tip: Must Try Spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Im not used to so much attention. It is some kind of little bit too much as you feel invasion to your personal space:) it is part of the perfect service thoigh. The sweptmaway restaurant is in nice setting but pricey. If you can afford to stay there you wont worry too much but there are plenty good options for dinner in Ubud centre i assume. Spa is amazing- pedicure / manicure/ massage done to perfection with attention to the detail. Setting is wonderfull. Dont be lazy to walk arround, we would ditch golf cart and enjoy surroundings.
Villa amazing, enjoyed afternoon tea served to villa while pool size is double what you would expect. I could list forever all the advantages here. Manager and staff very attentive and make you feel part of the royal family during the stay...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Samaya Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali

Address: Banjar Baung,Desa Sayan- Ubud, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#7 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacularly located amid the rice fields and verdant hillsides of Bali's lush interior lies The Samaya Ubud, a harmonious blend of cutting - edge design and lavish comfort. Each of the resort's tastefully appointed one-two-and three bedroom villas features a private swimming pool, king-size bed, spacious bathroom, and a host of luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Samaya Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Samaya Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.