We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury stay with lots of pampering” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Samaya Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Samaya Bali to your Saves list
The Samaya Bali
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Banjar Baung,Desa Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 132 Hotels in Ubud
SINGAPORE
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Luxury stay with lots of pampering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the entire stay. The all villa estate is lovely with view of rice padi fields and right next to Ayung river, good location in ubud. Villa has a nice size pool, garden and a gazebo. Good size room with a nice big jacuzzi which could fit 2. Breakfast n afternoon tea provided are top notch, especially the freshly baked bread. The resort also provide complimentary shuttle service to ubud area which makes it very convenient to zip to restaurants, shops n spa within ubud. We also enjoyed the complimentary morning walk and cycling activities. To top it all, impeccable and proactive service from all the staff, and lead by general manager Wayan. We are repeat visitors to Bali, and this was our best trip because of the care and service at this resort.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    48
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
104
527
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

New addition to the Ubud scattered private villas, located on the cliff of Ayung river, with very steep pathway from the main reception to compound, makes this property enjoys a spectacular view to the river and accross the other side.
All amenitise you'd expect in a descent private villa; pool, bale bengong outside, deck and large bath tub.
A bit more time untill the trees get more mature, it will be complete privacy for the lower villas from the main restaurant up the top.
Worthy of note is their in house bakery department, producing all the pastries and bread for your breakfast and afternoon tea provided, nothing smells more enticing than a freshly baked pastries, with taste to complement.
The swept away restaurant just by the river, enjoys occasional villagers taking water and bathing, true village experience.

Room Tip: The three compounds by the river will let you sleep with water sound, and open your door to a very g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

16 modern villas in a secluded hills over a river with specutacular view, 116 staff, big and artistic room, privacy, excellent services, nice and always-smiling staff. What else do you want? Samaya Ubud provides everything.

We were travelling with a twe-year boy. Although the property itself does not offer any kid activities, the 24 hour shuttle bus could take us to whereever we wanted in Ubud. That's a big plus. My kid and whole family enjoy every moment we spent in there and we felt like we're spoiled. I'll certainly come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely stay for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon. The villas were spacious and welcoming and the staff truly attentive. However I have stayed at many 5 star hotels around the world and while the samaya was comfortable it is not 5 star in true sense. We have just checked into a villa at the club at the Legian and are now able to compare with real 5 star. While only 2 years old the samaya does not have overly modern appliances in rooms and the lobby is understated and does not give a great first impression. Room service was delicious as was breakfast. We really did have a lovely stay and it was excellent value for money but I'm not sure this property deserves to be #1 on tripadvisor

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We chose samaya ubud as one of our hotels for honeymoon (october 2011). We loved the experience! Everything was perfect! Our hill villa was amazing, the staff was very friendly and kind.
The breakfast was superb, scrambled eggs, pancakes that i'm still dreaming of, fresh juices, and morning newspaper specially for us (yes, with our names on it!)... The complimentary afternoon tea was great too. The transportation to ubud was available at any time.

We strongly recommend anyone staying there!! We had a great time! Thanks samaya!!

Room Tip: Hillside villa which have private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Simply Amazing!!! My husband and I had the extreme pleasure of staying at the Samaya in Ubud for the last half of our honeymoon in end-Oct/early November 2011. This was our first time to Bali and we couldn't have been happier with our decision to stay at the Samaya in Ubud; we wish we would have left Seminyak earlier to stay there even longer than we did! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we have never experienced such supreme hospitality as we did there. We arrived to a special honeymoon greeting that they took special care to prepare and time, to the point that they were conversing with our taxi driver on our way from Seminyak to ensure we got there in time before all the beautiful flowers they had displayed for us would wilt. A multitude of flowers greeted us, including heart-shaped flowers at the entrance to our villa and a beautiful floral arrangement in our bath tub. The personal 'butlers' were genuinely concerned with our happiness and no request made was turned down without consideration and follow-up; they made every effort to accommodate us. One of the most wonderful things they did was, after we had checked out our last day, they enabled us to stay in another villa late at night for free until we had to leave for the airport at 11pm (which they arranged free transport for as well). We were able to swim, order in, and then shower before our flight. Was remarkable and relaxing. The breakfast there was another highlight...it was so tasty and satisfying. The selection was vast and you can order as much as you want! They even brought you a personalized news letter every morning to highlight current world events for you to peruse while you ate breakfast. We also took part in the cooking class offered by Samaya and had an amazing experience. We would highly recommend the Samaya in Ubud to anyone considering going there...you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: definitely suggest a room along the Ayung River...very peaceful and romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Having loved The Samaya in Seminyak, but keen to enjoy another meal at the suoerb Mozaic restaurant in Ubud, we stayed for our first time at this resort.Living up to the extremely high standards set by the sister property in Seminyak, we found all aspects perfect.
The setting, in the forest, by a beautiful river, was so delaxing afetr our busy working lives in Sydney.
Our villa was beautifully fitted out, with an amazing inside/outside bathroom pavillion.The pool and gardens, with fountain et al, was luxurious.
We love a good breakfast, everything freshly cooked to order. Perfect. And our Seafood BBQ dinner in the restaurant overlooking the river was excellent.
Service was faultless, we get spoilt by The Samaya's standards, and perhaps it is unfair to single out one person when every member of the staff are so well trained and so pleasant to deal with, but the Head Butler, a lady called Jo did make a marvelous impression

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Samaya Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali

Address: Banjar Baung,Desa Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#1 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#7 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacularly located amid the rice fields and verdant hillsides of Bali's lush interior lies The Samaya Ubud, a harmonious blend of cutting - edge design and lavish comfort. Each of the resort's tastefully appointed one-two-and three bedroom villas features a private swimming pool, king-size bed, spacious bathroom, and a host of luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Samaya Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Samaya Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.