We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place with friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Tupai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Tupai to your Saves list
Puri Tupai
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Anak Agung Gede Rai st, Abiansemal Lod Tunduh | Jl Raya Anak Gunung Rai, Abiansemal Lod Tunduh, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The place is hidden, but once you are there, you have the place to your own. This is an OASIS, great place to relax ... great pool, nice grass tennis court and plenty of space to relax and hang out.
Fantastic staff, from the Chef Kutuk to the driver Madi, plus lovely Sri (Manager) who will make all your sightseeing and activities arrangements.
We stayed for 4 nights and 5 days and we saw only a little bid of Ubud and surrounding areas… so much to do, but not enough time.
The food is also outstanding and they cook for you anything, just tell them or show them, they do it.
The water rafting is about 1 hour or so away from Ubud) was outstanding, try Sobek www.balisobek.com , they did a great job, especially with our 7 year old son. There are many other sightseeing areas around; it is up to you what you want to see.

For sure we will be back again and we will bring some of our friends too.

Room Tip: The rooms at the side where the living area is loacated a bit more quiet, compare to the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yansri, Manager at Puri Tupai, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Peter,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to post a review about Puri Tupai and thank you for staying and spending the time with us here at Puri Tupai.
We apologize for any inconvenience caused so you feel uncomfortable and annoyed with it.
My team and I will continue maintaining comfort in every corner of the room.

All of the staff at Puri Tupai would be happy to have you back again whenever your itinerary brings you back to Bali.

with warm regards,
PTI's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Arriving at PURI TUPAI leaves one open-mouthed in wonder.
Leaving it is heart wrenching.
It is a little terrestrial paradise.
The staff is wonderful. The food is excellent. The service is without fault. The atmosphere is enchanting.
I just wish it could be all mine.
Thankyou for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri-Tupai-Bali, Manager at Puri Tupai, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear David,

Thank you very much for sharing such a pleasant comment on TripAdvisor.

We are happy that you enjoyed the facilities and the overall services that offered during your stay with us.

On behalf of the management and tea,, we happily look forward to welcomingyou back to this beautiful island for another great special experiences.

Yours sincerely,
PTI team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I promise you, you won't regret this if you book it. The property is HUGE, beautiful and serene. We set up massage tables down the back and had our afternoon massages listening to the birds. The property is big enough to ensure privacy even from the house.
The food is AMAZING. For one whole week we were pampered with Ketut and Komung's cooking, which Ketut was very willing to share the recipes for. Ketut even organised a suckling pig for us at a great price. My husband is celiac and Ketut went to exceptional lengths to ensure he enjoyed as decadent a meal as the rest of us.
Sightseeing was a pleasure with the villa driver Sam, whose English is wonderful and his love of learning infectious. He will take you anywhere you want to go. Any tours can be arranged by Ketut, and most tour buses will pick up at the villa, including the driver with the boat company that took us across to the Gili Islands on departure. Ketut even heard that there was a wedding next door so arranged for us to visit during the celebrations.
The location is perfect for a retreat - we were there with 3 other couples and didn't really want to be in the middle of Ubud, which is only ten minutes away if you want it. There is a great wine shop near Ubud so you can purchase wine etc. and bring it back. The driver will drop you off at a restaurant in town and pick you up if you want.
The beds were comfortable - three out of the four rooms have outdoor bathrooms and they all have a lovely ambience. As the other reviewers have said, there are two rooms at the back that overlook the pool and they are divine, but the other bedrooms are nice too. The beds were "turned down" and sprayed at dusk, and the lamps lit, which was a lovely touch.
There is a computer there which is free to use, and good wifi available.
Sigh.....can someone beam me back please???

Room Tip: The two bedrooms at the back overlooking the pool are divine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

We have been in Puri Tupai for six days as we prefered to stay in one single place during our visiting to Bali.
The experience was SUPER!!!! In a wanderful villa Ketut and his wife took care of us as part o his family. We were 8, two Italian families with children of 14 and 17 years and all of us were completely satisfied. The villa looks like it was presented on the web site, gourgious and relaxing and the surprise was the kindness and professional attitude of all the staff. We had almost every night dinner in the villa because Ketut ability in the kitchen was equal to a good restaurant. I definitely reccome d this place to everybody how want to stay in Ubud.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

What can I say about this wonderful, beautiful place? We stayed here with 3 other couples for 7 nights and it was an incredible experience never to be forgotten. Ketut and Komung were the most amazing and kind people and treated us like family. They are fantastic cooks and we had the best food at the villa. The breakfasts were amazing. Our beds were made and rooms cleaned while we were sitting at the breakfast table. Our driver, Sam, was fantastic. He made us laugh and nothing was too much trouble. He was a very safe driver, too. The 25 mtr pool, the beautiful gardens, the gorgeous bedrooms and outdoor showers, and the wonderful staff made this a fantastic experience. We miss you Ketut and Komung and hope to get back there again one day!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed at the Villa with another family for only 3 nights at the end of May into June 2012, wish we had stayed for at least 5! Having never been to Bali before, we were a little surprised that we were not entering heavenly country and rice paddies immediately when nearing the Villa. However, once behind the gates, you really feel like you are in your own Balinese paradise! The gardens were just amazing. The pool, tennis court and "cubby houses" made it a perfect base for a family with children. I think the stand out feature of the Villa is the uncompromising and first class service you receive at all times. The chef was just AMAZING and breakfast everyday was a feast. The meals we ordered when staying in were always first class and served with a smile, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff at the Villa....ever. The only slight disappointment is that 2 of the rooms/bathrooms were less lux than the other 2,.....which made splitting the houses a bit tricky, (unless you have old enough kids to throw in the Queen rooms and keep the King rooms for the parents!!!) The aircondidtioners in the less lux side could probably do with a service. (But this is really nit picking!).....But,...as you don't live in the bedrooms it didn't ultimately matter. I would highly recommend Villa Puri Tupai and if we came back to Bali, we'd stay there again.

Room Tip: If going in a group,....work out who gets the larger King Rooms with the marble floors and much nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed at Villa Puri Tupai for a week - 4 adults and 2 young children - and had the most incredible time at this property. The villa exceeded our expectations in every way and was a peaceful and beautiful retreat. The staff were amazingly kind and the food was of the highest standard. The grounds, pool and garden were like our own tropical oasis for a week - we really wished we could have stayed longer and are already planning how we can return for another holiday some time next year! Don't miss the opportunity to stay here when you visit Ubud.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Tupai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Tupai

Address: Anak Agung Gede Rai st, Abiansemal Lod Tunduh | Jl Raya Anak Gunung Rai, Abiansemal Lod Tunduh, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Tupai 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An extraordinary escape in Bali. A spectacularly designed house in a stunning Balinese jungle setting, Puri Tupai Villa provides a measure of pure indulgence and relaxation. It is truly the island retreat you have always dreamed of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Puri Tupai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Tupai Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Tupai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.