We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nirwa Ubud Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nirwa Ubud Homestay
Save
You added Nirwa Ubud Homestay to your Saves list
Jalan Raya Campuhan | Banjar Ubud Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 315 Ubud B&B and Inns
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

What a perfect introduction to Bali! Ubud (and the Nirwa homestay) was my first stop in Indonesia and really set the tone for the rest of my trip. Made, Ayu, and their son, Alit, were such wonderful hosts. From the moment Made picked me up at the airport (with a bottle of water in hand) to the moment he saw me off and into a bemo, this family really took care of me!

The property is gorgeous, a typical Balinese compound -- just off the beaten path, but only a 5-min walk to the main strip (Jl Raya Ubud). Very calm, peaceful, tranquil atmosphere. Rooms are clean (but don't leave food out in the open unless you're hoping for ants), spacious, and the ceiling fan is perfect during the cool nights. Wi-fi is reliable. Tip: The room with the best view is on the 2nd floor, the far side from the staircase, overlooking the rice paddy fields. Book in advance!

I originally booked for 2 nights and ended up staying for 6. And had Ayu's banana pancakes with lime and honey every morning for breakfast (yes, it's That good).

Thanks again to Made and Ayu for a fantastic stay. I'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balimitra, Owner at Nirwa Ubud Homestay, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thanks ihno for write review to Nirwa ubud home stay , i am really appreciate so much for your time , i happy that you have good time during to stay with us in Nirwa .
our family will take care all the guest during they in our house . i wish you can stay with us again for next your visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    40
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
37
75
78
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for 11 nights at this lovely homestay in Ubud, and loved every single second of it. The place is owned by a charming family, Made, Ayu and their son Alit, and they always made us feel at home. To get to the homestay from the main street (Jalan Raya Ubud) we had to walk a small path next to a stream that can be quite dark at night, but Made always provided a flashlight. The homestay is simply amazing; it is a Balinese compound in which every room has privacy and space. Our room (a bungalow) was very spacious and had incredible views of the rice fields; it was fully equipped with terrace with chairs, a bed with mosquito net, ceiling fan, two bed tables, electrical adaptors, dressing table and Wi-Fi connection. The bathroom was beautiful and very large; it had a closet, shower with hot water, sink, mirror and W.C. with bidet. Even though the room has no air conditioning, at night the fan is enough to get the room cool. The breakfast that Ayu made for us was so delicious; we loved the fact that they have a breakfast menu with different options, so you don't have to eat the same thing every day. The banana pancake was delicious, so as the fried and scrambled eggs with toast. We also loved the fruit juice and Balinese coffee with milk. We took two tours with Made and were great; we visited many attractions and had a great time talking to Made. A very important thing to us was that Made has a very good command of English, something rare in most Balinese homestays. We had a great time in Ubud, and Nirwa was one of the main reasons of it. We'll definetely go back soon. We miss you guys!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balimitra, Owner at Nirwa Ubud Homestay, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for taking your time to write review for Nirwa ubud homestay , i glad that you have wonderful stay with us in Nirwa .i am appreciate so much . hope you have wonderful day , have nice memory for your holiday , enjoy your honeymoon , enjoy beautiful Bali.
hope to see for next your visit . all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We found this little homestay last minute on tripadvisor. This is a decision my husband and i will forever treasure as we found our family in Bali. All the reviews are very true, Made&ayu and their son Alit will treat u as family from the moment you step in their traditional balinese compound till you are in Bali. We were given a room at the second floor with a beautiful ricefield view. Waking up every morning is such an exciting experience knowing your sorrounded with the stillness and calmness of the place. walking in the ricefields has been our daily morning ritual while we where here. Not to mention, the delicious breakfast everyday. Ayu's green banana pancake is to die for. On our first night ,my husband had a little accident with our rented motorbike on the way back to nirwa. It was a minor accident that involves a local lady being pushed on the side by the motorbike. Minor as it may seem but the thought that we are in a foreign land scared us to death. As we arebonly few meters away from nirwa, made and ayu came and took us home. We were assured that evrything is all right and as long as we are with them nothing will happen to us. Ayu even told me, " you are our family, we will protect you." i almost wanted to cry at that moment. They did talked to the lady and everything was settled without any drama.
On the following days Made has been our personal tour guide, showing us around ubud and telling us stories you will never find in any books. At night time after a long day of discovering ubud we will sit in their breakfast hall with the whole family and sip ayu's organic rose tea with the other lovely guests from different part of the world and share stories and laughters. This always left a
smile on our face as we retire to our room that has been cleaned daily.
As we had our previous reservation with a resort in Sayan,we only stayed with them for three nights. But their graciousness didnt stop when we bid goodbye from their homestay. First day in the resort Alit ( their son) delivered the famous bali smoked duck for our dinner with ayu's homecooked gado gado. Dont miss it, its very delicious. It doesnt end there still. On my birthday, Made and Ayu surprised us at the resort with a boquet of pink and red roses and a birthday cake. It was indeed a day i cherished, i felt like im celebrating my special day with my family.
Nirwa homestay as others said is not for those people seeking luxury but if your after memories and friendship you will treasure forever, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balimitra, Owner at Nirwa Ubud Homestay, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks for your review , take your time to write review , i am happy that you have good time during to stay with us in Nirwa ubud home stay , my pleasure to have you in our home stay , every guest how stay with us will part our family , during they stay with us , so my duty to give them protection . i am sorry about the accident that happen , to makes you not happy rent scooter , it is more difficult to write scooter when is narrow street .
thanks all so you come with made when the tour , hope to see you for next visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bali
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

It´s a little bit hard to find, before you go over the bridges, you have to turn right and then just follow the little river. Made and Ayu welcomed us really friendly (best hosts ever) and it seems that they don´t have check in/check out times. we arrived at 9.30am and we could move into our room immedatly! the rooms are quite big and basic, same with the bathrooms, but there´s everything you need and the surrounding is really beautiful, you have nice view from the terrace or balcony over the rice fields and there´s a backdoor where you can enter the ricefields and walk through! there´s also a walk (10-15mins) to Sari Organic (take a torch with you when you go there at night).It´s a really quiet location, but to the center of ubud it´s just a 5 min walk!
the rooms are 235.000INS (23$) for a double incl. breakfast (choice of 5 breakfasts+juice or fruit salad + coffe or tea).
You should definitely try the Banana or Pineapple-Pancake! It´s the best one i had and it´s green!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balimitra, Owner at Nirwa Ubud Homestay, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for take your time to write review for the Nirwa ubud homestay , i am appreciate so much for that .
for first time it difficult to find ,but after you been here so easy .that way when my guest check in i asking for the pick up ,
inpact our room rate is 25$ / day for ground floor , but in this time when answer your email
i just got cancellation , & i want to fill the room that way i give you with discount .
Thanks again for stay with us ,i am happy you have good time during you are here .
hope to see you for next visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I too read about Nirwa on tripadvisor and decided to book my stay here. I can not say enough about the loveliness of Made and Ayu. They are both so sweet and accommodating. I felt very taken care of and surrounded by their warmth and the beauty of the surrounding rice fields. Such a sense of peace and rest inspired by Nirwa Homestay, an all encompassing beauty inside and out. The rooms are spacious and airy, clean and bright. The view is gorgeous. The breakfasts are delicious with many choices and the people I met who were also staying at Nirwa were quite lovely. Nirwa is also very close to the center of town but maintains a sense of calmness and serenity. I recommend Nirwa Homestay to anyone traveling to Ubud with no hesitation! Thank you Made and Ayu for your graciousness and accommodation. I am looking forward to visiting with you again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balimitra, Owner at Nirwa Ubud Homestay, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Miyung Kim
Thanks for your review to Nirwa ubud homestay , Thanks for choosing Nirwa to serve your holiday in Ubud bali .it, is my pleasure to have you in our homestay . i am happy that you have a good time during you stay in our home stay .it is a good idea / smart to use trip advisor to prepare for your travel.
hope to see you next your visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had learned of Nirwa here on TripAdvisor and initially booked to stay for just four nights.

My wife, daughter and I ended up staying nearly two weeks here!

Made and Ayu, the owners and hosts - along with their son - made us feel right at home and took great care of us during our entire stay. They make you feel like family from the moment you arrive and make sure you know about places to visit, where and what to eat, and are quick to arrange transport as you need it.

(After our stay, we ended up renting a house nearby - and Made came by with a housewarming gift of Ayu's fried bananas the next day for us!)

The room we stayed in was basic, clean and comfortable. It's fan cooled and the bathroom / shower is the "wet" style - e.g., no separation of the shower area from the toilet. The room was cleaned and the bed and additional mattress they brought in for our daughter were made up every day by their very friendly and helpful staff Dewa.

As stated by previous reviewers, the included breakfasts are great and Ayu's special green banana pancakes are particularly delicious.

Ayu also got us a great deal on the local Bali smoked duck, which we had for dinner our second night. (Highly recommended.)

The entire guesthouse is basically a small enclosed compound in the middle of the ricefields just west of central Ubud. Like a scaled down version of a traditional Bali family compound.

Although it is very quiet and private at Nirwa, a fifteen minute walk brings you right into the middle of Ubud.

Also, you can trek for hours through the ricefields behind Nirwa for some really amazing experiences and views. (Don't miss the many artist studios that pop up in the middle of nowhere out there.)

During our stay we had wonderful time meeting and conversing with the other guests - the place has a wonderful vibe to it.

Please keep in mind, this is a low-key family guesthouse, not a hotel or resort. If you're the type of traveler who goes on package tours and expects everything to be brand new and to be waited on hand-and-foot, this is probably not for you.

If you're looking for a comfortable, friendly and inexpensive place that provides a real "local" experience to base yourself while visiting Ubud though, I can't imagine a better choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balimitra, Owner at Nirwa Ubud Homestay, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for james & family for your review to Nirwa ubud homestay .
i am happy that you have good time during to stay with us , ,is my plesure to have you in Our place , all so i am happy that you tray smoke duck in bali ,is special bali food ,
some time when you are in bali, so you have to tray bali food , bali drink [ Jamu ]
you will get more experience. Thanks again being part of our family for 2 weeks , we hope you have nice stay in bali .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

What can I possibly add to the already great reviews? Made collected us at the airport and I would really recommend that you arrange this too if coming here first, as it is difficult to find and other drivers would struggle.

As a place to stay, tranquil, lovely, friendly, spacious and the pancakes are sensational!

Great walks in the rice paddies are on your doorstep, the town is only a ten minute walk away and you can even help yourself to tea and coffee at any time of day.

All I can say is a big thank you to Made and Ayu and we hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balimitra, Owner at Nirwa Ubud Homestay, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thanks for your sweet review , i am really appreciate for you time .
is my idea to make communal breakfast , so every traveler / guest , they can chatting to every guest / traveler, can hear the story , where every traveler/ guest have been , so they can sheering about the experience , than i learn from the traveler ,which is good i have tell to guest / traveler .
is our pleasure to make breakfast to our guest , i always want to do our best .
our located in the country side / rice paddies , but still very close to the town .
hope to see you next visit again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nirwa Ubud Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwa Ubud Homestay

Address: Jalan Raya Campuhan | Banjar Ubud Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 315 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwa Homestay is a family owned business in Ubud, set in the rice fields. just 5 minute to center of ubud [ 0.3 mile to center of ubud .located in the country side / rice field , but close to center of ubud . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirwa Homestay Hotel Ubud
Nirwa Ubud Homestay Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirwa Ubud Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.