We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Sebali, Keliki, Ubud, Bali 80561, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 134 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed at Chapung for a week and we had a wonderful time.the architecture is amazing, the two bedroom villa we stayed in was so relaxing with a nice pool, Scandinavian furniture and a Koi pond.Open air hot shower during a tropical downpour was a fantastic experience! The staff were very helpful with accommodating various requests. The restaurant looks over a beautiful valley and the food was fantastic. Lot of the herbs come from their own garden and we saw one of the girls getting some herbs whilst we were waiting for our food!There is construction of the pool happening now so there is noise during daytime but this should be finished soon. I understand that the resort is expanding, with a 36 bedroom hotel coming up soon within the property. I hope that this does not change the nature of this tranquil place.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Rajesh K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are indeed close to finishing our big pool project. We should open in just a few weeks. We are considering a project for expansion in the upcoming years, though the exact plan isn't established yet. We are thinking of building a few more rooms, but definitely not 36 more as we want to preserve the calm atmosphere that characterizes the Chapung. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Regards,
Yann Houdayer
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    30
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
60
114
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at chapung sea for 3 nights in July with a one year old, this is a gorgeous resort - and truly relaxing given the right circumstances.

Perhaps we should have been a little wiser but as a first holiday away with the baby - this was unfortunately not the place for an ideal getaway due to the deep pool in the villa / open barriers in restaurants etc (on hillside) for little explorers. The ongoing construction was also a little frustrating as this wasn't mentioned anywhere when we booked.

The villa itself was very spacious and the staff (front desk and restaurant / spa) really went out of their way to be helpful.

The restaurant menu was a little limiting - perhaps some daily specials might help with the choice. Loved the fact that the veg and herbs were grown on site.

All in all a lovely stay, but next time it will be without the baby! I think when the new pool and bar area are finished later in the year, it will be a hidden gem!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear NoseyExplorer,

Thank you for reviewing our property. I am very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to welcome you again in the future for a romantic getaway.

Regards,

Yann Houdayer
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed both in the 2 bedroom Luxury Residence and in the 2 bedroom Family Suite. Both had a high standard and were well kept. The resort lies literally at the end of the rice fields, at the edge of a canyon that gives a stunning view from the restaurant. The staff is super friendly an professional, an the atmosphere of the place is very relaxing. We were not bothered by the ongoing building activity that was rather interesting to watch, actually. Chapung lies 3 km from Ubud, and one can easily walk - or take hotel car - to town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Morten69,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Chapung experience. It was a true pleasure to welcome you and your family. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would be delighted to welcome you again in the future!

Regards,

Yann Houdayer
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We were really looking forward to treating ourselves for 3 nights of opulence and tranquility at this beautiful resort, to celebrate my partner's 50th birthday. Unfortunately our expectations were shattered by daily noise from the construction of a new extension to the resort, and also from construction across the valley of another property. We were not warned about the construction noise prior to our arrival and in fact requested a "quiet" villa. The 1 bedroom private villa was itself beautiful and spacious with a lovely pool, but situated directly up the hill from the construction site! We essentially had to shut ourselves inside in the air conditioning to get respite from the noise. One of the construction workers also decided to climb the palm tree in our garden and pick and drop coconuts into the yard while we watched.

A few other little gripes about things that really should not happen when a place is charging top dollar for 5 star accommodation:

Staff were lovely and helpful and the shuttle service to town good (and necessary as the resort is quite a way out of town). However, we had to return home early from dinner one night as my partner was feeling unwell with a gastro complaint. We waited at the pre-arranged place and time, and the shuttle didn't show up. I had to ring the resort 3 times on my mobile phone and they kindly sent a shuttle for us, but we had been standing on the side of the road in town for about 30 minutes which is a long time when you feel unwell.

The spa staff were lovely and the massages divine, however unfortunately again the noise was ever present.

The villa was starting to show a few signs of the need for maintenance e.g. the blinds wouldn't stay up unless you tied the cord to a table leg.

The breakfast was lovely but I didn't actually get what I ordered and again, there was construction going on right underneath where we were seated, so it was at times a bit difficult to have a conversation.

So, in summary, I suggest don't go here until they have finished construction unless you are offered a significant discount, which we were not. Once it is quiet, it should return to the tranquil paradise it should have been.

Room Tip: Ask about construction noise. If you want a view of the valley you will have to put up with it. Othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear WendlesW,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay at the Chapung. I am sorry that the construction of our new Pool & Bar area affected you during your time with us. Last week, the noise was indeed higher than usual as we had a specific task to accomplish. It has since been completed and the noise levels are now back to normal. I would like to present my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience.

I do hope that you will come back to visit us again in the future so you can live the true Chapung experience. Should you choose to do so, I invite you to contact me directly so I can take care of you personally.

Regards,

Yann Houdayer
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We came to stay here after the we left the place we originally booked in utter disgust. We could not have chosen a more idyllic oasis to escape to. We stayed in the 2 bedroom Luxury Residence & it absolutely lived up to its name. The villa itself was beautiful & spacious, we were travelling with 3 kids under 10 & there was loads of space for everyone. We had 2 pools, one was quite shallow which was perfect for our 4 year old & our older boys enjoyed the other pool. The food was delicious, the service friendly & helpful & the day spa was an experience in itself. It is an open pavilion looking out over a lush green valley so whilst getting your treatments you have an amazing view & a beautiful breeze flowing through...I've never had anything like it before. The French/Canadian manager was very helpful in organising our transport & with suggestions on our sightseeing itinerary. The only regret we have is that we could not stay longer. And I warn you, you may find it hard to see the sights of Ubud as you just won't want to leave this property. If we ever visit Ubud again we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear LilyLux70,

Thank you for sharing your Chapung experience with others. On behalf of the whole Chapung team, it was a true pleasure to welcome you and your family. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Regards,

Yann Houdayer
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

What an amazing resort...

Friendly and helpful staff
Outstanding views from restaurant
Beautiful villas with private pools well maintained and clean
Amazing spa treatments with views of forestry
Not far from Ubud - free shuttle transfers daily
Wonderful breakfast and dinner service

A really quiet and relaxing resort if you want to escape!

There is a pool being built below restaurant currently however slight noise didn't bother us whilst having breakfast - I can imagine the resort will only be more special once this project is complete!

The best recommendation for Ubud I could give!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Stephanie H,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I am really pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us at the Chapung and very happy that we could have made your honeymoon memorable. We would love to welcome you back when you plan on celebrating your anniversary!

Regards,

Yann Houdayer
Resort Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We spent 6 nights at this great resort, wish we could have stayed longer. The accommodation was beautiful and the surroundings were fantastic.
The private pool and garden makes it even more special.
Our holiday was made even better by the service we got from all the members of staff, they were all incredible.
I hope to return in the very near future.

Room Tip: All the villas look great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear roypearce,

Thank you for staying with us at the Chapung and taking the time to review our property. I am happy that you have enjoyed your villa and our team. It was a true pleasure to welcome you and I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again.

Regards,

Yann Houdayer
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa

Address: Jalan Raya Sebali, Keliki, Ubud, Bali 80561, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Ubud
#29 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#30 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#31 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapung se Bali Resort and Spa is not your usual Balinese -style villa retreat. Rather it calls on contemporary lines and interiors to produce a modern lush resort. With an impressive collection of retro classic furniture and the villas itself feel modern and sleek. The property covers almost two hectares of untouched landscape that extends down to the banks of the river Wos. Accessed by a meandering path of stone steps, the river is a continuous flow of mountain fresh water with extraordinary properties to nurture body, mind and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapung Sebali Hotel Ubud
Chapung SeBali Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.