We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Questionable” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Sobek

Bali Sobek
Komplek Ruko Jl. By pass Ngurah Rai no. 257 Suwung Kangin | Denpasar, Bali, Ubud, Bali 80223, Indonesia
+62 361 729016
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 349 Activities in Ubud
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in Bali in 1989, SOBEK was the first Adventure Tour Company of its kind on the island. Taking pride in a proven 100% safety record even to this day, SOBEK invests heavily into thorough industry recognized safety training standards. Each and every one of SOBEK's 265 staff receives on going training and development to ensure they are the very best in their field. Ultimately SOBEK works hard to maintain its reputation and market position as No.1.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Peregian Beach, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Questionable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The staff were average, the boat was awful (falling apart),the lunch was disgusting & not as described, both my wife and I were violently ill for 24hrs after the lunch, my wife lost her toe nail when the seat collapsed in our boat, overall this was a day from hell for us

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    75
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Fantastic family fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Just spent the day doing this rafting experience with my partner and three teenage girls. Fantastic experience from the moment we were picked up at our hotel. The driver was friendly and pointed out things on the way. It was a two hour drive from our hotel but once we got out of the urban areas it was interesting driving through villages down skinny roads, past rice paddies and temples. First stop is an affiliated coffee place where you get free samples but are urged to buy some Civet coffee, and are funnelled through their gift shop on the way out. We bought some chocolate. Then it was off to the river and an instruction on what to do. Safety is paramount and they go through all the instructions several times. Our eleven year old was nervous but they calmed her well. The river itself is fun, lots of ducking and weaving, and bouncing off walls and rocks, lots of water and spray. Some sections are rougher than others but by the time you get to half way you are pretty clued as to how it works. The half way stop is under a waterfall where a local boy sells cola and beer for high prices but by then you are thirsty so you drink! The second half is just as fun going over a 4m high dam wall! They end up after two hours down river at their restaurant overlooking rice paddies where you are offered a dry towel, yummy lunch and drinks. Oh and to buy the photos their staff took on the way down. Good pics and a good memory for $21 per CD. Then it's back in the cr for the trip back to the hotel. Overall a great day out, a bit of sightseeing, a bit of adrenaline and fun together for everyone. Well worth it! A tip is make sure you bring a change of clothes and a go pro or some similar camera would be worth it too!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great day spent! Very safe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband booked Sobek based on the reviews as we had 2 young children aged 7 and 9. It was a great decision. Our guide Martin took us down the 500 steps carefully. He guided us through the level 2-3 rafting with ease. The kids were able to keep pace. The carvings and the beautiful birds and the lush forest were beautiful. The whole distance is about 11km and took us about an hour and 40 min.
The lunch choice was limited for vegetarians. You then have to climb 200 steps up which is really not too bad. We took the CD with all the photos at the end and did tip our guide as he did such a great job. Totally worth your half day! My kids wanted to do it again the very next day!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Very professional from start to finish. Safety first which give you a sense of the type of outfit they are.

Great scenery, enough rapids to make you feel like you've had the experience without it actually being scary in anyway.

Great day. Not the cheapest but good value based on the above plus the time on the river and a good lunch.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Would do this again and again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We loved our white water rafting experience! We felt in good hands from the moment we stepped out of the van into the Sobek departure centre. We were given clear instructions and equipment. Our guide was fantastic. His ability to control the raft with the four of us in it (my husband, two teenaged daughters and myself) was amazing. He claimed we helped a lot but I am sure he did most of it alone! The ride was fun, exciting and we felt safe and in control the whole time. We stopped half way for a rest and a drink (more than you would pay for on the street, but if you think about the convenience of buying a cold drink in the middle of a river rafting tour, it is well worth the cost). Offer to buy your guide a drink too! Throughout the trip someone was taking photos. At the end of the tour you can buy a printed version of your choice of photos or buy them all on a CD . The CD is worth it! Great pics on the river! At the end you go over a small waterfall - they tell you to remember to smile. My daughters had huge smiles on their faces while my husband and I looked terrified! Hilarious! At the end, you are treated to a beautiful walk up through a valley of rice paddies and end off in a nice location with fresh water showers and a delicious lunch. It was a two hour adventure on the water and about an hour outside of Ubud (transport from your hotel included). We were exhausted at the end - a great feeling.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bali Sobek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Sobek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.