We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Moon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bali Moon to your Saves list
Bali Moon
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 332 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Darwin, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

We stay here for 5 days. We had only the best experience with owners. They were really nice and helpfull. We had a look around on some other places but nothing was like Bali Moon. Price is suprizingly cheap if you consider how beautifull room you have and you are surrounded by rice fields. So when you wake up there is no sound of bikes or cars, just few roosters :) We loved it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
31
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UBUD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Ubud has changed a lot since the last 20 years, except for budgets above $100, you can t find peace anymore. Bali Moon is a rare exception: walking distance from the center and hidden in the rice fields of Jalan Bisma, price range still under $30 (feb 2011), clean, decorated with taste, taking care with love. The charming couple who own this place are treating their guests as family members.I just read the previous comment and I m sure that it was a misunderstanding ( not everybody can understand our american, Japanese or french english, the owner probably didn't understand that person, what s the point lying over a local phone call?). I have visited dozens of homestays over the years and unless you have $200 per night to spend, this is one of the best budget choice in Ubud. You will have to walk 50 meters from Jalan Bisma as it is in the rice fields and the large romantic beds are very high, this is the signature of Bali Moon.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

Good hotel overall, but the owner was pretty nasty to us for some bizarre reason. At first he was friendly and talkative, but on the second day he became mean and rude. We asked to make a phone call to a local store to see if they were open, and he lied that he called, right in front of us. (We had to call the store from a nearby Internet place to find out the location). We planned to stay three nights but checked out after the second night. I still don't understand what was wring with that man.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

After several mails, that have not been responded, and 4 expensive long distance phone calls, we booked -as we thought- a room for 8 days in Bali Moon, since it looks pretty cute in the pictures. After a 19 hour flight, we arrived at 21.30 at night, just to find out that "they had some problem" and we could not stay there for the next 2 days (hm..double-booking) and they sent us to his friend's inn across the street. After that, we did not hear from them again...

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand, Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

I stayed here with my mum about 5 years ago. we had such a lovely time, that I wanted to bring my boyfriend and some friends of our here on our trip to Bali.

While the airport pickup that I had organised through them did not happen we made our own way there by taxi. As we arrived, I was a little bit daunted to find that there was construction going on. The neighbours were doing some extensions, it seemed that they were also adding a few rooms on too (they only have 3). I was a little bit sad as Ubud is supposed to be quiet time, but our stay was fine. They didn't start working. until 9am and stopped at 5pm. It was pretty small scale construction and I am sure it will be finished soon.

The rooms were just as enchanting as I remember them and the family keen to help with anything. The bathrooms are great, the beds comfortable and for the price, you can't beat it. While some of the rice paddy views are being a little bit built out, they are still worth the price.

Some things to know:
There is no aircon, but you don't really need it. Fans are not very efficient when the mosquito nets are up.
To get there you need to walk about 250 metres down a path amongst the rice paddies. You can't pull a car up to the door.
This is very much a family run B'n'B place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We stayed for 21 nights at Bali Moon in February. We felt so lucky to find the place, hidden in a little lane off Jalan Bisma, with a beautiful view of the rice fields. Rooms were very economical, spotlessly cleaned every day, and owners Wayan and Made are very caring and attentive hosts. Room boy Wayan was a treat to have around, and took fabulous care of us. Rooms are very nicely appointed, highest quality bed sheets, great daily breakfasts, we couldn't say enough about this wonderful guesthouse. We'll be returning for sure. Probably not a good place to bring kids, as there is just one bed in each room and no room for additional beds but ideal for singles and couples.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Moon

Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 332 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bali Moon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bali Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Moon Hotel Ubud
Bali Moon Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Moon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.