We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really relaxed and good vibes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swasti Eco Cottages

Save Saved
You added Swasti Eco Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swasti Eco Cottages
Nyuh Kuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 119 hotels in Ubud
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Really relaxed and good vibes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The place is somehow super chill. The rooms, the restaurant, the people, the pool, the garden, it's all part of the chillness. This place is in a great position, because it's close to ubud (in meters), but far (in quietness) at the same time. Definitely a place to return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    72
    39
    3
    4
See reviews for
103
128
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed in Dharma cottage for four nights. Unfortunately we were sick a lot of the time there but we were looked after really well by the gorgeous team. Service outstanding! Our bungalow was lovely though beds hard (typical Bali I guess) and we loved the partly open air bathroom. We were right next to the vegetable garden which was next to the farm animals and sometimes (though it's probably because we were unwell) the smell got a bit much. The restaurant is lovely with a relaxed raised area with cushions - where my kids wanted to eat all of their meals. The pool was great too and a welcome relief. The actual grounds are stunning and very well maintained and the massage at the spa was fab & well priced. All in all great value for money with excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Relaxing and charming place, close to Ubud but very quiet.
Great pool, organic garden and spa with amazing massages.
The staff was very friendly and helpful for all our needs (laundry, bike or car renting, etc....) and the food in the restaurant is really OK, not the best we had in bali but the home made choco cake worthed the trip!
For a single, couple or family Go There!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stay at Swasti cottages for 4 nights, our bungalow was in the middle of a beautiful garden, full of frangipani flower ibiscus and banana trees...Great service, always very polite and welcoming.
We had few dinners at their restaurant, a bit pricy compare to other we tried, but all over very nice indonesian cousin, and also I love the child out area with lots of cushions a low coffees tables, where we spent lots of afternoon, drinking local tea or coffees.
The spa is very nice and clean and massages are very good. Highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: The rooms are very nice, our had a mosquitos net and electric fan. If you don't like be in conta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My family and I stayed for 5 relaxing and tranquil days in a family bungalow. The recycled teak cottages are comfortable, well appointed and enchanting. My kids especially liked sleeping under the mosquito nets! Opening the windows and doors caught the breezes keeping everything cool. The gardens and organic farm are beautiful and the pool kept us occupied for hours. The staff were all friendly and charming and the restaurant produced excellent food. My kids tried the kite making and Balinese dancing activities with the staff and loved them. The village, Nyuh Kuning is picturesque and the walk into Ubud an enjoyable 15 min walk past the Monkey Forest Temple. This was an excellent introduction to Bali & Ubud and we would recommend it to anyone. We will definitely stay stay here again when we next visit Ubud.

Room Tip: All cottages are set in lush tropical gardens and all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tienen, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The first thing we noticed when arriving was the beauty of Swasti Eco Cottages.
We were really charmed by the attention given to small details (flowers everywhere in the room, restaurant, garden candles at night,...). The room in Balinese style was beautifully decorated and had a very nice terrace with a view of the lush tropical garden. The location was perfect, just a walk through monkey forest away from the town centre, so you could easily have lunch and dinner outside if you liked. The staff was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The food was ok, but not really to our taste. You could only get a drink between 7am and 10pm, but there was no fridge in the room. Also, no cocktails... would have been nice in that setting tough... The noise of the animals in the garden during the night was sometimes quite loud, especially when accompanied by heavy rain. It was as if you were sleeping outside, which can be nice but can also be a bit too much at times.
Overall, we were very satisfied and would recommend this place for a stay in Ubud.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aomori, Japan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased with swasti and I think it is very reasonably priced. I like their Eco concept, being able to walk around their farm and gardens, the pool, quiet, friendly staff, safety and the style. The rooms were very spacious and it was in Balinese style. We often sat on our deck. We also really enjoyed the area of the restaurant where there were low tables and just a bunch of pillows and cushions. Like other reviewers we thought there could be some slight improvements, they seemed to offer you their organic bug spray the first night but then encourage you to buy it later, they don't offer hotel umbrellas like many places do, and that is frustrating during rainy season, we sometimes got a damp smell from the decorative pillows, the wifi is only available at the lobby, restaurant, and pool and often went out, they dont take credit card and the food wasn't anything amazing. But we loved the style, the friendly staff, and the ability to book workshops through them. It is so nice and quiet, which I think is rare in the ubud area. it was a nice distance from the monkey forest and I think a good place for families with children too. I'd recommend this place to friends if staying in ubud, but I might look into others too if I were to stay in ubud again, just to experience others too.
So beautiful!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swasti Eco Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swasti Eco Cottages

Address: Nyuh Kuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#25 Family Hotel in Ubud
#37 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swasti Eco Cottages is a charming hotel situated in Nyuh Kuning, a small and quiet woodcarver village adjacent to central Ubud (1 hour from the airport), of 14 cottages and bungalows with a swimming pool, an organic restaurant and vegetable garden and an Eco-Spa providing 100% natural treatments. Swasti Eco Cottages is a place of its own, where you will find yourself submerged in local Balinese culture and a family-like atmosphere with Serenity and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Swasti Eco Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swasti Eco Cottage Hotel Ubud
Swasti Eco Cottages Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swasti Eco Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.