We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazingly Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kagemusha

Kagemusha
Jl. Nyuh Kuning, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
+62 361 973134
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 429 Restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Simply Amazingly Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

While the decor is simple and the menu reasonably priced. The food was simple and delicious. One of the best Japanese meals that we've had anywhere, not only Bali.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    13
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bali
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Still a favorite ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Coming here feels like leaving Bali and going somewhere else. Always appreciate the good homestyle Japanese food with good service. Lunchtimes are quiet and food comes quickly. Usually just you and some Japanese families.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Food - Rude Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My partner and I always visit Kagemusha when in Ubud. Love the food, off the beaten track, but the service is verging on rude. No smiles, just feel that they wanted our money and then to get us out as fast as possible, this visit was just unwelcoming! Dont know if we will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good food but slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

i like the food here beside the rice field, nice
they got cold noodle, i really like it
teriyaki don also nice

but had to wait for long to get food there even only one table
anyway food is good, deal

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pretend you're in Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

A real hidden gem... head down a little lane and you can pretend you're in Japan as soon as you step into Kagemusha. The little restaurant plays Japanese music, the guests are Japanese, the place is run by a lovely Japanese lady who has taught her Balinese staff a little Japanese language. THE FOOD... oh my yumminess. I highly recommend the wakame (seaweed) salad, Squid grilled sticks (MY FAVE), pork grilled sticks (a bit salty but great), sake on the rocks, warm soba with tempura and agedashi dofu (best I've tried in Bali).
Kagemusha is my new favourite restaurant in Ubud.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kagemusha also viewed

 

Been to Kagemusha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kagemusha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.