We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arigato Bali!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kagemusha

Kagemusha
Jl. Nyuh Kuning, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
+62 361 973134
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 428 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Arigato Bali!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Overlooking its own rice paddy, this Japanese restaurant was delightful. Tasty, fresh and attentive staff. It's hard to find, so look to your left just past the taco place.If you feel like Japanese in Bali, go to Kegemusha.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    20
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
bali
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“AUTHENTIC JAPANESE FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This place is quite hidden and maybe that´s good cause otherwise you would probably wait for ages to get a table. I´ve never been to Japan, but tried many japanese restaurants all over the world and i have to say, this place is one of the best places for real authentic japanese food. there´s a good lunch deal: you have the choice between ten main dishes and besides that, it comes with a bowl of rice, miso soup and a side-dish of the day for 45.000 INS (4,5$)...but worth it!
The restaurant is settled between the rice fields, so the view is beautiful there!
take the small street vis-a-vis lilie´s!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure in Ubud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We visited Kagemusha again tonight and every time, the food is excellent, it's fresh, Japanese home cooking, the service is excellent and you can take your own bottle of wine without corkage charge. There is a lot of choice on the menu and the servings are generous. At the end of the delicious meal you cannot believe that it is so cheap. Kagemusha is a little bit hard to find, it's down a lane way on the outskirts of town, but if you can find it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“驚くべき-----Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The setting is stunning, the bali/japaness fusion was so yummy. The service is great. We went twice for a late lunch and the place only had 2 other tables. The dihes range from 10,000-60,000 pr for appetizers and 35,000-80,000 for mains.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic find, beautiful view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

On my second day of ubud my gf and I decided to have dinner at taco casa, a Mexican food joint nearby. We, however, noticed a Japanese restaurant sign board pointing down a rundown looking alleyway. Curious, we went to take a look, which brought about a pleasant surprise.

Kagemusha, located right beside a rice paddy field, is a hidden gem. The food though standard Japanese fare of teriyaki, tempura, rice dons, Japanese curry, soba/udon is made to perfection. On the first bite of the appetisers, a grilled eggplant and shoyu dish, we knew that Kagemusha was the Real Deal. This fact was further confirmed by a Japanese owner and Japanese regular clientele. The food whilst wonderful costed us only 150000rp. This included three drinks at a dirt cheap price of 150000rp each.(you must try their home made brem, a gluttinous rice wine, or even better, their brem arak cocktail.)

We sat at a table with the rice paddies in full view, which was really icing on the cake. With the sound of crickets chirping, the relaxing view of fields of green and wonderful food, Kagemusha gave us the perfect closure to our journey in ubud.

Note: nothing is exaggerated. It is That Good.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kagemusha also viewed

 

Been to Kagemusha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kagemusha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.