We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views but beware...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Santai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Santai to your Saves list
Villa Santai
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Jalan Melayang | Jalan Raya Pejeng Kawan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 Dining Credit
Ranked #21 of 315 Ubud B&B and Inns
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views but beware...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

The property is fantastic during the day, but we felt incredibly unsafe at night. The doors to the rooms don't extend all the way down to the floor, and the window screens have large holes, meaning there is absolutely no separation between you and the jungle outside.

On our first evening at the villa, we returned to the walk in closet to unpack our open bags and found a huntsman spider (apparently not poisonous, but they are about 4 inches in diameter and absolutely terrifying) sitting on the wall under the hangers.

That night, we were woken up by a tokay gecko (10-12 inch long lizard with a mating call that would wake even the deepest sleeper) a small gecko and another huntsman spider walking on the walls. With only mosquito netting around the bed to deter the animals we were unable to sleep at all. As soon as the sun comes up the animals retreat and the noise outside quiets down.

When the property owners invest in sealed rooms, this will be a great place to stay. Until then, be warned that Ubud is a real jungle and you can't expect to be insulated from it in your room at Villa Santai.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsp104, Owner at Villa Santai, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for writing a review and providing detailed constructive criticism to help us make the villa a better place for all. I am very sorry that this was an unpleasant experience for you and I can understand and relate to your concerns. I am happy to inform you that we just finished a month long renovation which included all new screening, which not only keeps the outside jungle from getting in, but really improves the view from each room, as the material used is 7 times stronger than regular screening and very see through. We also caulked every gap in the trim and entrance doors and added more trim where needed. I believe that this remedy would significantly address your concerns. We also improved the lighting in all public areas, added new comfy pillows to go along with our high thread count linens with Thai silks spreads, new teak bed frames with new mosquito netting, a home theater system for the kids and adults, bedside LED reading lamps, and exterior railing around the perimeter of the villa for added safety for young children, and much more seating area for our guests to relax. All these suggestions came from reviewers such as your elf, so thank you. Unfortunately, you are our first poor review and hope that it will be the last! Again, I apologize for your lack of sleep during your stay at the villa, but I am pleased to hear that you and all of our guests really appreciate the staff service and beautiful view. Thank you.

Sincerely,
London Perry
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We enjoyed 3 relaxing days at this lovely Villa. Our three daughters (ages 17-28) loved the outlook over the jungle and the peace and quiet that came with its private location. All aspects of the Villa take advantage of the stunning views. The pool and pavillions situated on the side of the ridge enable you to relax and take it all in. Made and his staff were very attentive and helpful while still respecting our privacy. A very special place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

4 Australian women over 50 spent 5 nights here and found the accommodation fantastic. If you want to feel like royalty visit Villa Santai. A unique experience on the cliff edge swimming in the pool, enjoying drinks in the magnificent surroundings. I have never enjoyed such a wonderful breakfast overlooking this paradise. Only 15 mins from Ubud where our driver was happy to drop us off and collect us whenever we wished. I will have to take my husband back there. Cathy

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stateline, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed two nights at Villa Santai in November, 2011. The resort is beautiful and isolated (there are only two other structures visible from the main floor and both are distant) at about 1-1.5 hrs drive from the airport. The view of the jungle across the valley from both the bedrooms and the main floor is incredible. There is a waterfall not far from the villa which provides relaxing background noise. We woke the first morning to monkeys playing in the trees which was great. I'd recommend waking up as close to sunrise as possible as the weather is best and the animals are out before the heat of the day arrives.

The staff was very attentive and kept the grounds immaculate. Rooms are great with mosquito netting on the beds, huge walk in closets and large bathrooms. There is a small infinity pool, lots of great lounging space, a big screen TV and dining table up on the main patio. Meals at the villa were better than the food available in town, in my opinion, and very reasonably priced.

There is a driver available all day, so be sure to take a ride to the Ubud Monkey Forrest while you're at the villa.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

After a week in the hustle and bustle of Legian, going to Villa Santai was like having two holidays in one. It was so peaceful, relaxing and beautiful. Having had a few villa experiences with family before we decided to try it with a group of friends and it really is a great way to share a different type of holiday. We had a different number of people every night and they were always welcomed and easily catered for. Made and his staff organised a special banquet dinner of smoked duck and roast suckling pig for us which was a particular highlight. The views were spectacular from every part of the villa, even the bathrooms! The food was fantastic (we also did not order off the menu but shared Indonesian dishes) and the staff accommodated every request. It really was a fantastic experience in a very beautiful place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Was staying in villa Santai for two nights.
The place is exceptional by the valley view.
If you decide to go to Ubud there is no better place to stay to feel the magic of its nature.
The staff is amazing- always here when you need smth never disturbing your privacy at the same time. I will remember about hours spent there forever. Something magic! Really!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at Villa Santai and would recommend to anyone that is looking for a truly enjoyable and special Villa. The villa itself it very well maintained and exceptionally decked out, it is very private although on 5 or 10 minutes to town and has the best view over the valley, all you hear is the river, birds and monkeys.

The outdoor living and pool is all open with views all around, the bedrooms have amazing views too, all looking over the valley and with small private balcony’s in case you want to get away from the rest of you party.

One of the highlights is the staff, they are very caring and we decided not to order from the menu but as the chef to cook traditional food and what he wanted to, one of the best decisions as the food was the best of the whole holiday, and after the first night we decided to stay in every night for dinner.

This is not your commercial villa, it is more like a home and would recommend it to anyone that wants that experience and I am unable to come up with any negatives other than I wish I booked it for longer.

Room Tip: Only 1 Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Santai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Santai

Address: Jalan Melayang | Jalan Raya Pejeng Kawan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 315 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Santai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Santai is a very private and secluded luxury villa only 5k from Ubud center. Our house staff of eight will provide you with a level of service that is unparalleled. The villa's four romantic suites offer you spectacular sweeping views on the Petanu River, ancient rice terraces, and pristine jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Villa Santai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Santai Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Santai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.