We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish - great quality & value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minami

Minami
JL Raya Sanggingan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
361-970013
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 440 Restaurants in Ubud
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Open 11:30-24:00 (LO 23:00)
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delish - great quality & value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We would consider ourselves "foodies" and were blown away by Minami. We ate 5 (maybe more??) courses of delicious, unique dishes with incredible presentation and service. We also ate at Mozaic while in Ubud after reading all the hype, and we both agreed, Minami had better food and was a MUCH better value!! The service was outstanding!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    51
    18
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Japanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Using google maps this place was hard to find but we're glad we persisted. The atmosphere was nice and the set menus were great value. I eat a lot of Japanese food and this ranked quite highly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“just average, not recommended”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We love sushi and decided to give a try to Minimi, based on such good reviews.
First impression: the service is poor, very poor. They took around 20min to get a waiter to our table and get our order. Than, more than 30min to start bringing the food.
We decided to wait, because we were expecting such quality and tasty sushi, but it was just standard, no big deal.

I saw a large group inside having Teppanyaky, if I would return I would go for the teppanyaki instead.

Also, it's very expensive comparing to other restaurants, but would be OK if the service and the food was excellent.....

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very nice meal served by attentive staff. Usual Japanese fair with some stand out dishes. Pity we were the only diners in the restaurant at the time as it is well appointed and has a tranquil setting.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Minami has definitely gone south (pun intended)”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

I came to Minami with my wife two years ago and have very fond memories of the quality of the good and the ambience. However, we have just had a return visit and the restaurant now offers abysmal food at the same sky high prices.

My wife is in the kitchen heating some take away that we picked up from a warung on the way home. She ate almost nothing of her 150k meal. I ate all of her "tempura" for her and am now feeling sick from all the oil. It wasn't tempura but just deep fried batter; not at all Japanese.

My dish was the salmon donburi. It was something like 90k for some cold white rice and a few strips of packet salmon. I would expect to pay about 10 times less for something so small and prepared without care.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minami also viewed

 

Been to Minami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.