We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully tranquil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tegalalang Rice Terrace

Tegalalang Rice Terrace
Between Tegalalang and Ubud, Ubud, Bali 80517, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 41 attractions in Ubud
Type: Farms, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Tegalalang Rice Terrace is one of the famous tourist objects in Bali situated in Tegalalang Village north of Ubud Bali featured by the amazing rice terrace set the cliff. Tegalalang Village is located on 600 m above sea levels covered by good temperature where most of the villagers as a farmer.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautifully tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Loved the beautiful green views, have lunch here, there are a few places to choose from.

For gifts, avoid buying here as more expensive.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    280
    119
    22
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Nederland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Clogged with traffic and tourist shops”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The road is full of trough going traffic which is halted by the many tourist vehicles which are parked here. The view is half blocked by the many tourists shops. If you take either of the paralel roads left and right (look on the map) you hardly meet any tourists, drive through original villages and see the greatest terrace views.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praha
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Like from magazines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

It as just amazing! I was realy skeptic after few disapointments met in Indonesia and I was expecting anything but this! When you stop on the road and take a break in one of many "coffee bars" you can enjoy amazing view at rice field terraces. You can also go down to the fields and take a wolk there.See it yourself from close. This was realy good trip and you just pay few thousands rupiah for parking.Rest is free or charged only by coffee you drink :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Worth if visiting Ubud or going through Ubud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Tegallalang rice terraces are nice nevertheless but this technic of rice cultivation by cutting, shaping and making plain-land strips in the slopes of hills is not unique to Bali! Even the hill people of hilly districts in Bangladesh have similar technic of rice cultivation (locally called Joom cultivation). Anyway, visiting Tegallalang Rice Terraces is worth if someone is visiting Ubud or passing through Ubud! We stopped there for half an hour on our way to Kintamani (Mount Batur) from Jimbaran. We cherished that time and enjoyed the greenery of the rice terraces sloping downhill and having plenty of coconut trees and other trees as well at different layers of the terraces. But again, probably we wouldn't have liked it that much had we put all that effort to see the rice terraces alone!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must visit rice terraces”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

i visited it yesterday with my family, it's so green with cool air.. really lovely.. you must visit it in the morning, otherwise too many tourists especially on the weekend during 11 am - 4 pm, it's too crowded and little road gets stuck :( but all in all i love being there, walk in the rice paddy path :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tegalalang Rice Terrace also viewed

 

Been to Tegalalang Rice Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tegalalang Rice Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tegalalang Rice Terrace to your Saves list