We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem in Ubud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anhera Suite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Anhera Suite to your Saves list
Anhera Suite
3.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Sanggingan 168, Ubud, Bali 80751, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 388 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
London, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“An absolute gem in Ubud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We booked this last-minute and we weren’t sure what to expect, as it doesn’t have many reviews on tripadvisor or other websites. When we arrived, the entrance was quite underwhelming. However, we quickly came to really enjoy our stay at this hotel, its facilities and staff.

Rooms are large, with his and her desks, sofas and TV’s with a huge selection of channels. Each room has its own outdoor garden terrace as well – nice touch.
The piece de resistance of the rooms is undoubtedly the huge 2-person Jacuzzi bath in every suite – beautifully done and a great way to relax after hard day's trekking in Ubud. Bathrooms are large and tastefully decorated, with double sink unit and rain shower with good pressure. Lots of cupboard space should you need it.
Some small touches are overlooked, which lead to some minor inconveniences.
Eg. No laundry list in the room, you have to specifically request this. You cant dial outside lines from your landline, you need to go through reception. Only bar soap provided, no shower gel; and no showercaps either. These are small things you take for granted in Asian hotels. Further, they give cheap, low quality toilet paper, and lastly the towels on offer are very cheap and extremely thin, making it hard to dry your body and for the towels to dry off later. Some of the towels were even ripped and had holes in them.

These are minor quibbles and can be improved easily; I hope Anhera take note.
However, they shouldn’t detract from the overall impression of the hotel which is excellent. Why? Firstly, the view. The hotel is located overlooking a lush valley – very nice to wake up to this view, and eat breakfast on the terrace overlooking it. Secondly, the people… Linggar, the hotel manager – what a terrific guy. Extremely friendly, helpful, talkative – on the one evening he wasn’t present at the hotel, we actually missed him. Does a great job in making the guests feel welcome and comfortable. Thirdly, the food is also very good. The chefs aren’t the fastest around, but what is finally served up is quite tasty – this applies to western breakfast and the Indonesian lunches/dinners we had. Dinner was excellent and very good value – full meals for two around 150,000 Rp total. Unlike so many other hotels, especially the chains, they don’t try to rip you off here - laundry was extremely cheap, so much so that we washed almost our whole suitcase. Here you feel like a welcome guest, rather than a tourist with dollar signs in your eyes. Finally, the hotel location is excellent. Its within 10 minutes of Ubud town centre by motorcycle, and within walking distance of Campuan bridge, the Blanco museum, Penenstanan village, Mozaic (a fine dining restaurant) etc. However, renting a motorcycle is a must – Ubud is far too big to walk. This goes for anywhere you stay in Ubud. The hotel can arrange a bike easily for you.

Overall, we took a punt on Anhera and it paid off handsomely. Would love to come back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesiGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is a lovely boutique hotel. It is on the main street but away from the highly congested part of town. There is free shuttle service if you wish to use it but there are many restaurants and shops just outside the front door. The bedrooms are huge and the bathrooms with a hot tub are incredibly large as well. Each "villa" has a private backyard. The pools are gorgeous. The American breakfast (included) consisted of pancakes and french toast, eggs with potatoes and sausage, fruit with yoghurt, juice and coffee. An equally delicious Asian breakfast was available as well. The view is beautiful overlooking the rice paddies as they descend into the valley below. We'll be back!

Everybody on the staff was eager to make this a wonderful vacation for us. Linggar was especially helpful.

Do not rent a car if you're going to be staying in Ubud. Roads are narrow and crowded with cars, buses, and motorcycles. Leave the driving to the professional local people!!!

Room Tip: The lower you go, the more steps to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianePhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We recently spent 5 days in Ubud at the Anhera Suites. Traveling with my husband and another couple, we were very fortunate to stay in the two lower suites that shared a private pool -with amazing views of the rice fields in the distance and the lush ravine and river below.

The rooms are very spacious and offer every amenity. Very large bathroom, sitting area with large, very comfortable, king size bed. The bathroom had a large separate rain shower area that was all tile and river rock- felt like you were outdoors. The shower could have had more pressure, but we had experienced this is a few other places in Bali before this hotel.

The staff was very attentive and friendly. The villa manager, Linggar does an amazing job at making sure his guests have everything they need...no questions asked. We inquired about renting a motor bike...Linggar had it waiting for us in the morning, no papers to sign or anything. We wanted to book some trips(whitewater rafting and book trip to Gili T), Linggar handled all the details for us.
We recommend renting a motor bike and touring around Ubud and surrounding area on your own. It's very safe and great fun. Head to Monkey Forest, Elephant Safari Park go on the Mega Rafting tour. There is also an amazing "mexican" restaurant within walking distance from the resort, they really don't have mexican food, but rather the most amazing ribs and sautees you will ever eat.

Linggar played a big part in us having a trip of a lifetime in Bali. Thank you Linggar!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank live2travel1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

My wife and I spent one day in Ubud at Anhera and we were so regret for not staying here more. The hotel is so amazing with all the suites are located at the back of a valley so that we got the feeling the we lived with the nature. The suite are well-kept and we are much impressed by the nice facility here. We also like the staff here, they are so friendly and helpful especially the operation manager, who is multi-functional from the receptionist to driver ^^ (hotel shutter bus which brought us to many places in Ubud center).
Next time coming, we will stay here more longer to enjoy the nice weather with peaceful life in Ubud.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thu-Huy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We came across this place by chance. My husband checked it out as we were not too comfortable at our other villa.

Wanted to end our 2010 comfortably and relaxed and begin 2011 perfect. A great choice and we truly enjoyed it... Just wished the water pressure was stronger for the rain shower.

The bed & pillows were comfortable. Lovely views and swimming pool, was inviting. Breakfast was alright and the staff, lovely and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMSM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Stay with a friend for a few days.. Its just a paradise.. The room is superb with a private jacuzi all for yourself.. If only the weather was friendlier i could swim and sun bathing more often.. The price? Hmmm.. Just match for what you Will enjoy.. Please be with some one you love to share the wonderful time there

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Djoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#63 of 160 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Puri Bunga Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Surya Kembar
Surya Kembar
#2 of 3 in Mas
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sayan Terrace Resort
Sayan Terrace Resort
#202 of 388 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ananda Cottages
Ananda Cottages
#97 of 160 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anhera Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anhera Suite

Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan 168, Ubud, Bali 80751, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 388 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anhera Suite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anhera Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anhera Suite Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing