We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toko-Toko

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toko-Toko
Save
You added Toko-Toko to your Saves list
Jl. Raya Sanggingan | PO Box 169, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 280 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Poznan, Poland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Beautiful, well-kept, quiet place. Perfect for families. There is also a restaurant on place – food is really tasty, I can recommend actually everything what they offer in menu. Really nice garden with many hidden shrines and sculptures and exotic plants. They have also a small (but deep! Be careful with children!) swimming pool with an view of rice fields. Good location, near small shopping center laundry and SPA, but quite far from the center (the distance is rather not walkable, unless you want to walk one hour or longer).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
16
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I reserved with the owner online, and he was very nice to welcome us at a late hour due to a delayed flight.

The hotel is part of a traditional Balinese family compound, complete with a temple and restaurant. The design is just stunning with fountains, a beautiful pool, and beautiful landscaping.

We had a beautiful corner room (room #8) that overlooked the pool and rice fields. The room itself was simple but very nice. It had nice wooden furniture, bright white linens, and a nice little balcony. It also had a well-functioning AC unit and fridge.

The only con to the hotel is that it is a 20 minute walk to downtown Ubud. It was fine for a few walks, but after our fourth walk we started taking taxis (for about $3 USD).

The breakfast was very good with both local and western options.

The staff was very sweet, but they weren't always around. We liked the privacy and quietness, but if you are someone who wants to be waited on all day, you may want to stay somewhere else.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms looked nice, but we enjoyed a corner room on the upper floor overlooking the pool and rice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

It's probably the coolest hotel I've stayed at. The location isn't perfect, access on foot to the center is not comfortable, but when you have a motobike location is ok. At the front of the street is a school with restaurant behind. Behind restaurant is large garden with buildings in which there are rooms. Some of the buildings are small temples, some are places to rest. Garden is also beautifull and nice lightened by night. Our room was small but well equipped and clean, with beautiful views of the rice fields. Staff was very attentive, always smiling. Breakfast was delicious. Booking isn't easy, we just go to the hotel and ask for free room. Staying here is my one of the best holiday memories from Indonesia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Toko-Toko in Sanggingan, Ubud, is one of the most amazing budge accommodations I have been to, because quality wise it is clearly a boutique hotel, with a large infinity pool pointing direction rice paddies, and a wonderful Balinese garden with Buddha stone carvings and an amazing collection of tropical plants and flowers of all colors.Also the rooms are up to date with a good WIFI reception and satellite TV where channels can be programmed to your taste by the friendly owner of the property, Mr. Toko Toko himself.
All rooms are super clean, and come with very handy rattan furniture to arrange your belongings.Refrigerators are there as well.Plus you can run the aircon or the new modern ceiling fan, or simply open the screened window and let fresh air come inside during the night!!
The bathrooms come with hot water, and nice showers.
Some rooms on the second floor have windows on two sides and offer 180 degrees view to the rice fields and the large swimming pool in turquoise fresh water, right under your balcony.
Definitely a place to recommend, because the only budget part you can feel here is the modest
prices they apply for their property, even the breakfast with its fresh fruit platter and egg choices is above average.Also, last but not least, the owner and its wonderful staff, are very
friendly, and every single concern is addressed immediately.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights. Very nice and beautiful quiet, staff friendly. 20-30 mins walking from ubud center, in night we took taxi (25-30000 rp). New place, still being painted here and there but no noise whatsoever

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We loved this place a bit outside downtown Ubud. The rooms are very spacious and clean, the bathroom has hot water and each room is either provided with a veranda (if you are on the ground floor) or a balcony (if you are on the 2nd floor). The veranda has a baldaquin couch where you can relax and read a book, it also has a table (room service is free of charge and we had our delicious homemade mie goreng served there).

Positive aspects: clean, spacious rooms and comfortable mattress, silent, swimming pool overlooking the rice fields, great breakfast with pancakes and fresh fruit juice, friendly and helpful staff, nice view of the rice fields, tv and dvd, typical balinese architecture

Negative aspects (for the real picky ones and for the lazy ones)
-room smelled a bit damp but think that you are in a tropical country and that's rather normal (and with the AC the smell quickly faded away).
- it;s a bit outside main Ubud so you will either need to take a taxi (they are very cheap) or take a 15 minute to the Sacred Monkey Santuary (the only drawback: there are no sidewalks and for families this could be a problem). There are no restaurants nearby so you either have to eat at the hotel (and the mie goreng is excellent) or you need to get into Ubud

Very positive: it's right next door from Sedona SPA where we twice went for massages! They were so good (and clean) that we treated ourselves to a 2hr massage for 15 euros!!!! Highly recommended experience

Price for a double room incl. breakfast: 330 000 Rp

Room Tip: Ask for a room in front of the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is a great place to stay. Cheap price. A little out of town, but that is fine in you have a scooter or take the cheap transport available just up the hill a little. Fantastic service and hospitality. Nice breakfasts with reasonable choice. We had a large double room near the pool; we were told the single rooms were a bit smaller and not as nice. So enquire. There was some construction going on when we were there (mid 2012) so it may be noisey if you want to stay in your room during the day; but we didn't and there was no noise in the morning or evening. They arranged transport for me at a very reasonable price. We will be back.

Room Tip: We were told the single rooms were small so enquire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toko-Toko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toko-Toko

Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan | PO Box 169, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 280 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Toko-Toko Hotel Ubud
Toko-Toko Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toko-Toko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.