We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar with good and lively atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laughing Buddha Bar

Laughing Buddha Bar
Monkey Forest Road | Opposite Cafe Wayan , Ubud , Bali, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
+6231970928
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 407 restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurant, Tapas Bar, Cocktail Lounge and Music Venue, the Laughing Buddha is a happening place!There’s something for everyone on our ‘Buddhalicious’ Asian & Mediterranean menu, from famous noodles soups and authentic local fare to tasty tapas and sweet treats.The little sister of Jazz Café, the music is great, with playlists to get you in a happy mood, regular live gigs and special events featuring talented musicians from around the world.Come and mingle with the crowd while sipping an inspired cocktail…or 2 (buy 2 get 1 FREE from 4 to 7pm and 11pm to 1am). Or stop by for lunch and a cool fresh pressed sugar cane juice while taking a stroll along Monkey Forest Road. Open all day, every day and for you night owls…the kitchen is now open until 1am!For an unforgettably fun time in Ubud, Laughing Buddha is the place to be. Seriously!!
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bar with good and lively atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a bar with good and lively atmosphere and very good live music. Crowd in the bar is very international, staff is friendly and drinks are affordable. It is located in the Jalan (Street) Monkey Forest and it is easily accessible. The place is not very large so if you want to have a table try to come before 21h.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    90
    82
    22
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lively, fun, good place to watch live music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Open air fun place if u are in Ubud. The music we saw was great, we just had the local beer, and had eaten elsewhere. Lots of westerners here, felt Like we could have been anywhere, not necessarily Bali, but was still fun.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Go for the music!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We never actually ate at this bar (usually ones close by) but we loved listening to the music! Every night they have live music and some times you get a real treat and end up dancing:) Its also where most of the local/expats/yogis hangout!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quaint but Nice!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Simple superlicious food. My 2 half years old son can finish the whole bowl of Vegetarian Ramen - not that he is a super big eater but their food are up to standard.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Heavily overpriced & suspicious tasting drinks :/”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Well we arrived to a pumping joint with a great band and buy 2 get 1 free happy hour. However what we received was 2 (no free 3rd) undrinkable mojitos with a horrid bitter flavour (methanol maybe???). We left the drinks and approached the bar to pay (as we couldn't get any service) and were charged 220,000rp for 2 very revolting drinks. WHAT!?!? 220,000rp!! REALLY?? We promptly went next door to CINTA, where the staff were friendly, great fun and very attentive. We drank their delicious 70,000rp mojitos (which were also 2 for 1 during their happy hours of 4-7 & 10-12). We could still hear the wonderful music from next door and we ended up having a FANTASTICALLY FUN NIGHT. I would definitely recommend avoiding 'The Laughing Buddha' & pulling up a seat and tasty beverage or bite to eat at CINTA instead. Have fun & enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laughing Buddha Bar also viewed

 

Been to Laughing Buddha Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laughing Buddha Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.